We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Casa Mexicana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Casa Mexicana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the CM May 23 - June 1 for the fourth time.
We enjoy the convenience of being down town close to all the good
restaurants and our favorite dive shop. The rooms at CM are large,
comfortable and CLEAN. The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially
Jamie, Santo and our room maid. Someone is cleaning at all hours. The
beds are comfortable and the in room refrigerator and hair dryer are a plus.
Although we didn't get our favorite room at check in, the staff offered to move
us the next day, but we were to 'moved in' to switch. We were so pleased
with the facilities and service that we booked a room for our return trip in
October!

Room Tip: Try upper floors for less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    302
    59
    28
    15
See reviews for
137
475
94
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We loved our room on the top floor, looked out over the water. If you want quieter you can look out over the central courtyard. Our dive pier was a 2 minute walk. Lovely view of cruise ships coming and going. Ease of getting to breakfasts. Loved the breakfast bar with great omelettes or quevos Mexicana, all the wonderful fresh fruit. Just yummy in open setting. Staff was great. We'll go back for dive trips.

If you want to avoid downtown---this ISN'T the place! We loved it.

PS: I put "terrible under fitness" center--can't get it removed. There wasn't one but I wasn't expecting it...just can't get terrible to go away.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

There are pros & cons for this hotel. Beds are very comfortable by Cozumel standards. But hotel has some cons: first, the A/C is turned off from like midnight to 6:00 am. If you turn in around 11:00 pm, you will awaken in a sweat an hour or so later. Second, the pool is only about the size of a kids pool. There is room around it catch some sun. Across the street from the beach, so no sand but good views. Breakfast is provided, but all inclusive is not available.
Close to my dive shoip , But I will probably not stay at this hotel again. Just wasn't a good match for me.

Room Tip: If you insist on soft beds, this is the hotel you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan272983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at Casa Mexicana for the first portion of our trip to be near downtown, snorkeling, and the ferry. Soon after arriving we realized that this close to the water was a little tourist-centric for our taste, but if that is where you want to be, Casa Mexicana is a great option. The rooms are nothing special-- plain but kept clean, and we enjoyed having a patio, even if it just looked out on the rooftops of neighboring buildings! In all, it was a reliable place to crash at the end of a long day. It is pretty close to a Mega, which is very convenient, and since it is on the south end of the tourist strip, it is very easy to get to some fantastic snorkeling locations and other fun activities like Chankanaab. We did not utilize the pool, but it is on an absolutely beautiful deck right next to the hotel bar and has an incredible view of the ocean and the docks.

Okay, now that I have assessed the essentials of the hotel stay, I can RAVE ABOUT THE AMAZING BUFFET BREAKFAST. Apart from the standard pre-cooked buffet offerings like bacon, sausage, cheesy eggs, breakfast nachos, etc. you can get cooked to order omelettes, scrambled egg dishes, waffles, and pancakes. They also have fruit, yogurt, toast, pastries, and OHMYGOD fresh squeezed orange and and grapefruit juice. Jaime is awesome and will come by to make sure you have a full carafe of coffee on the table as well. Amazing. This breakfast definitely gave us the energy to get out and enjoy Cozumel in the sun and humidity... Boyfriend regularly had 2-3 plates of food in front of him in the mornings. I take my breakfast seriously, and this buffet made the stay at Casa Mexicana worth braving the vendors on the waterfront.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed for a quick 3 day 2 night weekend. Pros: value, $50us a night with a FULL breakfast buffet included! Clean/nice size rooms. Huge balcony. Centrally located. Nice little pool on property. Cons: none! This was an excellent place to stay and will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Modern hotel with large rooms, beautiful balcony with ocean view, modern rooms include safe, nice bathroom nicely decorated, wi fi included,great breakfast buffet, pool and bar, excellent value.
Located in the center of town , great for divers and business men alike. Very clean and modern.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room, the balconies are very large with a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a good small hotel clean and with an excellent breakfast.
Now room housekeeping is bad found trash and dirty glasses did not replenish anything. Second day I leave a tip service improved not great.
All we are looking for is basic housekeeping not five star service basic cleaning !! management get with the program your housekeeping staff will bring this wonderful hotel down . Next time we are staying somewhere else.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fer19710514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
10.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,720 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing