We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & large/clean rooms but buffet was annoying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Casa Mexicana is in a central location in the touristy area of Cozumel, close to some good local restaurants though. The rooms were large and very clean but we stayed directly over the buffet and the cling clanging at 8am everyday was really annoying, not to mention the smell. Be sure to ask for a room away from the buffet. However, the buffet was good, there was a lot of variety even for someone that eats extremely clean + healthy. Only negative about the location of the hotel is that the Disney cruise ship docks right in front everyday...but there are cruise ships all over. If you like cruise ships no problem then but if you can't stand them then you will be annoyed. Overall, rooms were great for the price just request a non buffet view.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel for the Easter weekend. The hotel is located near downtown and close to most stores, duty frees and entertainment in Cozumel and has a great view of the bay and docked cruise ships.
I rated it as poor because I was put in a row of rooms which are only separated from the open-air buffet breakfast area by a glass window! It escapes me why would they place anybody in these rooms… it is impossible to sleep past 6:00 AM because of all the noise… people dragging chairs, clanking plates, people talking, smell of food, etc… and even worse people banging against your class window.
Needless to say you have to keep your curtains completely closed otherwise you would have people having breakfast with a view of you!

Room Tip: never accept rooms 205, 206, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank BillDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We decided to stay in downtown because one of the things we definitely like to do is choosing our restaurants for dinner and eating well. We spent the days either at the beach or diving, the use of the hotel was therefore limited to some late afternoon naps, nights and breakfast. We might not have had considerable requirements, but Casa Mexicana fulfilled and topped all we needed.

The hotel is in walking distance to some great restaurants in downtown and located right at the main boulevard not too far from the ferry terminal and the main plaza. Taxis are readily available outside the door, a ride to the SW beaches is ~10-15 USD.
The bar/pool area is pleasant, but we never used it. The pool is at maximum big enough for a little dip for refreshment, which might be needed as in the afternoon the sun is hitting straight at the area with beach chairs.
We had a city facing room on the 4th floor. Given the stormy conditions on the last two days of our trip with strong winds hitting from the sea, this was definitely a good choice! Nevertheless, I imagine that the sea side suites offer an exellent view. Our room had two comfortable queen beds, a nice varanda to sit on and sip a cold beer, satellite TV, free Wifi (working fine mainly in the part of the room closer to the door), a small fridge (with enough space for a 5L bottle of water and a few more drinks an snacks). The bathroom was very clean and spaceous, with bath tub with shower and nicely warm water. The room was cleaned and tydied up every day with great care (not to mention the numerous ways of folding towels to puppets and animals which had us laughing whenever we entered the room in the late afternoon)
The breakfast has been mentioned in other reviews, but it can't hurt mentioning this again. The breakfast buffet has to be one of the best on the island. From fresh fruits over eggs over cereals over salmond over whole cooked dishes.... The breakfast is served from 7-11am, so you can even dig in before going diving. The only very small point of criticism is that during breakfast rush-hour, not all the items get replaced very quickly.

Service in general was of good quality. The front desk helped us with some tour suggestions and when I had some stomach issues (NOT from the hotel food :-))

All in all, this hotel was the perfect choice for us, and I can recommend it to anyone who decides staying in downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissInBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We did something different this year. We split our trip up and enjoyed the beach location of the Presidente Inter-continental, then actually moved to see what it was like to stay "in town". While his small hotel doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles, it is very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The extra money for the ocean view we thought was worth it. They have an incredible breakfast - really more like brunch - that is included in the room rate. It was nice to walk to The Square and enjoy the nighttime activities also enjoyed by locals (we were there on Saturday and Sunday nights). Safe place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GotTicketWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

My husband and I stayed in the oceanside suite and woke up to a beautiful view everyday during our 5 day stay. The buffet breakfast was good at most times. Very friendly staff that made us feel at home. The front desk gave some recomendations for some tours we wanted to do and were very helpful. Small pool but , there is a much larger one (ocean) out front ! Would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Very comfortable beds and very quiet in spite of the fact that it is only 5 blocks from the restaurant areas. It is a little hard to find because the entrance from the street is just a double glass door with an escalator, taking you to the second floor entrance.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank MexicoBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa Mexicana for 10 days. We are not all-inclusive travellers and look for good, clean hotels that give us access to everything an area has to offer. Casa Mexican more than met our expectations. The entire hotel is immaculately clean, the staff very helpful and friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable, the breakfast buffet delicious. We had a rental car and there is a free municipal lot around the corner. We loved being able to take advantage of all the local restaurants in the evening and getting out in the car to tour the island during the day. If this is YOUR kind of hotel, we highly recommend it. This morning we are already missing Jaime's kind service during breakfast!

Room Tip: City view rooms over a view over the town, and the ones on the side of the building have great ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keldear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
2 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#23 of 52 in Cozumel
816 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
693 reviews
2.3 mi away
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre calles 5 y 7 | Frente al malecón, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range: £60 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing