We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I came here mostly as reviews raved about the breakfast and every word is true. It is varied and flavourful and the service by Jaime is very distinguished.
I arrived without a reservation and got a room facing the city, comfortable and quiet. The wifi reached but was spotty. It was very strong in the lobby though, And so were the drinks by the bartender. The lobby/pool area proved to be quite friendly. I was only there for a few nights but met many people on the panoramic patio.
The only downside I found has nothing to do with the hotel but its location on the main drag made walking around a little tiresome with a lot of very motivated street sellers looking for cruiseship buyers.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank gaspezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

If you are a diver, you will like this place. They feed you a great breakfast buffet to get your started on your day. The hotel is on the main strip along the shore, so if you are walking to meet them at the port pickup you have a very short walk.

Check in is quick and efficient. If you want a room that you can put your stuff outside to dry, ask for a room that the balcony faces the outside. If you want the sun on the balcony, ask for a room that the balcony faces south.
The rooms are a good size, The cleaning crew cleans the rooms great. The staff doesn't change from year to year, so a lot of them remember you from the previous year. There is a fridge in the room. TIP: remember to turn the dial to cool when you get in. I forgot.

The WIFI (free) worked well for me in my room 216, on my IPad. But, if you can't they have computers downstairs (30 minutes free).

Room Tip: If you want a room that you can put your stuff outside to dry, ask for a room that the balcony faces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubanutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

In a world where everyone is selling pretty much the same thing , this place is a a world apart. From the second you walk through the door the staff takes great care to see that all your needs are met as well as addressing you by name at breakfast. Wow! The hotel is located from the second floor to the sixth floor of a building just across the street from the ocean just a few blocks south of the main plaza in town. Beautifully laid out with a swimming pool located on the second floor over looking the Caribbean Sunset. The Ocean view rooms have this same advantage as well as being able to watch he cruise ship as they dock. Rooms and grounds were spotless, and stayed that way. Almost seeming as thought they cleaned and mopped the room each time after we left. The breakfast buffet each morning was wonderful with tasty selections from local cuisine, to fresh omelets that would make your mouth water, and a fresh fruit selection that would make anyone smile. Over all this was a wonderful experience and would enjoy a return stay here without hesitation. My hat is off to the entire staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheoylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

have been to Cozumel numerous times have always wanted to stay at this property and finally did 4/17 - 4/22. great property, great staff and a great price. I will go back. xcellant breakfast buffet and it is all fresh made. no lunchor dinner served though. there is no sandy beach outfront available like some of the bigger hotel chains but you do not need it. it is very close to the central square and we made it Sunday evening to watch the local bands play. while there and just off the square and in walking distance we made Wet Wendy's for margaritas, Woody's for fish tacos, Rolandis' for fish/lobster, Carlos N Charlies for beers, Starbucks for coffee.

Room Tip: ask Edith or Kerri for an upgrade and spend a little more to get the ocean view rooms. we were in 40...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We've been to Cozumel many times and have stayed in many different hotels in San Miguel. This time we chose Casa Mexicana because of their great rate on Expedia. We were pleasantly surprised at the level of service and friendliness of the staff, and the overall level of cleanliness of the entire hotel. The room and common areas were spotless, and the view of the Caribbean from the lobby is spectacular. The wait staff at the breakfast buffet is wonderful, as is the quallity of the food. It's not just cold cereal and toast. It has a very convenient location, right on the main street, near shopping and super market (1-2 blocks). The front desk staff is very helpful and knowledgeble of the area and will give you a local map to help you find your way. Will definitely stay there again. Oh...and lest I forget...good beds and plenty of pillows!

Room Tip: You may not want to be facing or above the breakfast buffet on the second floor. There will be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwhalen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Casa Mexicana Cozumel is located on the main street in town, bordering the harbor. The hotel begins on the second floor of the building, providing a lovely view of the water, a dipping pool and deck area, a tended bar all connected to the lobby. The service is attentive, the hotel is bright and clean, the rooms spacious with comfy beds and lots of pillows. Breakfast is included and the breakfast area is in an atrium which is sunny and airy, tables set with linens but with typical Cozumel casualness. Jaime, the waiter who has been with the hotel for many years, takes wonderful care of guests at breakfast, which is a large buffet laid out with local dishes, as well as hand-made omlettes and egg dishes. The hotel rates are reasonable. You don't need a car to get to Cozumel's best restaurants, the plaza or the ferry. The hotel also offers package deals with local dive shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view (rear and side of hotel) or water view room. The interior rooms open over the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This was our 4th stay at Casa Mexicana - the last three were for one month each. This alone speaks volumes for Casa Mexicana! Have been very pleased with every aspect of this well-run hotel. ALL staff are exceptional!! We love this place and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ocean view is our favorite, but would not hesitate to choose a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,271 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre calles 5 y 7 | Frente al malecón, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range: £63 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing