We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Easy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

My dive buddy & I stayed at Casa Mexicana the end of July, 2013. It's extremely convenient to our dive shop, Aldora Divers, just around the corner and to the dive boats which board on the pier 2-3 blocks down. It's a very clean hotel with a great included breakfast opening at 7 AM, which allowed us to be at the dive boat by 7:30. Never had to take a taxi except one day off from diving to go to the beach. Higly recommended!

Room Tip: The cheaper, but equally as good, are on the back side facing town. Ocean view rooms are more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lthomas132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    301
    59
    28
    15
See reviews for
136
475
94
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have been coming to Casa Mexicana for over 6 years now, usually at least one two week trip per year, and often twice per year. We have used it for our anniversary trip in winter, and for summer trips. We love the location not far from the main square and the ferry to Playa, wonderful choices of places to eat within walking distance, and not far from the Mega or Chedraui grocery stores. The staff are wonderful to us, and recognize us when we return, even though we have limited Spanish. We have brought one teenage grandchild down with us to get her open water certification and look forward to returning with her and others in years to come.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Outstanding breakfast buffet. Great location--on the main drag, but quiet (at least our room was, on the city side). Clean room, nice bath--overall no frills, but very functional and a great value for the price--compared to anywhere in the US. Staff not the most helpful, but they tried.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor on the city side and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I read all the great reviews, but I had the worst time at this hotel..On arriving, I almost fell into the indoor pond/pool because there was no signs and cautions . The linen was soiled, which was corrected , and the air condition was not working. we called the desk, and someone came to fix it , but it was a waste of there time.. we went to a restaurant, and then walking down the scenic boulevard, but on our arrival to the hotel, the light was dimmed and we struggled finding our way to the elevator..The hallways, lobby was hot and dark.. we the attempted to take a shower and the water was brown. So one can imagine after walking, and the temperature in the room, the night , I had.. The next morning was difficult, since we had to "wash up "in the sink where the water was clear . We reported the temperature in the room the night prior to, but nothing was done..when we checked out, we reported the quality of the room, and no apology was not given. I wrote an email and no one responded.. This is a cheap motel, not safe or suitable for a vacation away from home. And, travelers with small children, this is a disaster awaiting to happen.. The pool is in the lobby area, floor level and not secured..I spent almost $140 including taxes and fees, and would have preferred a refund...

Room Tip: Do not use this hotel, unless you live under a rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We did not want to stay at a resort because we wanted to have more options. The Casa was everything we wanted, close to downtown shopping, eating, and entertainment. The place was very clean, cool and the breakfast was so much better than the all-inclusive resorts. We would walk the streets at night and never felt any fear. Jaime was always there to help us with any need. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nance33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

There were 4 of us who stayed at this hotel June 15th through the 23rd. The service and cleanliness was 4 stars! This was our 5th year coming to Cozumel we had done the all inclusive deal and were tired of it. So we stayed here what a bargain. The breakfast buffet was awesome and parking was easy since we had a car all week. We could walk to our favorite restaurants also. Just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noblehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The staff there is great. Anything we needed they tried to accommodate. It is within walking distance to anything we wanted to do downtown. They gave great recommendations for places to eat in the square and around town.
The only draw back we had was the pool was out of order while we were there.
If you are looking for a place to relax but in the middle of everything you have found it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveDiving61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
10.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,715 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing