We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Tropea, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always a great experience.”
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Just got back from a week at the Casa Mexicana in Cozumel. This was our 4th visit. The good news is that nothing much has changed. We have always appreciated the clean modern feel of the hotel. The breakfast buffet continues to be a banquet that has something new and interesting every day. They continue to use white cloth napkins and table cloths. All of this maintained by the same congenial staff. The cleaning staff continue to amaze with their towel creatures. Every day when you return to your room, you will find a new towel creature waiting for you. The only change we noticed was that the rooms have been updated with large flat screen televisions.

The hotel is within walking distance of many dive operators. It is only a few short steps to hop on the boat with Aqua Safari. Thanks to tripadvisor, we were able to locate a number of great new restaurants that are also within walking distance. If you are in Cozumel, you need to plan at least one evening at the Kinta restaurant. The new restaurants are as good as anything you can find in the Caribbean.

This is not a beach hotel and not a pool hotel. If you are looking for a place with sand and a beach, this is not it. We love to dive every day and come back to the hotel to relax. All of the rooms come with comfortable balconies. If you get an ocean-view room, your balcony is the perfect place to relax in the afternoon. Not too much sun, so it does not get hot. If you can get a room on the top floor, you have the best place in the city to watch the sunset. Add a little wine and you have a very romantic spot at about 5:30.

The only criticism would be the internet service. They do have a computer room off the main lobby. There is good wifi in the lobby. They have added wifi transmitters on every floor but with limited success. I was able to connect to email in the room but had trouble getting online most of the time. They seem to continue to improve their service so maybe next year I will be able to get email on my touch while drinking a cold Sol beer on the balcony.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keefe506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    307
    62
    28
    16
See reviews for
145
491
98
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We stayed Dec. 10 - 20 at Casa Mexicana. We stayed in an ocean view room - room #501 - which was on the top floor and was the best room in the building. The breakfast buffet was fantastic, although we are divers so we ate light every morning and didn't take full advantage of the buffet. The selection was very good. Room was very clean; bed was very comfortable. The pool is very small, but we spent several hours a day diving, so really had no need to use the pool other than to cool off. No complaints at all about this hotel and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. We loved it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McIntyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

planned this trip for a few months, dates were 27 Dec 09 to 1 Jan 10. Stayed at the Casa Mexicana, it is a hotel in the city limits, it is an average hotel but clean and good service. It is NOT a resort hotel. the breakfast buffet is great, everything is fresh. recommend getting an ocean front/view. The only reason to go to cozumel is to dive. We took two days to dive, we (me & my 16 yr old daughter) are not certified, so we went to a half day "discover" SCUBA and then went the next day out to two reefs in a boat. It was great. We went to Blue Magic (on calle 4), it was just us, good exp.
The last full day we took the ferry to Playa del Carmen and took a private taxi to TULUM (Mayan ruins) it is a about a 30-40 min drive and a must see. Otherwise a lot of shopping and looking around. Resturants: Pepes is a good Dinner exp, and the Palmerias near the plaza is great too. I was surprised that prices were decent. On the bad side Cozumel is a cruise ship port and there are from 2 to 6 ships that stop there a day, not a big issue for me but it is a busy place. I think next time we will stay in playa del carmen and take the ferry to cozumel to dive. Playa del carmen seemed to have more to do, but Cozumel was worth the time and $$.
The ugly: If you use one of the hundreds of tour planners (which is a good idea) and go to the "main land", if they ask you to take a visit to a resort hotel in playa del carmen and offer you a hefty discount---DO NOT TAKE IT - JUST SAY NO. It is a sales pitch for a time share and they are very aggressive. We did it and regret it, they gave us over half off our trip to Tulum to go visit a resort hotel and listen to a 90 min pitch, it was hell and almost ruined our whole day, that was our only bad exp. I would of paid the full cost of the trip not to have to gone through that, and it really upset my wife...what more needs to be said.

Helpful?
Thank PMBINAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

The rooms are large, excellent considering we had all our diving equipment along and spread everywhere to dry out. The oceanview balcony is totally private and spacious, the sunsets are amazing. The checkin, concierge, and maid service were all solid as expected - and when we had a mishap with our credit cards, the front desk gladly helped us for hours at translating and arranging for cash to be wired in. A large foyer on floor 2 has a free internet lounge, a small bar, and some suntan lounge chairs. Very social, a good spot for meeting travelers and learning the low down. The hotel is right beside the cities shopping / nightlife area, but not "in it" so nice and quiet. The breakfast buffet was included, and was better than most all-inclusive resorts will offer (smoked salmon, steak, custom omelets, eggs benedict, fresh fruit, outstanding coffee). Given the rate we paid, the room we got, and then this breakfast, we felt momentarily guilty, and tipped very well. The only bad thing I can say is that the escalators never worked, and our luggage was difficult to lug in and out, and this apparently is always the case. They need to fix this. Otherwise excellent, you wont go wrong booking this one.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanuckRenegade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2009

location is nice. we got partial oceanview away from the road so it was quite and not as noisy as some of the rooms close to the road would have been. we checked in at noon and a service request (about the safe in the room) was promptly handled. when we arrived the checkin guy couldn't find our reservation so he asked us to print confirmation using the business center - not a big deal. Room was clean and good size. breakfast next morning was great.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemant_Saraswat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

We had a bit of a frosty reception when we arrived. We were told to go away and print out the Expedia booking confirmation and come back. I told her I had the reservation number, but that wasn't good enough.

When we returned we were dealt with in a polite, but curt manner.

Thankfully the rest of the staff were a credit to the hotel.

It was clean and super-central with a great breakfast. The restaurant manager - Jaime? was a credit to the hotel and his profession.

Our parents had a great time there and made up for a pretty rubbish weekend of weather.

The beds were the best though!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Checkunderthebed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We stayed here the first week on December 2009, as we planned to explore the island a little. We had just come off a all inclusive and so where excited to be on our own.

We where MORE than plesantly suprised by the Casa Mexicana. the room was amazing, we got a beach view. and because of the shape of the hotel the balconies where completely private. Such a nice touch!

We had our credit cards stolen the second day, and Edith at the front counter helped us immensly in our search for a 'Moneygram' place where we could get some emergency cash. we couldn't have done it without her! She's truely a star!!

It was clean and the breakfast buffet was fantastic. We will be back and we are bringing our extended families!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanditTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
10.6 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
3.1 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing