We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIFFERENT BUT EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is our 4th time staying here and just have to share it with others.Have never been anywhere so fastidiously clean and the staff are so friendly from the reception to the cleaners and the breakfast could not be bettered and the waiters and chefs so helpful.We stayed 10 nights for the Ironman race once again and we would stay nowhere else!

Room Tip: worth paying little extra for sea front room and ask for top floor as balcony more open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Very clean rooms, excellent staff, close to town and docks for scuba diving. I will definitely stay there again. Free breakfast was included with hotel package. I wish the breakfast hour started earlier. Had to be at dock early for scuba diving and missed taking advantage of the free breakfast a few times.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the ocean are more. But most room views are acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubajim347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Clean, simple, comfortable, not super fancy, but just the right amount of luxury at a great price. Attentive staff and wonderful daily breakfast included. Great central location. This is a great place to stay if the focus of your trip is not the resort itself, but the destination, diving, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zaptastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We moved here from Cozumel Resort. We found it to be an excellent location and very handy to everything. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Gave us names of great mexican restaurants where the locals eat, as we prefer "Local" cuisine rather than those catering to tourists.
Daily breakfast included, with a good selection of pre-made or made to order choices, was also very nice to have.
It was nice to sit on the balcony to admire the ocean view, but it would be nice to have a small table out there. Also, although coffee is made available for guests (until 10am), I am a big coffee drinker (all day long) so a coffee pot in room would be a nice addition. (Earlier on our trip I did purchase a compact coffee maker to travel with)
Overall though, we loved the place and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view and from our experience it was great. We were not bothered by noise from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPEntJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This review is terribly delayed as we stayed in July 2013, but I'm finally getting around to writing this. Casa Mexicana was just a short walk from the pier and very easy to find. As soon as we walked into our room the smell of smoke was overpowering when we asked for a non-smoking room. We were quickly moved to a different room, which was better until the next afternoon when we noticed the smoke smell was coming from the vents due to other guests not following the no smoking policy. This was neither the hotel's fault or a problem with the room and we were given many options to change rooms. Since we were already settled in and the smell was very periodic we decided to stay and to our surprise the hotel moved us to an ocean front room on the last day of our trip. The breakfast here is amazing! It's a buffet with made to order omeletes and typical mexican chilaquiles. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koahee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. I usually stay at a different hotel with a large group, but when not available,decided to try this hotel after reading other review. The location cannot be beaten as it is right in the downtown(plaza) area, but still faces the ocean. The included breakfast every day had a good selection of fruits, egg dishes, potatoes and other local traditional foods, with made to order grill items(omelets, pancakes or waffles) The cooking and wait staff were great, and took time to chat with you(if you knew a little spanish it was helpful) The desk staff were also very helpful. The rooms were average size, but very clean and bug free. Each room has a small lock box(too small for tablets or laptops), but we never had any problem with the house keeping people either. The only drawback if you are a scuba diver is they have no place other than in the bathtub to rinse off equipment, and no easily accessible docks for boats to pick you up.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentPharo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Cozumel has one side with the shopping and the excursions like snorkeling, diving, etc. This side of Cozumel is not near the beach but walking distance to the ferry and where the Cruises dock. The hotel is 4 blocks to the ferry, great walking distance. The excusions are also walking distance or a cheap cab ride away. This location has plenty of shopping but is not near the beach. The beach is on the other side. If you want to be near the ferry, near the snorel activities for couple of days, and have a great breakfast, and be fairly price, this is the place for you. The breakfast is a buffet with plenty of options, eggs, sausage, bacon, breads, pancakes, juice, cereals, etc, We had so much breakfast we didnt need to have lunch. The hotel also has purified water in the bathroom which is appreciated. The rooms are cookie cutter hotel rooms, decent size, nothing great but not awful either. There were some wierd small ants we found but it wasnt a bug deal. Probably because we were close to the breakfast area. The deck was also a nice toucvh. You can sunbathe here since theres no beach nearby. Overall solid value, I would stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,270 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre calles 5 y 7 | Frente al malecón, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range: £63 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing