We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My happy 100 days in Casa Mexicana Cozumel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My happy 100 days in Casa Mexicana Cozumel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I have stayed 100 days in Casa Mexicana Cozumel (14th April-23 July 2012).

Adriana, you’re the best hotel chief manager I’ve ever seen in my life. Your perfect management and selecting and developing the team made Casa Mexicana an excellent hotel. I felt at home every minute. The staff is working so harmoniously that I had an impression I was living in one big family…
Everything is clean in according to the highest European standards. It’s not just clean: every centimeter of Casa Mexicana is shining and glittering – that is its constant state: they’re cleaning it non-stop. Air conditioning and wifi (free) worked perfectly in the courtyard-view and sea-view rooms I stayed in. Breakfast was always just awesome. You can’t also beat the price. And…For 100 days I’ve never had any stomach troubles :)
The hotel looks very new and they updated it immediately if something is needed.
If you need any assistance or support just tell the reception and you’ll be surprised how helpful they are. There was not one time that they would not assist whatever I (or all other guests) needed.
Haime will delight your every morning. He is the soul of the restaurant and the chief of the team which is greeting you with a wonderful cold cocktail at arriving and maintaining your first steps in the hotel.
You have a wonderful choice of Mexican and European dishes which they change during the week quite often, so you always have something new to try. There is a tremendous wide choice of nicely cooled fresh fruits and always wonderful fresh-made orange and grapefruit juices.
All the technical and sanitary standards are on the highest level. It is right in the heart of Cozumel. You can walk to almost anywhere. You can easily reach the best beaches within 10 minutes by taxi. Easy walking distance from the ferry. The hotel is also close to the pier where dive boats depart. The supermarket is a very short walk. Beach towels are provided free of charge.

It’s a wonderful place to be. I will highly recommend Casa Mexicana Cozumel to my friends.

Adriana, Alejandra, doña Katie, Santa, Myrna, Raquel, Flor, Walter, Kerry, Maggie, Haime, Chef :), Gimmy, Vincente, Kaspar, Rafael, Merry, Magdaleno, Josef - my gratitude to all of you!

Doña Katie, thank you for your kind tolerance and care!!! Santa and Mirna, I miss your warm friendship and all those tasty things which you cooked for me!!! My personal gratitude to Flor!!! I hope to see Flor as a chief of cleaning service next time!!! I'm sure she would manage this very well. Kaspar you’re a great barman!!! Walter, reception works great under your guidance!!! My warmiest and happiest wishes to all of you!!!

Tetyana. Germany (Berlin)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tetyana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    305
    59
    28
    15
See reviews for
139
484
96
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Right on the water and centrally located. 1 min walk from the passenger Ferry terminal which was super convenient for our last day on Cozumel. Clean rooms and helpful staff. The interior rooms open up to a interior courtyard which is open to the city. So if you need to crack your door for some fresh air, it's nice. They do a big breakfast buffet with eggs, waffles, pancakes to order and it comes with the room. Lots of locals seemed to be hitting up the breakfast the morning we were there. Overall, pretty good deal for the price. It is in the heart of San Miguel where all the cruise ships dump out their cattle but things quite down towards the eve when the ships depart.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor interior rooms. They are right next to the morning buffet so you'll be wakin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fasttom76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I have traveled a lot in Mexico and undoubtedly this is one of he better values both in price and quality of he property. Cozumel is not the frequent travellers number one destination although for he amateur diver it has lots of really unique opera unities. It has evolved into the dream retail market or western and eastern Caribbean cruise ships but when they leave it is a really pleasant town . This hotel is spotless, well maintained and has good air conditioning nice patios off all rooms and a great lobby with a tiny but adequate pool and small sun patio bar. Do not get fooled and pay more for less accommodation. You can walk to the ferry to play del Carmen it was 4 blocks in the heat of the day with a couple of suitcases only a 15 min easy walk long the beach, Mega tore is only 2 blks beyond and we got a pop and to good sandwiches there got only 35 pesos tax in
We went o las Palmas restaurant across from he ferry dock got a great dinner , our hotel wrist band saved us 15percent

Room Tip: You need not get a view room the numbers floor number plus 05,06, 07. Will get you an ocean sidew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

In my travels around the world I always look for hotels like these -- local spots that straddle the line between generic luxury and cheap-and-not-so-cheerful. Casa Mexicana gets it right, with a fabulous central location (everything in the town of San Miguel is accessible on foot from here), a nice but not pretentious facility (including a gorgeous terrace facing the water, complete with small pool) and a great breakfast. Only drawback? The breakfast is so popular it often fills up, and the service at breakfast time can be a bit brusque. Otherwise, a great, reasonably-priced find.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back, which was pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djedei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Lovely view from the 2nd floor lobby. Walkable and close to the square and tons of restaurants and shops. Great value. Small bar in the lobby and a great breakfast buffet. Everything is spotless, so much so that the staff never stops cleaning. The pool in the lobby is really just for looks; it's oddly positioned and tiny, but you'd be hard pressed to find a hotel in town with a better view.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meggan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel situated right on the waterfront. The building is light and airy. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. Hot water is not quite adequate for my taste. They have a wonderful and generous breakfast buffet which can keep you going until dinner, when the cruise ships all clear out and the town is yours! Its easy to get bikes, scooters or cars from here and tour the island or just the town. It is also very close to the ferry for tours of tulum or chichen itza. Good all around location, thats convenient to everything.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank glrothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

This was our second trip to Cozumel. This was by far the best service we have ever received. Food was excellent, staff was very friendly. It is right in the heart of Cozumel. You can walk to almost anywhere. I would highly recommend paying the extra for the ocean view. We changed rooms the second night, which was a great move!!

Room Tip: If you would like to see the sunset ask for rooms ending in 06-10 on any of the floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
10.6 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
3.1 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing