We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“safe, clean, honest”
Review of Hotel Pepita

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pepita
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
breckenridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“safe, clean, honest”
Reviewed 7 March 2008

I've stayed here dozens of times. Cheap, clean, and honest. Lost $300.00 cash in room, house keeper found it 2 days later under bed and placed it on end table. Gave her $100.00 for her honesty. This family is very friendly, help you with what ever. With thousands in dive gear honesty and safety go a long way. close to town and local markets. go back one block to the market for fresh OJ and other juice, fruit. Enjoy!

  • Liked — stay cheap, save money and come back often
  • Disliked — no ocean view
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mexmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    23
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
8
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2007

if you want a cheap place to stay, this is definitly it! i only saw other mexicans staying here- its more in town, no pool, just the basics. for $35 a night, its a steal!!! it's clean and the people are very friendly and you are close to everything you could need. i dont spend much time at the hotel, just to sleep and for that, its more than enough.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank iheartcozumel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2007

Pepita is very clean, has powerful a/c and has a great location. While it's not beachfront, it is a great place to stay for people who like to mix it up with the locals. Close to great restaurants like la Choza and Los Otates, close to good shopping, and really, only like three blocks from the beach. It was only $35/night, which made it possible to do things like rent a car and drive to the other side of the island.

Staff is very friendly and low key. Highly recommend if you're the type who goes on vacation to wander away from the hotel. I did stay my last night in Cozumel at a beachside resort (cost five times as much), but that allowed me to also have the relaxing atmosphere of the resort beach...

  • Liked — cost
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nelliebly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2007

I stayed May 7-10 2007 in a double room midway back on the first floor. The room is basic but functional and tidy. Not much room for storing things so one needs to consolidate.

Bathroom is somewhat austere with precious little shelf-space. Does have a TV with satellite for some English programs, e.g. CNN, Headline News, etc.

Bath towels are somewhat rough and stiff (Laundy is done by hand) and there were not facecloths so consider bringing that and any special linens you are comfortable with.

The mattreses are too firm for me so I initially had trouble sleeping. There is some street noise but if you run the AC for white noise or where spong ear plugs like I do it will abate the sound.

The staff is very congenial and I felt safe there since anybody who enters the property must go passed the front desk.

My stay for one person was 390 pesos or about $39 a night.

Proximity to dining, downtown plaza and internet cafes make it a great location so you needn't take a taxi.

Popular stay for divers, you will see many around the property. They have a coffee bar set up every morning.

I would stay here again. I don't recommend it for families.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — Mattresses too firm and lack of space in bathroom
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StoneyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2006

Stayed at the Hotel Pepita for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. Our room (and I assume all others) had 2 double beds, ceiling fan, air conditioning, mini fridge, cable TV and private bathroom with shower. The rooms were very clean and we did not see a single bug the whole time. The rooms do not have phones, but the front desk will take any messages for you. There are also a few internet/telephone shops within a 2 minute walk that have rates to Canada and the US for 40 cents a minute.
For $30 a night, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2006

This was my first of three trips to Cozumel in a 2- year span of time in which I stayed each time at this hotel. The rooms are clean and safe. The staff are friendly and helpful. Although there are no phones in the room, the staff does retrieve you when you receive a phone call at the hotel. They have even kept my belongings safe in a storage room when I have traveled to the mainland for a couple of days. I highly recommend this hotel which is centrally located. There are small refrigerators in the rooms to keep cold drinks.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank northColoradochica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2005

recommended by a dive master over others he might have received a commission for, I was very pleased with the cleanliness, service and security. It was a very pleasant experience and what a "bang" for the buck. Also located just the right distance from the activity and the water.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Srogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#21 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermanos Aguilar
Hotel Hermanos Aguilar
#42 of 51 in Cozumel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bello Caribe Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Marques
Hotel El Marques
#41 of 51 in Cozumel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Agave Azul
Hotel Agave Azul
#39 of 51 in Cozumel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Casona Real
Hotel La Casona Real
#35 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pepita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pepita

Property: Hotel Pepita
Address: Calle 15 sur 120, Cozumel 77660, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Pepita Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing