We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't wait to see my friends at Casa Mexicana, Cozumel, MX”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I can't wait to see my friends at Casa Mexicana, Cozumel, MX”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I'm so excited to get back to Casa Mexicana. First, I will look forward to greetings of hugs and smiles from staff. How good could you feel when greeted by a excited wave from the back of the room. Second, Of coarse the rooms, amenities, view and food are great; including, the price for all that is awesome. Third, Who are we going to meet for the morning buffet?: local friends, new friends and travelers that return time after time, after time. If you want "to know" Cozumel, start here!

Room Tip: All of the rooms in the front have a great ocean view. Avoid floor two, if you want the see the para...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShoesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    310
    64
    28
    17
See reviews for
151
504
100
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband booked us a room at Casa Mexicana for our 5 night stay in Cozumel. Both price and convenience were factors in his decision. He did a wonderful job in choosing a hotel. It was close enough to the ferry that we could walk with our luggage and not have to pay for a taxi. And it was lovely. I had read other review prior to our trip. "Clean" was a common word used. And clean it was! The people at the front desk were helpful and friendly. Jaime greeted us with drinks in hand and took our luggage to the room. Jaime makes Casa Mexicana what it is. He was so friendly. He knew our names immediately, always had a hello and a smile for us. If we needed something, he took care of it. Breakfast was phenomenal! It was like dinner! Next time we vacation in Cozumel, we know we don't need to shop around. We found our new temporary home!

Room Tip: We were in 318 which is on the side. Not a great view, but we did not stay in our hotel much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiolakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Once again, Casa Mexicana gave me an awesome place to call home for the 5 days I was on the island.

Easy check in, comfortable room( 403, ocean view), great breakfast, everything Casa Mexicana is known for!

Preparing for another trip September 12-17th. Have done the AI routine but will not stay anywhere but with my friends at Casa Mexicana!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATXJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Hotel is clean and central location...good breakfast. Very small pool in the middle of lobby. Would stay only if staying a few days only to sleep. Arrived around 12pm ...had us wait till 3:30 to get a room. If staying here renting a car is a must !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motheroftwoTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have been in mexico for one month and this is the best place yet.
Super happy with the value for $$, facilaties were just great, clean room, big bed, good showers, great view from room. BEST OF All was the breakfast - the waffles and fresh fruit went down a treat every morning.
Highly recommend this place, the staff are nothing but the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view, you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aliciammccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Spent 7 days here in early August using the Mexicana as a base for a diving vacation. Generally stay at all-inclusives but some of the reports on the ones in Cozumel were less than glowing. Opted instead for what we considered the best b+b in the area and were not disappointed. Asked for high floor in an Ocean view room and got the top floor (504). Advantage with top floor is that you do not get a high connecting wall so have a 180degree view (to be weighed up with the disadvantage of being open to your immediate neighbours too), Despite the 'layered' design those in lower floors cannot be seen by the room above because of planting areas at the end of each patio (see photo). Breakfasts, like others have said, were very good and you can order other egg variations (poached etc) which are cooked in the main kitchen and brought up to the dining area for you. No complaints about cleanliness either there always seems to be a floor or seating area being washed somewhere. Strange process for pool towels, in order to get these you have to show id (despite wearing a valid hotel 'bracelet'). Bit peeved the first time at walking down from the 5th floor to find I couldn't get one without this additional 'level of security'. Tip: As they only use the same type as in the room just take the room towels.. much less hassle. Good wireless internet generally but forever having to sign in.Very good speed out of peak hours particularly.
The Mexicana is centrally located for local restaurants, many within 10 mins walk, but be prepared for the constant barrage of requests to look around every 'T' shirt or jewellery store as you make your way to them, more than likely you will be asked if you want to see a menu by restaurant 'touts' even as they see you leave the one next door to them.. its just habit i think.

Walk left out of the hotel for half a mile and find the supermarket for beer/wine/bread/snacks etc. They take US dollars and give change in pesos.
All in all a very good place to stay (the hotel ...not the supermarket)

Room Tip: Ocean view 5th floor have more panoramic views than the ones below (but may be overlooked by neighb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzxxqkw3048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury-on-Thames, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed for two weeks in August 2013. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff. Unique approach to towel arrangements. Excellent location on the sea front in San Miguel town. I had room 404 with ocean view which despite one wall that restricted some view , overall it was very good view.

Room Tip: go for one in the middle overlooking sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,133 reviews
3.5 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing