We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop Looking - Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stop Looking - Stay Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

You read review after review and try and make sense of what is important to you and it can be frustrating - so let me simplify, stay here. I stay in hotels 60% of the year with work and while this is not a Marriott or Hilton, I would put it against many of the Courtyards I have camped in although it has more of a Fairfield type feel. Casa Mexicana fills the bill perfectly if you are diving or strolling around town. It is VERY clean, beds are comfortable, bathrooms have up to date finishes, in-room safe, flat screen TV, decent lighting and a great breakfast (get the made to order waffle and coffee). We booked through the Aqua Safari and got a little better deal on the Ocean View room than any published rate - worth the upgrade in my opinion but others we talked to had similar, positive feedback on the Cityview room conditions. No beach but there are a few beach clubs that are a short taxi ride away. We dove every day and it was very convenient to walk to any number of restaurants and bars in the evening without having to fork over $40 for a round trip taxi ride outside of town. It is a little further to the dive sites but the boat ride is enjoyable and what else are you going to do - go buy more tourista trinkets?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrgtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    305
    59
    28
    15
See reviews for
139
484
96
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

The location is unbeatable if you want to stay in town very close to the pear, and all the shops, but its not a beach resort it does not have its own beach, that's the only thing I sea, in terms of cleanliness and all there is to it it's very good for it's value nothing extravagant just good, if you come in business on the other hand don't think about it this is your choose to be

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gferraez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

I stayed at Casa Mexicana for a dive trip and it was a tremendous experience. I've never seen a cleaner hotel in this price range. There was someone with a mop, rag, or broom working some where at anytime.

My King-Room was huge. I was on the 5th floor looking into the Atrium area over looking down onto the second floor where breakfast was served. I could still see the water too, even though not a water view room.

Speaking of breakfast. What a set up. Everything from fresh fruits, pastries, to custom-made omelettes - and all included in the room price which was in the $60+ a night range.

The lobby area is large and impressive with a chest deep wading pool over looking the water. It was a nice place to come relax with a beer after a long day of diving.

The rooms had flat-screen TVs, and telephones. And I've stayed in other Mexican hotels that lacked such amenities. They also offered FREE Wi-Fi.

The staff were great, and it was a complete hassle-free experience.

The best part of the hotel is it's downtown, and near the excellent restaurants of Cozumel, and the fun bars too.

Room Tip: My room was 505 and was a great location, but not as much breeze as I would have liked for drying my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights during our honeymoon in May. I've been meaning to write this review for some time, since we really enjoyed our time a Casa Mexicana, and would not hesitate to stay there again if we return to Cozumel.

Why we liked this place:
Location - this hotel is very central...pretty much at the epicenter of the San Miguel. As soon as you step outside you can easily grab a taxi or walk just a few minutes to some incredible restaurants and bars.

Breakfast - Although the food was not amazing, there were a number of items that were consistently good. We enjoyed the waffles, omelets, and fresh fruit, plus the coffee and juice were plentiful. The waiter at breakfast (I forget his name) was fantastic and really made us feel special each and every morning.

Great staff - like I said, the service at breakfast was wonderful and the front desk staff were very friendly and patient with my many questions about the island. They went above and beyond to get me info about Tulum and even made after hours calls to find out about a tour group the next day. We didn't end up going on the tour but appreciated their effort all the same.

View - we had a view of the ocean from our room and also enjoyed sitting out on the front hotel balcony in the evening watching the cruise ships load up and sail off. This is not a hotel with a beach (you'll need to go to either end of the island for that) but since we'd already spent 3 days at the Aura, we were fine with that.

Overal clean and comfy - like I said in the title, this place was very clean and very well kept (a huge contrast from our stay at the Aura) and it seemed like every time we turned around, the cleaning crew were hard at work scrubbing this or that. Our room was small but had everything we needed, including a fridge to store our drinks in and we slept quite well all three nights.

Economical - lastly, this place was far cheaper, newer and nicer than many other places on the island and I think it's a good deal for what we paid. We got a great deal on an ocean view room and in retrospect we would have been much better off staying at Casa Mexicana, and heading to different beaches around the island each day.

Overall, I would highly recommend Casa Mexicana. If you can live without the sandy beach (which is Cozumel are never a far drive away) this is a great, economical place to stay while you explore beautiful Cozumel.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nerfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

This hotel was fantastic. The people are friendly and willing to help with anything. Pay the extra charge to get the ocean view and the 3rd floor or higher. The hotel is extremely clean. It is located on the main street that runs along the coast, about 3 blocks from the ferry pier and a couple blocks from the town square.
The only negative is the noise. The hotel is an open layout and when they set up breakfast, it is very loud (clanging of the dishes) starting at about 6 am and continuing to about 11 am. The open air design causes an echo that will wake up the heaviest sleeper! Thankfully, they have the most comfortable beds and pillows - unusual for Mexico where the beds are usually rock hard.
Don't pass up a chance to eat at the Sand Dollar (sometimes called the Money Bar) outside of town, just before Chankanaab Park. The snorkeling there is great and you can come out for a beer and an awesome burrito!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view. The town view is very run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cologiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We spent a week on Cozumel and stayed here. We've been to Coz 7 times via the cruise ship and now 2 times staying for a week on the island.

Last year we stayed at an all inclusive resort on the north end but this time we wanted to be downtown where the action is and also to not have to take a taxi into town each day.

Casa Mexicana exceeded our expectations. The beds were extremely comfortable. The "free breakfast" was incredible. We got to know Jaime, the manager, and Jimy our waiter. Mirna was our cook. Flawless execution by all the staff especially the cleaning crew.

Be careful when going into the pool. It looks like the pool is only a few few deep then all of the sudden when you are walking you go down 4 feet:)

We got a room with the much talked about "ocean view" and it was worth it. It seemed like time stood still the entire week for us to soak up all that Coz has to offer. We will be back again in late January 2012.

For those that follow us on TA, I got a chance to do a video interview with food manager Jaime and Christian who works at the front desk... which you can watch here ...
http://tinyurl.com/3r4sfrj

Room Tip: Choose ocean view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATXJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Great hotel and service. A/C was cold. Rooms are clean, and the beds are some of the most comfortable I have been on in Mexico with lots of pillows. The only negative is the pool is very small and shallow, but for the price and location it is hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpb7772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
10.6 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
3.1 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing