We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our #1 choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have been coming to Casa Mexicana for over 6 years now, usually at least one two week trip per year, and often twice per year. We have used it for our anniversary trip in winter, and for summer trips. We love the location not far from the main square and the ferry to Playa, wonderful choices of places to eat within walking distance, and not far from the Mega or Chedraui grocery stores. The staff are wonderful to us, and recognize us when we return, even though we have limited Spanish. We have brought one teenage grandchild down with us to get her open water certification and look forward to returning with her and others in years to come.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

Outstanding breakfast buffet. Great location--on the main drag, but quiet (at least our room was, on the city side). Clean room, nice bath--overall no frills, but very functional and a great value for the price--compared to anywhere in the US. Staff not the most helpful, but they tried.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor on the city side and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I read all the great reviews, but I had the worst time at this hotel..On arriving, I almost fell into the indoor pond/pool because there was no signs and cautions . The linen was soiled, which was corrected , and the air condition was not working. we called the desk, and someone came to fix it , but it was a waste of there time.. we went to a restaurant, and then walking down the scenic boulevard, but on our arrival to the hotel, the light was dimmed and we struggled finding our way to the elevator..The hallways, lobby was hot and dark.. we the attempted to take a shower and the water was brown. So one can imagine after walking, and the temperature in the room, the night , I had.. The next morning was difficult, since we had to "wash up "in the sink where the water was clear . We reported the temperature in the room the night prior to, but nothing was done..when we checked out, we reported the quality of the room, and no apology was not given. I wrote an email and no one responded.. This is a cheap motel, not safe or suitable for a vacation away from home. And, travelers with small children, this is a disaster awaiting to happen.. The pool is in the lobby area, floor level and not secured..I spent almost $140 including taxes and fees, and would have preferred a refund...

Room Tip: Do not use this hotel, unless you live under a rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We did not want to stay at a resort because we wanted to have more options. The Casa was everything we wanted, close to downtown shopping, eating, and entertainment. The place was very clean, cool and the breakfast was so much better than the all-inclusive resorts. We would walk the streets at night and never felt any fear. Jaime was always there to help us with any need. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nance33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

There were 4 of us who stayed at this hotel June 15th through the 23rd. The service and cleanliness was 4 stars! This was our 5th year coming to Cozumel we had done the all inclusive deal and were tired of it. So we stayed here what a bargain. The breakfast buffet was awesome and parking was easy since we had a car all week. We could walk to our favorite restaurants also. Just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noblehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The staff there is great. Anything we needed they tried to accommodate. It is within walking distance to anything we wanted to do downtown. They gave great recommendations for places to eat in the square and around town.
The only draw back we had was the pool was out of order while we were there.
If you are looking for a place to relax but in the middle of everything you have found it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveDiving61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was our second trip to Cozumel. Last time we stayed at Cozumel Palace, and while a wonderful place to stay, we wanted to put more of our money towards diving and less on lodging. IMO, Casa Mexicana is just as nice but is much less expensive.

Our room was clean, roomy enough for the 2 of us and our things and the beds were pretty comfortable for hotel beds. For the most part the noise level was tolerable other than the breakfast clatter and when a very large group of teenagers checked in for some festival going on. They were quiet at night though so we weren't bothered much. The soccer fans outside were the loudest when they were celebrating a last minute win. Lucky for us we didn't want to get to sleep early that night.

The included breakfast buffet was okay, I just wish they offered bacon on a daily basis (they only had it one of the five mornings we stayed). The made to order eggs and pancakes were great though and the fresh OJ was delicious!

The central location was ideal so we didn't have to pay a taxi anytime we wanted to find a place to eat. We got a kick out of the "hawkers" that tried to get us to "buy something for the lady" each and every time we walked by their shops. After a few days they got to recognize us and knowing we weren't going to stop they came up with some very humorous comments!

Everything went very smooth during our stay. Housekeeping was awesome! Every day we'd come back to our room and there would be a different towel art for us to enjoy. We called down to the front desk one day to inquire about an ice machine and they brought us up a bucket full right away. Alex at the front desk even called to make sure we got it quick enough!

We only enjoyed the "pool" once but it was nice to just relax with a wonderful (and potent!) margarita from the bar without a lot of people around like at larger resorts with larger pools.

We hope to return to Cozumel again next year and will certainly consider Casa Mexicana again (unless we decide on a condo rental instead).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peajay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
3,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,270 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre calles 5 y 7 | Frente al malecón, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range: £63 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing