We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Nearby Hotels
US$415
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$296
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$346
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
US$504
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$454
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,247)
Filter reviews
1,247 results
Traveller rating
773
352
70
31
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
773
352
70
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffetcity viewthe breakfast areasmall poolcentral locationrecommend casaan ocean view roomaqua safarirestaurants and shoppingferry pieromeletevery morningyogurtdefinitely stay here againocean frontdive triptown square
Filter
Updating list...
648 - 653 of 1,247 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

If you are coming to Cozumel to dive, do excursions around the island or take in the local culture, Casa Mexicana is the perfect location. Its located right on the main road in the downtown area across from the cruise ship docks. Even with all the commotion outside, the hotel is peaceful, quiet. The staff is incredibly helpful, the breakfast buffet has a lot of good variety and the hotel is very well maintained. The hotel is conveniently located in the middle of all the touristy shops but also near shopping centers (used by the locals and not just tourists off the ships), tons of restaurants, medical facilities and the downtown area where a variety of events and entertainment happens throughout the week.

Honestly we were surprised how great the accommodations were and will gladly come back during future trips to the island.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WearyTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The people at Casa Mexicana are super friendly and very attentive. The room was very clean, the bed nice and comfortable and our deck was great. The breakfast buffet was good as evidenced by how many non guests paid to eat there and it's long lasting, 7-11am. The hotel has a great location and is perfect if you enjoy getting into the local scene. Also great for people watching when those ships come in.

One of the best parts is that the owners have many other businesses, so you get a discount there. Better is that all of their employees are extremely helpful and truly want you to have a wonderful trip. The Pro Dive shop, and Eduardo in particular, made out stay unforgettable.

While my significant other visited by himself last year, this was the first time I've been there. And I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The fifth floor was extremely quite, room 518 has a side and ocean view. Next year we want a front ocean view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a nice hotel, clean, comfortable, nice beds, and a great view from the ocean front rooms. You can sit on your balcony and watch the tour boat action.The location downtown is great and surprisingly quiet at night. The included breakfast was good with lots of choices. On the negative side the wifi was pitiful. More often than not we unable to access our email, and skype was iffy at best. If you want to sleep late you may be disturbed by the rattling of dishes as breakfast is prepared on the second floor common area at 0630.
Wilbur at the information desk out front was very helpful in suggesting resturants,etc.

We would stay here again but would recomend they improve there Wifi

Room Tip: Ocean front worth the extra. Higher rooms have a better view. Avoid the second floor as that is where breakfast is served.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samara_Sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Rating based on comparison with USA hotels -- clean, comfortable, much like Hampton Inn or Holiday Express, with a better breakfast. May be a cut above comparably priced Cozumel hotels. Good location: on the ocean downtown; walk to restaurants, plaza, dive shops. Breakfast features excellent hot (in both senses) potatoes, cooked-to-order eggs (omelets, huevos rancheros, or just fried) but drowned in oil, fresh fruits, cereal, yogurt, etc. I just had yogurt and toast, but I loved the unlimited supply of fresh-squeezed orange juice and the carafe of coffee on the table -- it it's cold you raise your hand and a new pot appears. My "city view room" overlooked somebody's trashy back yard, but I was there for the diving, not the view. Overall, I'll probably go back for my next dive trip.

Room Tip: Stay away from the courtyard overlooking the breakfast area unless you're an early riser. I was on the first floor; the breakfast area is on the second, so I was not disturbed.
Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank MinnesotaNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaCMC, Owner at Casa Mexicana Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por haberse quedado con nosotros. Es un placer haberlos tenido como huéspedes.
Esperamos tenerlos de vuelta pronto.

Thank you so much for staying with us. It was a pleasure serving you. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was our 12 or so trip to Coz but our first time at Casa Mexicana. We were very happy on our choice. We were looking for a place in downtown so that was the primary reason for our choice. While not all inclusive, they have a decent breakfast spread every morning starting at 7am. Eggs, meats, fruits, yogurts, breads, etc.
I guess we're both a little picky about beds and pillows. We found both to be very comfy. Hot, strong showers, a safe, and wi-if in the room....at least it worked in ours. The hotel is super clean and everyone friendly. The lobby deck area isn't overly large, but was never crowded and was a fun place to have a beverage, get some sun, or watch a sunset. If you rent a car, free parking is just around the corner. One small words of warning...inside rooms facing the breakfast area, will get noisy at about 6am with the clanging of pans while they gear up for breakfast. After a couple of mornings of that we asked to move to an outside room, which they happily did with no issue.
We will return soon to the island and will most definitely book at the Casa Mexicana.

Room Tip: Avoid the inside rooms near the 2nd floor breakfast area due to early morning noise from the breakfast prep.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hitdbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaCMC, Owner at Casa Mexicana Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por los buenos comentarios. Esperamos verlo pronto por su Casa, Casa Mexicana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews