We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was impressed-I'd return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I was impressed-I'd return!”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I just spent a week at Casa Mexicana for a first visit. The central San Miguel location is excellent. My waterfront room on the fifth floor provided pleasant tropical breezes, so use of the AC was not needed at night..just open the balcony sliding door a bit. Views of the harbor, cruise ships, and the local transit were often interesting as were the lights across the water of Playa del Carmen. I liked the firm, supportive bedding, too. You'll awake awaiting the bountiful breakfast included and the friendly staff who make a stay here purely a delight! The excellent tropical fruits and juices were complemented with several Mexican specialties. Freshly prepared omelets, etc. were superb! This hotel is immaculate, well-maintained, and shows excellent management. It is visually attractive and archetectually well-conceived. While it is not a beachfront property, the location lends for easy walking to several fine restaurants and ample shopping. Rooms facing the ocean are a bit more money but I think worth the expense for the views and spacious balconies; rooms overlooking the breakfast salon are also good options. The AC worked well as needed and the rooms are adequately appointed. The lobby business center had good Internet most of the time. The sundeck has comfortable, padded chaise lounge chairs and a small pool for cooling off. The lobby bar serves a small selection of beverages. There is a "Mega" store within easy walking distance for room supplies. US dollars are often accepted locally or credit cards can be used most places. This hotel is extremely pleasant and friendly. The staff members are to be complimented on being a superb team.

Room Tip: If you booked an oceanfront room, ask for one on an upper floor, if available. Room service is avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    310
    64
    28
    17
See reviews for
151
503
100
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I've been to Cozumel several times and stayed in several hotels. THis will be my new hotel of choice. It's beautiful, perfectly located, small, the breakfast was great, the rooms spacious, excellent views and the service was excellent. We had no idea what to expect and were so pleasantly surprised!

Room Tip: We asked for an ocean view, but none were available on our first night. Instead we got a courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniella f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I am really surprised after this visit.

We're at Cozumel - a paradise island, full of tourists. This usually leads to 90% of the hotels being run by idiots who want to make money from even more stupid tourists. The hotels are usually old and in dire need of maintenance. The floors and walls are moldy and the bathrooms completely damp damaged. On top of it all, these rooms are sold at prices for which you could rent a new apartment.

Imagine we were suspicious when we found a room at Casa Mexicana for less than 60$. However, Casa Mexicana proved to be the exception that confirms the rule. Nothing made us dissapointed about the hotel. It was clean, decently maintained, had an excellent location and served a delicious breakfast. Grade 4/5.

The only complaint we have is that we were stressed to leave our table at the breakfast, even though we weren't finished. If there's limited seating capacity, this is a problem for the hotel, not for us. Grade 3/5.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Five years of Thanksgiving in Coz and always at the Casa Mexicana; we do get an ocean front room (we imagine the "city view" isn't all that exciting). The price is right and the hotel is pretty much right next to our preferred dive operation Aqua Safari. The scrumptious daily breakfast buffet fills the bellies before we head out for a day's diving. Staff is wonderful and friendly. If the hotel lacks anything, it's a swimming pool. But being in the center of San Miguel offers a variety of wonderful restaurants all within walking distance (we've never felt unsafe in Coz as we walk several blocks back from the tourists' main drag). And, clean -- they never stop cleaning!

Room Tip: Ocean front worth the extra pesos
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicksthos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This is by far the one of the best places we have ever stayed in Mexico. We stayed for our 15th Anniversary. We still had a wonderful view of the water. The wait staff here is amazing and will go out of their way to assist. Vincente is the best. The breakfast buffet is the very best on the island; especially on Sundays!

Room Tip: Select the Ocean View Room, it is worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bejammin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This is by far the cheapest place we have ever stayed in mexico. We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. We spent more than we normally would on hotels the first week so I looked for something cheaper. We had an interior room that overlooked the breakfast area. We still had a wonderful view of the water. The wait staff here is amazing and will go out of their way to assist. Vincente is the best. The breakfast buffet is very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ineedasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

we got the breakfast buffet with our stay. the food was excellent. The staff was super friendly. The bar staff made excellent drinks and taught me some Spanish. the room was beautiful and so was the view. It is in walking distance to the square and great restaurants. It was the cleanest hotel I have ever been to. A must stay!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuamDivingDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,132 reviews
3.5 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing