We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great Hotel, The place is clean and current. In room WIFI is free. I stayed there while diving with a dive operator. The staff was friendly and eager to please. Your stay includes a breakfast buffet which was pretty good and very convenient. Definitely will stay there again.

Room Tip: Great Downtown place to stay and dive. If your looking for a resort type of place go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hatchetjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Recently spent a few days scuba diving in Cozumel, stayed at the CasaMexicana based on recommendation fro my local dive shop.....Grreat choice, very nice property in downtown Cozumel, close to downtown square and what little nightlife there is there. The rooms are very nice, great air conditioning and proximity to many dive shops. Super staff at the front desk and my room rate (around $79/night included the full breakfast buffet every morning which was really good......I let a dive operation in Cozmel make the hotel arrangements and that was a mistake, since I could have gotten a better rate on my own, I think....don't let any third parties set up dives or hotel rooms for you unless it is a REALLY good deal....but the hotel itself was really nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyboy6554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

this has to be my favorite place to stay when on a dive trip. only breakfast is served but being in town you get to pick where you want to eat dinner at. Gaspar is still tending bar and Jaymie (sp?) is still working the breakfast area. as usual Edith is managing the front desk. I didn't get to stay as long as I would have liked this past trip but there will be a next time.

Room Tip: try for rooms 5001-5004. top front. ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just minutes from the airport, walking distance to the ferry or cruise ship terminal, smack in downtown San Miguel. You can see the ship shape of the hotel from afar.
This is a great hotel for just about everyone visiting Cozumel.
The staff is courteous, welcoming and attentive. The rooms are squeaky clean and the breakfast buffet varied, delicious and abundant.
Jaime is the staff captain and he is a very interesting person, very cultured with a great sense of humor.
The hotel manager, Alberto Ramirez is exceptionally attentive and will help you with anything. So is the rest of the staff.
The hotel is simple in its architecture and the view from the lobby to the sea is just breathtaking!
You see the ocean through an opening that overlooks the pool. A sight to be seen!
Nearby you find all sorts of stores and restaurants, a short walk from the main square and everything this beautiful and paradisiac town has to offer.
Funny fact: Every day the maids make a different animal with towels and leave it on your bed. Nice detail!
If planning a vacation in Cozumel, you have to consider this great hotel.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with ocean view, a tad more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank complexmolecule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A good value for money, if you're going on business. Only breakfast is served, room service take a while due to the restaurant been located 3 blocks away! But no worries, lots of restaurants to choose from in the vicinity. If planning vacation, please don't. For business us very ok.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We're always a little hesitant to book a hotel in a foreign city from the internet, but Casa Mexicana didn't disappoint! It had a great location, though finding the actual entrance and check-in desk was a little difficult. We parked in the free parking lot around the corner (off the main road that runs along the beach) and unfortunately had to drag our own luggage down the street and up the escalator to the front desk, but that is really my only complaint about our stay here. Once we got to the check-in, the employees were very friendly and immediately offered us free fresh apples and two delicious non-alcoholic tropical drinks served in champagne flutes. It was nice and refreshing after our rental car "experience" and having to drag our own luggage in. The front desk area is very large and wide open and at the front of the building (just steps from the desk) is a beautiful in-floor fountain, lots of seating, and then the pool. It sits over top of the street below so that you have a wonderful view of the ocean, but you can't see the street beneath you. It's very nice. Our room was fairly large and very clean. We stayed for 2 nights and had a free breakfast buffet 2 mornings. There was a cooked-to-order omelet station, some fresh fruit, small pastries, and some other things that were all tasty and fresh. Nothing spectacular, but we certainly didn't leave hungry. All in all, a really nice place to stay with friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Obviously, you'll want to ask for a room with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartiBAlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel had a great location, friendly staff, and decent price. We spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. It is ina a fairly quiet area, but is just a short walk from the pier, main plaza, and several great restaurants!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
2 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#23 of 52 in Cozumel
816 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
692 reviews
2.3 mi away
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre calles 5 y 7 | Frente al malecón, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range: £60 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing