We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh no!!!! Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Oh no!!!! Never Again”
Reviewed 10 July 2004

We traveled down July 2 to 5,had 4 rooms, and the first night, SCORPIONS in 2 of the rooms!!!
We also had SPIDERS in the other 2 rooms!. We were not put in the 10 story tower as requested, instead, we were in a remote ground floor around the corner of the front desk AWAY from Civilization.
The maid service lacked, the Al A Carte restaurant food sucked. The buffet was ok. The staff was reserved but polite, Except the front desk, which was RUDE.
The first day, we were without hot water for several hours.
DON'T lock your key in your room, or you'll face the wrath of the front desk.
The Bell hops were polite, stayed busy and got us a taxi when ever we desired.
The pool needs alot of work, but the hotel has great potential. Lush foliage, very tropical.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,581
    1,410
    551
    209
    155
See reviews for
1,233
1,659
75
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (898)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 June 2004

Park Royal was a great place to stay. The price we paid was very fair for all we received. The rooms were fairly nice. The food gave you a lot of variety and it never ran out. Breakfast was definitely the best meal of the day. The drinks were bottomless with several choices. The best part of the Park Royal is the staff. They were very courteous and eager to help in anyway. If you have the opportunity to see Luis, tell him the Maestra says hi to the Ballena. He's a great guy and very funny. One recommendation - don't use the atm's - they only give you pesos. Exchanging pesos for dollars was a hassle and our friends got ripped off by a lady downtown.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 June 2004

Cozumel was wonderful, weather great, but the stay at this resort was awful. The food was unappetizing, the service was bad, some of the staff were rude slapping the food on the plate, and when you find something you like and ask for a little more because that's all you like in the buffet they give you a dirty look. The rooms were o.k. nice and cool but I wish they would split up the young people from us old timers. So needless to say we didn't sleep much of the nights due to roudy people. I hope this is helpful to you.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 June 2004

Spend your money elsewhere...The food was bad, Greasy and smelled all over the resort. The beds were horrible. Basically a boxspring on a concrete pedastal with a 4 inch foam pad as a mattress. The staff( except for the front Desk) were all nice and helpful. The front desk tried to short change a friend. Other friends had money stolen from their room. Another had no AC for the entire trip (8 days) It seems AC was turned off through the day and turned back on at night.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARKCZM, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, 6 July 2016
Dear Guest,

First let me thank you for having stayed at Grand Park Royal Cozumel.

Thanks to feedback like yours , we can identify our areas of opportunity to continue to provide quality service .

I hope accept my sincere apologies for the difficulties encountered.

Rest assured that appropriate measures together with the managers responsible for each area have already been taken to avoid similar circumstances.

We would love to receive it in the future to make sure you receive the quality service you deserve.

Cordially,

Ignacio Rivera.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 June 2004

I don't think any of us will ever go back. We had a few problems. A/C leaked or didn't work at all. Food all smelled and tasted the same. We were there for 8 days and I only had one good meal. The eggs were runney, the deserts were soggy, the hambergs had hair in them. The pool needed a lot of work. This hotel was below my standers. The grounds were nice the rooms were ok. I will pay the money to stay at Allegro any day.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 June 2004

There were 14 of us for a week from May 28 to June 4. We ate sometimes at the buffet style meals but food was neither hot nor cold. This was a poor point.
One of our rooms never got any air conditioning. They checked it several times and said it was working fine. Good thing our rooms ajoined so we could share the air. Beds were the typical hard mexico kind. If you have a soft bed at home- prepare for morning back aches. Lots of hot water in the shower.
We got money stolen from our room. Only gone out of the room for 2 hours and it was gone. DO NOT LEAVE ANY VALUABLES IN THE ROOM. They do have safety deposit boxes. Use them- there is only one key and you have it.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. All the free drinks were good. Beer could have been colder. Pool was great.
You would be better off at another facility.
Diving in Cozumel is great. Our next trip will be in a couple of months.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 June 2004

As self-professed "foodies" or food snobs, we were very disappointed in the food quality. Dinner was terrrible, as was lunch, and breakfast was okay. Now, I, also, want to say some very good things. The property is rundown, but has gorgeous potential. The employees are very charming, friendly and helpful. The bed slept well and the room was clean. At the price we paid, we felt we got our $$ worth even when we chose to eat several meals off the resort. Try La Choza and Casa Mission. Pasta Prima, too.
We tired (quickly!) of the timeshare sales people ... so pushy. But they are everywhere, not just Park Royal.

Cozumel is wonderful and the snorkeling is terrific. Head on down!!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,040 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,657 reviews
8.4 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4,846 reviews
5.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Royal Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Royal Cozumel

Property: Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Address: Playa Paraiso Km 3.5 Carretera Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Park Royal Cozumel)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Royal Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turquoise - often crystal clear waters -are just offshore. Beneath the surface are breathtaking reefs to attract undersea divers (and fantastic undersea life) from around the world and the Grand Park Royal Cozumel is in the center of it all. The leading All-inclusive on the island welcomes guests to 342 spacious guest rooms each with balcony overlooking the finest corner of the Caribbean. All inclusive, unlimited meals, drinks, snacks, 4 restaurants, buffet style and a la carte, 2 snacks, Café Sole (coffee house), 5 bars, room service 24 hours, in room mini-bar that is restocked daily, high-speed internet access (surcharge) or basic free internet, live entertainment, kids' club (0 -12 years old), fully equipped fitness center ($), spa, 3 resort swimming pool (including 2 infinity pools, main pool & kids club pool with water slides) and two Jacuzzis facing the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Park Royal Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing