We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“center of san miguel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“center of san miguel”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

nice, clean, good service - ideally situated for town, diving, shops & restaurant. but do be advised that there really isnt a very large pool area which gets much sun during the day (shaded patio area with a FREEZING plunge pool - so if that is a requirement for you - you should look elsewhere. if you do stay here - definitely plump for the sea-view rooms

cozumel has great diving - but not a whole lot else going on... which suited me, but may not suit everyone.

Room Tip: sea-view rooms - worth the upgrade, otherwise you may be in an "internal view room" lots o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    315
    66
    28
    17
See reviews for
152
513
102
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado, KS
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Casa Mexicana was the perfect place for my husband and I during our most recent trip to Cozumel. The location is perfect (close to everything), the staff is wonderful and attentive and the establishment itself is "spit-spot" clean! We noticed the staff out cleaning different areas all of the time!

When we go back to Cozumel, we will stay at Casa Mexicana!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper levels on the ocean side have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSScubaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed from 12/19/2011 to 12/24/2011 this hotel is clean, quite, roomy and a great place to stay. We stayed in a city view room on the 3rd floor. It had a nice porch which over looked the city. we had everything we needed. The only amenity not in the room was a coffee maker but the fantastic breakfast buffet that is included in your price makes up for it. The coffee is the best I have had, better then Mcdonald's omelets made to order, cheesy eggs, waffle, fruit, cereal fresh juice - terrific.
served from 7am till 11am.
The hotel has a pool that has a view of the ocean. I talked with Jaime who not only tends to breakfast but also makes the best margaritas and shared his recipe - you'll have to ask him his secret.
The hotel is themed after a cruise ship and has a wonderful feel.
Another plus is free wifi and a computer room with internet access. Do beware that even a local phone call may cost 4 pesos - the rate fluctuates and was 12.5 to 13.7 pesos = 1 US dollar during my visit.
If you don't have much luggage, the hotel is a short walk from the fairy - no taxi needed.
I will stay there every time I visit the island.
Excellent place to stay!

Room Tip: 2nd floor city view rooms have no view at all but a porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavonia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Just back from a week in Cozumel, and what a nice little the Casa Mexicana Cozumel was! We were used to staying at bigger, nicer places more on the beach and away from town, so CMC was a definite change of pace for us. Throughout our trip, we continually commented about how much we enjoyed it.

The value of CMC is hard to beat. After the "fourth night free" promotion, I think our average was $50-55/night, an excellent price for this property. By comparison, in the U.S. one would pay double the price for a place half as clean and charming. When combined with the expansive, delicious, free breakfast, the extra $100/day one will save on not going to an all-inclusive is nice to have freed up to spend at Coz's wide variety of good restaurants.

The place is spotless top to bottom, a small army of staff constantly cleaning everywhere. Has some nice furniture and decorations that give it a more mom and pop feel. Lots of nice people milling about, both local and foreign, and plenty of divers from all over the world as well.

The rooms themselves were perfectly adequate, everything functioning well. Cold A/C, hot showers, spotlessly clean, comfy king-sized bed, nice flat-screen TV, a safe, and a nice patio with chairs to read on - everything we needed for a couple that didn't plan on spending much time at the actual property.

Also have to prop the location, within easy walking distance of a gaggle of good restaurants, the main plaza, and the ferry dock. The only thing lacking was a decent beach, but with all the money saved staying here, a quick taxi ride down to Chankanaab or one of the beach clubs manages that.

Only negative was what others have mentioned, that is, there's some occasional noise. I only noticed it our last night there, when I was awakened at about 6:30 AM by the folks preparing breakfast, ice and dishes echo pretty well in there. Really minor point here, if there's anything that can be done about it.

We'd stay at CMC again in a second, especially at the great price. Recommended for divers, adventurers, and anyone looking to do more on Coz than lie around pool side getting hammered.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JCBurnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

my husband and i just returned from a week in cozumel and stayed at casa mexicana. i have never seen such a clean place! it really was a great place to stay if you are staying in town. i had read that the pool was small, but i loved it! since we dive, we didtn really feel the need to swim, and the area is really nice to hang out and watch the town go by. the breakfast is fabulous as well. the only drawback i could say is that it is a bit noisy. the first night i didtn put ear plugs in and it was bad. the wheels on the carts on the tile floors sound like a freight train, and the city noise it just that. but the bed was so comfortable that when i figured out the ear plug thing it was nice. also, we had a hard time adjusting the temp in the room, but that may just be our ignorance. overall, we really liked the place. it does not have beach access, but is in the heart of the center of town on the water.

Room Tip: we had room 520 which i think was considered town side, but had a great ocean view. it was the long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah-eb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Just enjoyed our 5th dive vacation in October this year and the Casa Mexicana served as our home away from home once again. As usual, The Casa is as spectacular as always! Right in the heart of town for those who wish to experience the culture and enjoy all the great restaurants and walk abouts. One will notice staying in town and walking about that the retailers and restaurants are suffering from this recession and are more aggressive in trying to win your business than they were in the past but that to be expected. Times are tough for all... especially in areas that rely on American tourism which has fallen off and the cruise ship crowd is holding their wallets tighter these days. The upside is, deals are to be had and when you do select that great restaurant you will be seated at the best table in full view of other passers by and treated like a king. We were personally served more than a few free drinks for "hanging out" and making the restaurant of our choice look busy such that others would be drawn. Unfortunate but we'll take free drinks any day and once you find one you like and a server you like, return for another night and let the royal treatment rain upon you. If you want beach, quiet and isolation, this isn't the hotel for you as the all inclusives on the island can deliver that. However, if you want the best of the best in town and wish to experience the culture, shopping, scuba diving at your doorstep, and eat real mexican food... All can be immediately found... Just walk out the door and turn right to the center of town a few blocks away. WIthout a doubt... The Casa Mexicana remains the true 5 star hotel San Miguel. Always clean as a whistle with staff that constantly are cleaning whether it needs it or not. The staff goes out of its way to help you at every turn (whether you need it or not), great new soft beds and expanded cable that offers more American feeds than you'll need to drift off to sleep to. For the savy... there are a handful of great "City View" rooms that offer Ocean views. I won't share the room #'s as I don't want them being hogged but over the years I have taken note of them as have many others. When you show up, simply explain that you wish you could have afforded an ocean view room and would like to know if any of the city view rooms offer a glimps of the ocean. The front desk will gladly lead you to the city view rooms with ocean views (if they are available) for your inspection. Our last "city view" room had a fantastic ocean view at fraction of the price of ocean view! If you are not happy and all the "city view" rooms that offer an ocean view are taken... Ask the front desk what it would cost to upgrade to an Ocean View when you are checking in... If one is available, they will "Negotiate" and that is what the mexican culture is all about. ENJOY! Best rooms in the hotel are the top floor Ocean View corner rooms (only 2 and I think they are 501 and 504). Almost always booked well in advance but worth a request... No deals to be had on those! .

Room Tip: Too afraid to share as they will be hogged. Show up and ask at the front desk when you check in per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepseaDvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Casa Mexicana gives you that gracious, Mexican welcome to their home. Continued by, you are a part of our family. For a moment in time, you feel special. These are my “friends.” Service, cleanliness, the right place at the right time… All is perfect. Relax and experience comfort, adventure and lazy days.

Room Tip: That's OK; I want to make sure I get it when I'm there! LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,687 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,175 reviews
3.5 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing