We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cozumel and Resort(Cozumel)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scuba Club Cozumel(Cozumel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Safari Inn(Cozumel)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,486)
Filter reviews
4,486 results
Traveller rating
1,815
1,604
634
249
184
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,815
1,604
634
249
184
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharebikini barthe caribbean restaurantcoconut grouperokie dokiesmall beachmexican and italian restaurantsnachosinfinity poolbeach areasnack barhot watermake reservationsocean viewmain poolper daysales people
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,650 - 1,655 of 4,486 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed over Christmas and were very pleased with our hotel choice. Staff was excellent, drink service and quality was excellent as well. Convenient location and snorkeling in front of hotel was awesome. Only downside was the food. There was always something that was okay but never anything real good. I've heard this about other all inclusives too, even those thst cost muvh more. A good choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conradv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for reviewing Park Royal Cozumel.

We appreciate all of our guests' feedback and are happy to hear that you had a great time, however, we want to offer you an apology if the food service didn't met your expectations, we truly appreciate your feedback that makes us improve our services in benefit of our clients.

We´ll be glad to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our 7 day stay at Park Royal was fantastic. We booked our trip through LivingSocial after a recommendation from friends who had visited recently.

We opted to pay roughly ~$100 more per person round trip to fly into Cozumel rather than Cancun. Our decision was affirmed in talking to other travelers, who had payed roughly this amount in cab fair and ferry tickets to and from Cancun.

The hotel was impressive upon first arriving, and the interior and grounds were beautiful and worth exploring. Many iguanas! The staff was helpful in getting us checked in. We had made a request for a king sized bed when we booked the trip months earlier, and they were able to grant our request. (We stayed in July, so it was probably not the busy season.)

The beach area is small but beautiful, and we didn't have trouble finding seats under the umbrellas. (The beach loungers were less comfortable than the poolside loungers.) The small sandy cove on the beach is sheltered from the waves. The water is here is warmer than outside of the cove, where it opens into a slightly deeper area, with not much reef but many fish! Anyone who visits here should take advantage of the snorkeling - the first hour of equipment rental is free, however rentals stop at 3 PM.

We brought a banana from the breakfast buffet to attract fish, but this may not be advisable. While we enjoyed the frenzy that it created, another guest had a fish bite his hand while feeding them a hot dog.

On either side of the beach, there are pools with swim up bars, one of which was closed during our stay. A third, larger pool sits further back in the garden area, with a volleyball net and lazy river area, and there is a fourth kid pool with slides. All three main pools have snack bars nearby. While drinking margaritas in the infinity pool was nothing short of serene, splashing children were something of a constant in every pool (except for the kids pool, which oddly always seemed empty.) It would be preferable to have one pool which was adults only.

There are three restaurant choices; a buffet open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well as Italian and Mexican restaurants, which require same-day reservations. Mexican and Italian have dress codes recommended but not strictly enforced, and the Italian restaurant did not allow children.

The buffet is large with many choices. Though we did not visit once for lunch or dinner, breakfast options included fresh sliced fruit, cereals, granola, yogurt, pastries, waffles, sausage, and a great omelet bar, as well as coffee, milk and juices. Pancakes, bacon and soft drinks are available upon request.

The Mexican restaurant was most impressive, with delicious entrees and a view of the street and garden. We especially enjoyed the chicken fajitas and coconut grouper.

The Italian restaurant was comparatively disappointing, both in ambiance and flavor. Red wine was served ice-cold. None of the entrees had any hint of garlic, but half of them did feature cream cheese prominently, including the three cheese lasagna and cannelloni. The salad bar was a pleasant fall-back.

The poolside bar food was decent, and we especially enjoyed the chicken wings and homemade potato chips. Pizza was sub-par. Would have loved to see fresh guacamole and salsa available.

We took full advantage of the numerous bars, and especially enjoyed miami vice, cozumel blue, purple rain, and dirty monkeys, to name a few. Beer choice is XX's or Sol. All drinks are served in little tiny baby cups, so it is advisable to pick up a larger plastic mug or cup if you want to drink more than 6 oz at a time. Tips are appreciated but not necessary at bars and restaurants. It doesn't hurt to show some appreciation to your server, given the overall cost of the trip.

Early in your stay, you will be encouraged to attend a 1-2 hour time share sales pitch, with the promise of lower prices booking snorkel or jeep tours. The meetings typically take place over breakfast, however we declined to attend. I explained to the representative that our time during our trip was tremendously valuable to us, and that we had no interest in purchasing a time share whatsoever.

We had a fantastic visit to Park Royal all around, and would both recommend and return!

Pros: beautiful infinity pool, beach and gardens, convenient snorkeling, courteous staff and bartenders, generally good food and drink.

Cons: kids splashing in every pool, questionable Italian cuisine.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have a view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank LG1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing this detailed review of your experience at Park Royal Cozumel.

It's wonderful hearing from our guests regarding their stay and how useful they find our location and accommodations; feedback such as yours helps us to improve the quality of our services and also understand our guest needs. This review will certainly be helpful for those who plan on staying with us. Thank you for your recommendation!

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon!

With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I do not like being bothered about buying a membership while on vacation. We booked a snorkel tour through the hotel and the guide was a no show. We did get our deposit back eventually. Our safe did not work and we called the front desk only to get hung up on 5 times. I went to the front desk in person and told them I had been hung up on. They said they would send someone up. 30 minutes later I called again, they hung up, I called back, no answer, called back again, heard laughter and then a hang up. Went back down to the front desk and then they say there is a problem with my phone line. Finally a manager came to open the safe and replace the phone. I still do not believe the phone had a problem. Another couple I met from Houston said they were hung up on as well. The food is only average. You have to make reservations for the 2 nicer restaurants between noon and 3. It is kind of a pain when on vacation. The drinks were good. The beach is also only about 30 feet long. I like more beach area to go on long walks. The reef by the hotel did have good snorkeling. The other guests I met at the hotel were so much fun and helped to make my vacation a good one. I will not stay at this hotel again when I come back to Cozumel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing Park Royal Cozumel.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment regarding your most recent stay with us.

We understand your frustration and will certainly pass along these concerns to our management team. Comments from our clients are very important for us and we truly appreciate your feedback that makes us improve our services in benefit of our clients.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

See my prior reviews for more general comments

Regarding some common / recent complaints:
1. The time share people checked with us when we checked in and we told them no and were never bothered again. Talked to several people who did do the tour, and they all said it was low pressure and they got good deals on cars, etc in return and they didn’t mind doing it at all.
2. We were never stopped from taking food or drinks to our room. I hear this mentioned from time to time but we have never had an issue in 3 stays.
3. Yes folks, there are Mexicans that do vacation in Mexico, and that includes Park Royal. If you need to vacation somewhere surrounded by only gringos, go to Florida. We personally love the diversity.

If you are going soon:

The pool and pool area by the volleyball court is currently undergoing a major overhaul and the whole area is closed. We were bummed to lose the sand volleyball court during our stay. I’d like to think they could have waited until September when things were slower, but it’s hard to judge not knowing fully how involved the project is or how long it will take. They obviously want it done before the high season hits over winter-time.

Improvements from last year:

The Bikini Bar by the main pool now serves burritos, ham and cheese sandwiches , and chicken wings. It was nice to have an alternative snack menu (the beach snack hut still has burgers). The chicken wings are good – it was our go to lunch snack when we didn’t want to bother drying off to go to the buffet.

A few nights they had bands playing in the lobby area between dinner and the evening show. The two guys with guitars were excellent and the mariachi band was good too. It was a nice addition.

Un-improvements from last year:

Sorry to see so much turnover with the activities staff. Though the new guys/gals were fine, it would be great to see more of the same faces each year on the activities staff as you do with the bartenders, etc. At least Jesus was still there. Jesus is simply awesome – he has an ability to make a personal connection with so many guests. I heard this personally from numerous other guests over drinks in the pool. I hope the hotel management understands he is at least a part of the reason people make return trips to Park Royal.

The night time shows seem to rely a little too heavily on Karaoke. Which, let’s be honest, is usually pretty awful to watch – we saw three nights of it and only the last night was actually entertaining. Doing a ‘park royal idol’ show, which is just another night of karaoke, was a little much. That show could be made better if they let the judges have a microphone to add comments and maybe some humor into the evening.

Still Awesome:

The coconut grouper at the Mexican restaurant.
The salmon at the Italian (though one time we got it, it was drowned in butter – so be sure to request light butter).
Bartenders who remember you from last year and your drinks.

Still Annoying:

Expensive wi-fi that is very slow. They should at least provide free wifi in the lobby area. That seems like a reasonable compromise.

Still have to pay $2 a day to use the safe and $6 to use the gym. Not a lot of money, just annoying. (At least the safe is electronic and large enough for a laptop).

Need a place to gather and visit at night. Not enough seats around the lobby bar for this. Keeping the pool bar open late would be perfect.

Other Tips:

There is a CI Bank branch at the end of the mall next to the hotel if you need to get pesos from a reliable ATM. Avoid the freestanding ATMs everywhere!!!

Overall, another great trip. As usual we met and made so many new friends!!!!

Room Tip: Need to be 5th floor or high to get an ocean view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Seven7Costanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing this detailed review of your experience at Park Royal Cozumel.

We are glad to know you had an amazing time staying at Park Royal Cozumel. We love taking care of our clients and this review will certainly be helpful for those who plan on staying with us. However, we would like to extend an apology for any inconveniences you experienced as well.

Come back soon! We'll be pleased to see you again!

With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have stayed here for 6 years in a row with family and friends ranging from 2 years in age to 95 and have never been disappointed. This year we had 15 people in our group, and were checked in, bags delivered to our rooms, and were out by the pool in under an hour. The entertainment staff--especially Claudia, Jesus, and Francisco,have become old friends who make us feel like we're coming home. Restaurant staff and bartenders are also excellent and friendly.
The grounds of this hotel are beautifully maintained, and the entire hotel is exceptionally clean.
The food is better than most all inclusives, and the variety is quite good. Hotel is 5 minutes from Downtown shopping, bars, restaurants, etc, with very easy transportation. This is not a "luxury"
Hotel, but a great choice for a fun and relaxed vacation

Room Tip: For a beautiful ocean view floors. 5 or above
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rk547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing this review of your experience at Park Royal Cozumel.

It's wonderful hearing from our guests regarding their stay and how useful they find our location and accommodations. We are glad that our staff could assist you with all your needs during your vacation as well.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon!

With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews