We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Loved the staff, my room, the cleanliness, the breakfast, and the location right in town.
I didn't love the spotty wifi, distance & expense to swim/snorkel, lack of drinking water (should be free water cooler available in the hotel).
I found Cozumel to be expensive in comparison to Playa del Carmen and Isla Mujeres.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank ljwtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaCMC, Owner at Casa Mexicana Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest: thank you for your message, we are very happy you stayed with us and we are working very hard on the internet so on your next tripp you have a faster service. Thank you once again for the feedback, because it help us to give a better service to our clients. Have an excellent day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

stayed here over Christmas deciding upon this hotel after reading Tripadvisor, and it was a good choice. The hotel is about 10mins walk from the ferry dock on the main sea front road. Our rooms were really large and were well equipped apart from lack of hair dryer, however we did borrow one from housekeeping for the duration of our stay. Cleanliness is fantastic, so very clean, at any time of day you will find a maid cleaning the public areas. On our one rainy day the porter spent the whole day making sure the floors were clean and dry ,and I mean the whole day! Breakfast was included and offered all you would need - cereals/juices/pastries/toast/lots of different fresh fruits/yoghurt/cheese/olives/a large selection of hot items and eggs cooked any way you could think of (including divorced eggs!) all freshly cooked before your eyes, oh and also pancakes and waffles, hope you are getting the idea! Tea and coffee was brought to the table. Yes they get busy, but Jamie and his colleague quickly find you a table. Jamie has been there many years and is a credit to the hotel. Bar area is small but adequate, but lots of settees/chairs in the lobby area.
The swimming pool is very small, which actually is in your favour as families didn't stay around during the day, sun loungers available, and we never had a problem finding 4 to use!
This is an excellent hotel, very stylish, very clean and very well placed, the only negatives would be the poor quality of the internet connection in the internet room, but it was free, and also one of our rooms, 307, was directly above the breakfast area and the noise and smells started from 7am which may not be to everyone's liking. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bazjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaCMC, Owner at Casa Mexicana Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear guest: it was a delight to here that you had a great experience at Casa Mexicana. Our main porpuse is for you to feel at home. Thank you for sharing your experience to the tripadvisor community and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our winter vacation started off with cancelled flights and a two day delay. Edith at the Casa was so helpful and pleasant. Even though we were unable to arrive on the first day of our reservation, she was very accomodating and helpful. The open air breakfast buffet had many items to choose from and the freshly made omelets were quite tasty, with great oj and good coffee. The rooms are roomy, basic, and clean. The ocean view balconies do have views of the ocean. This is a great place to stay - right downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stay here! This is the cleanest hotel that you will ever stay in. The staff is wonderful. I have made many friends at this property. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The breakfast is delicious. This is where you want to be in Cozumel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedanish45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Not being a fan of all inclusive resorts, Casa Mexicana proved to be an excellent choice for what we wanted to get out of our stay. Incredibly friendly staff, immaculate rooms, and located in the heart if San Miguel. We were diving our entire trip and the dock was located directly across the street and easily accessible, a 2 minute walk. We enjoy exploring the island and eating local, but also had to make early morning dives. Having breakfast included with our room was an excellent compromise. Their breakfast was a surprise, best hotel breakfast I've had. Great variety, made to order options, and fresh juice and fruit. It starts at 7am, so we were able to enjoy our breakfast and easily make it to the dock by 730am for scuba. It was very cheap to upgrade to the ocean front room and worth it just to hear the waves every night. The view is decent, partially blocked by a wall and a cruise ship was constantly docked outside (we were in room 404). Stay off the water front and move further back to enjoy the local food and avoid the slew of tourist shops. We walked everywhere and only used a taxi 2 days out of 8. The one bummer is a lack of a beach, but wasn't a big deal since we were diving everyday. But if you're looking for daily beach access, have a car or be prepared to pay steep taxi prices. Also, the beaches aren't public so choices are limited. If your looking for a clean, simple room in the city- this is your spot. I will be back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank xAngelaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is our 4th time staying here and just have to share it with others.Have never been anywhere so fastidiously clean and the staff are so friendly from the reception to the cleaners and the breakfast could not be bettered and the waiters and chefs so helpful.We stayed 10 nights for the Ironman race once again and we would stay nowhere else!

Room Tip: worth paying little extra for sea front room and ask for top floor as balcony more open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Very clean rooms, excellent staff, close to town and docks for scuba diving. I will definitely stay there again. Free breakfast was included with hotel package. I wish the breakfast hour started earlier. Had to be at dock early for scuba diving and missed taking advantage of the free breakfast a few times.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the ocean are more. But most room views are acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubajim347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
2.0 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#24 of 52 in Cozumel
812 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
688 reviews
2.3 mi away
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre calles 5 y 7 | Frente al malecón, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range: £59 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing