We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican hospitality at it's finest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Santee, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mexican hospitality at it's finest”
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed 13 nights at Casa Mexicana. They exceeded all our expectations and then some. Very clean, wonderful breakfast buffet including smoked salmon, staff all helpful and kind, and would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend them. We had some problems with the room key but they made up for it by transferring us into a full ocean view room which was fabulous at no extra charge. They bent over backwards to cater to guests. It is also very centrally located. Views fabulous. You think you are on a ship because of the extraordinary architecture. To see pictures go to AudreyroseCool and Linda Craig Francisco wall on Facebook.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    307
    62
    28
    16
See reviews for
145
491
98
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
235 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I spent the last week in Casa Mexicana while diving with Advanced Divers. I have traveled to Cozumel for many years and even though this hotel is familiar I had not stayed here previous to this trip.
My experience could not have been better. My choice of room when booking was in the rear, facing town and I was given a room on the 4th floor. The room was comfortable, clean and quite. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have had in Cozumel.
Escalator from the street level accesses the hotel lobby and the floors are served by an elevator so there is no problem getting dive gear in and out of the hotel each day. I needed a Taxi each day to get to the Calleta and the Taxi line is right across the street from the hotel lobby and the Taxi was always there waiting.
The buffet breakfast is very satisfactory. They have typical Mexican breakfast dishes but they will cook you eggs, French toast bacon and many other items, as you desire. The fruit service is of large variety and there are always homemade breads.
Coffee to go was available in the lobby each morning when I woke up well prior to breakfast being served.
If I had to come up with one complaint it would be that the lobby bar is seldom staffed. This is not a big problem since you can go down the escalator turn right and in ½ block find several places to buy a couple of beers or bottles of water. The room has a small refrigerator so just stock up with what you need and don’t worry about the lobby bar. There is a bottle opener in the bathroom so buy what you want.
This will be my home base in Cozumel from now on.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishpicturesbybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

After a three night stay I would return to this business style hotel despite a few minor inconveniences.

This small four story hotel was spotless which is always my first consideration when booking any hotel advertising under $100/night. I was able to upgrade to an ocean view room upon arrival for an additional $28/night. Rooms were spacious with a small bar fridge and a grocery store 3 blocks away.

Regarding reservations, despite phoning directly to confirm the day before, upon arrival they tried to convince me that I had booked 7 nights not 3, and had to honor the booking! Thank goodness, I had both my email confirmation from the hotel and the name of the person that my partner had confirmed the reservation with, in spanish, the day before! They subsequently also asked me to sign a blank credit card slip for additional charges, which of course I would not. Aside from these difficulties and that the front desk staff were completely useless in advising as to attractions, location of certain restaurants very close by, or make any recommendations about where was best to buy certain items, the hotel was a good deal for the price paid!

I would stay again when in cozumel

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beacontide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We have stayed in many hotels throughout the years and can honestly say this was by far our best experience. We spent 30 days at Casa Mexicana and had an ocean view room. We had an incredible experience with absolutely no complaints. We found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, cleanliness was impeccable, breakfast was great. We were never bothered by noise, even during Carnival. Ocean view balcony was fantastic and we spent many hours lounging on the balcony. Will most definitely return!!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms more expensive but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I booked this hotel for 2 nights and ended up staying 5 nights.

The room was large, with a nice balcony, air con, cable tv, wifi, spotlessly clean and a great buffet breakfast.

There is a great pool and the hotel is shaped like a cruise liner which is apt and there seem to be several cruise liners visiting Cozumel during the day.

It takes about 5 mins to get here from the ferry which is opposite the main square (where there is live music and dancing on Sunday night)

Unfortunately, I didn't rate the snorkelling as I've been to much better places but Cozumel was great compared to Playa del Carmen or Cancun if you want something island like!

Room Tip: Great free buffet breakfast, great hotel design
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyAnne62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Loved this hotel when we first arrived. It's lovely, centrally-located, and affordable. The hotel is kept exceptionally clean and it is well-staffed. The breakfast is delicious. The pool is more like a kiddie pool, but hey, you're next to the ocean.
All seemed well, but once we had our first night, I started to really dislike it. Because it is downtown there was a ton of bar noise and my husband and I couldn't sleep. We had to switch rooms at 1am. Then, of course, they put us in the room that overlooks the breakfast area (most do) and the kitchen noise gets really loud starting at about 6am.
Then, one of the concierge men said that he'd set us up with SCUBA diving. We were tired but really excited. He said that there was none left for the day and that the one we wanted was booked up the next day so he'd found us an alternative. We were impressed until we found out that HE LIED. He went with this other company because they would pay him for bringing us in. Then, on the last day, check-out was slow and the reception accused us of stealing their towels. I told them that they could check our bags, but they said that they'd like to charge us a fee. We ended up being late to the airport because it took 45 minutes to resolve the issue. (Remember: we had to move rooms. The original towels they accused us of stealing was still in first room!) So, if you stay here: BUYER BEWARE!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s_surfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

The facility is extra clean, the staff are all very kind and most speak English.
The beds are the best (better than my bed at home) and the free buffet breakfast served between 7-12noon was surprisingly good(something for everyone).
They have a bar on premise though sometimes you have to ask for the bartender cause he has many other jobs too. His name is Gasper (known as the friendly ghost) and he's a real peach!
Lots of channels on the TV. I'd highly recommend paying the extra for a deluxe ocean view. You won't be disappointed. The deluxe city view is a bit of a stretch.

Room Tip: ask for deluxe ocean view or 318,418,518
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAT289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
10.6 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
3.1 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing