We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good - But Not Great. Not worth a special trip from town.”
Review of El Camaron Dorado

El Camaron Dorado
Ranked #145 of 370 Restaurants in Cozumel
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good - But Not Great. Not worth a special trip from town.”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

After reading all of the reviews on here about how great El Camaron Dorado is, I just had to try it on my recent vacation. It was hard to find and Google maps didn't help much. It's located outside of town on the Transversal road that heads to the other side of Cozumel. It's not open for dinner- just for lunch. So the food was good, but it wasn't as great as everyone on here seems to think. There are plenty of other options in town that are just as good. If you're heading to the other side of the island and it's on the way then it's worth a stop, but I wouldn't make a special trip to go there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    13
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Local Place”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We often order for take out and take this place for granted.Open to the public,but mostly a local hangout.All are welcome.It is located on the Transversal main road to the other side of the island,but not far from the main tourist area.Resonable prices and great seafood dishes of all types.Love the shrimp tacos,and add your favorite mild to extra hot Chile & Spice.Enjoy

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shrimp Among The Best”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just as their name says, it's the shrimp. Grilled Shrimp and Garlic. We have tried numerous shrimp entrees and have loved them all but this was our favorite. Real nice Mexican feel to this restaurant with friendly staff. They don't have alcohol but we just went down the block and bought a couple of beers to enjoy with our meal as we sat outside and watched the world go by on the busy road in front of us. Loved it!! Good Tacos too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfie360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Tacos and Tartas”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stop there twice this Febuary. The shrimp tacos and tartas are awesome. The service is also great and the place is very attractive. They don't serve beer but you can take a soft drink. Don't let this stop you to try this woundefull restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Muffin_Bergeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyer, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stopped here for lunch on our way to the airport to head home. Wish we had found it sooner. Talk about authentic. If you don't know Spanish, you will be guessing at what you get, but the 4 of us we were adventurous and every one of us loved our meal. They don't serve alcohol here, but have tasty lemonade (If you can figure out which beverage says lemonade)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank almarie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Camaron Dorado also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Camaron Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing