We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We have stayed here 5 years in a row
It is always clean (they are always cleaning quietly)
The staff is always friendly it is a short walk to town and a lot of dive shops.
Don’t go there if you want a swimming pool (wading pool)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    315
    66
    28
    17
See reviews for
152
513
102
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Hi all travellers,
This hotel is a good property located at the downtown of Cozumel front of the ocean (there are no beaches in downtown).

all sandy beaches are private and charge an entry or have to consume a minimum. but if you hay a snorkel there ar some free places tu see grat reefs.

Back to the hotel, the rooms are correct and extremely clean, if you leave a tip the staff strives even more.

The concierge got us a car to rent at a better price than we offered in the downtown office.

Parking is free and the car is necessary to explore the island as taxis will charge you one depending on where one's came from and the your face, if you look very american or onley speeks inglish... its almouts doble, but you can negotiate the fare prior the trip.

beware of timeshare that want to sell one in the hotel lobby, this people isnt hotel staff they just rent the conference room.

Book this paragraph to talk about breakfast,.... mmm Extraordinary superb.
Quesadillas, Huevos Rancheros, Scrumble eggs, Nachos, Bacon, Beans, Omelets, frittatas, sausages, Fresh fruits, cereals, Fresh Juices, Waffles, Pancakes, swets, cajeta... you name it they got it, was Superb on the grate in door patio almost a sin to miss it.

Cons:
The pool is a Joke... isnt a resort
The harassment of timeshare salespeople

The rest was great and the moust important not expensive at all.

Tips: if you wana go to chichenitza get the tour at cozumel tour, is half the price about 55 us or get it on Playa del Carmen, the same to get the entrance to the atraction parks and the Dolphing swim

If you speacks Spanish is a Big PLUS

Room Tip: Get a Scooter or a car to move arround the island, the taxis rape you if theyt can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergioB_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is a great hotel... very clean. The breakfast is tasty with freshly made items. Close to the Aqua Safari dive shop. Make sure you go on the "other side" of the island for a breath taking view of white sand and crystal blue water. We will be back.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kewpiecracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Casa Mexicana was a very clean and friendly place. The rooms were adequate, AC worked well too. For the price, its a great deal. If you don't plan on spending much time in the room, its a good idea to stay here. Right in the middle of downtown, so many restaurants are walking distance.

Here is the thing though. If you are looking for a beachfront hotel, or to be bathed in luxury for your stay, this is not the place. We ended up visiting a 5 star resort for a timeshare presentation, and my wife was kind of disgruntled that we didn't get to stay somewhere as nice as that. Obviously though, the 5 star was about 6 times what we paid for Casa Mexicana.

Room Tip: Turn off the AC at night, gets too cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lewi1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Consider this is a good three star hotel. That’s the reason of the rating.

The hotel is located on the main street, close to the cruise and ferry piers. The entrance from the street are just electrical stairs, once you take them, you reach the lobby. It is simple, includes a fountain and ocean view. There’s a pool that I personally wouldn’t feel comfortable using. That’s me and I was during a sports event and the hotel was used as the main hotel, so it was always crowded.
There are three kind of rooms (with two different rates), the interior view rooms, which I would never choose. The interior has a view of the restaurant/patio. The other rooms, have external view of the city. The premium rooms have ocean view. You have to pay more for these rooms and are a few per floor.

The rooms are on the small side, but acceptable. They have and old-fashioned TV and they don’t have duvets. The bathroom is simple with a bath/shower combination. The pressure of the shower is fine. It has curtain, but there isn’t leakage outside. The floor is the same for all the room (including bathroom).
On the bad side, you can listen to your neighbors and the hallways. Usually is not an issue, but I had scandalous neighbors.

Buffet breakfast is limited but good. Nothing to shout home about, but fine to start well the day.

What makes a good hotel Casa Mexicana is the service. As I said, the rooms are very clean. The people in the front desk are always willing to give more, as have midnight dinner. A Supervisor helped us with special requirements. The ladies working for housekeeping were kind and always made towel art (different each day).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with interior views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbffpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Casa Mexicana is a nice little hotel conveniently located right next to Aqua Safari and a block from some of the major tourist clubs like Carlos and Charlies. They offer clean, quiet rooms, memorably good service, and a free authentic breakfast every day, all at a really, really reasonable price. There is really no reason to stay at one of the large American chain hotels with options like Casa Mexicana.

One architectural note - The entire building is solid concrete, so the rooms are very quiet.

Room Tip: Ocean view is preferred....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jturk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Casa Mexicana Cozumel was a wonderful hotel. When we arrived we were greeting by helpful staff member who took our bags. We were given cold towels to help us cool off since it was very hot and humid out. As I filled out the check-in paperwork, I was presented with a cool drink. Our room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. There was a rabbit made of towels (a new animal each day) sitting on our bed which was extremely comfortable with plenty of pillows. The bathroom was very clean with a standard size tub and shower. We didn't request a ocean view room but we were still able to see the ocean an cruise ships from our balcony. We could hear their horns when they pulled in to port and when they were leaving. I could have done without that. The hotel also sits on the main street which is very busy with shops and restaurants all around and the traffic can be heard from the room. Breakfast was served on the 2nd floor from 7-11 (we could also hear this from our room on the 4th floor as well). This was one of the best breakfast buffets I've ever had at a hotel. The made to order waffles and omelets were great (so was the fresh squeezed orange juice). There was always plenty of fresh sliced fruit available also. The pool was a disappointing (very small and maybe 3-4 feet deep). If other people are in the pool there is no room to swim. It is however shaded and it overlooks the ocean. I didn't eat dinner there but it looked tasty. Even with the noise, we will def come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Senta82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
3,684 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,170 reviews
3.5 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing