We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Taco's!”
Review of Diego's

Diego's
Ranked #9 of 379 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: Welcome to our Family run Restaurant, serving up great dishes from the heart! Family Run and Owned. We are always serving authentic tacos. Located in the heart of Cozumel close to the Airport. Please come and visit us for a true and unique experience. Diego's is part of the Cozumel dream.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy Taco's!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Started our trip off right by visiting Diego's Taco's! Diego's is located right across the street from airport. Eric is wonderful who was our waiter and had a big smile when we walked in. Salsa is amazing...Fish & Shrimp Taco's are just a treat and price is right (Roughly $8-10 USD for 3 tacos). Try their spicy garlic sauce!

Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    30
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Our last meal before headed home... Will be our first next time!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were headed out to go home and wanted one last Cozumel novelty.. So we decided to swing by. The woman serving was so sweet and very quick! Best shrimp tacos I have probably ever had. Homemade corn tortillas were a bonus! She peeled, divined and lightly battered the shrimp with love. And that habanero sauce... Killer. Can't wait to come back just for these tacos!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_chose_techno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss the "blue tarp" experience”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Cozumel is our favourite island destination and no trip is complete without at least two visits to Diego's. Located across the street from the airport entrance, it is the first place we go after we land, and the last place we go before takeoff.I say "visit" because going to Diego's is more than eating a tasty, local meal. Please don't let the informal, roadside setup fool you - the food is authentic and terrific. Everything is good, but we especially like the shrimp tacos and guacamole. Diego's wife does wonders from the confines of her little trailer, and her daughters are gracious servers. If Eric is not in class at the local college, he's pitching in too. The local taxi drivers and many ex-pats who eat here on a regular basis can't be wrong. Although Diego is no longer with us, our memories of this charming, friendly and curious gentleman will stay with us for a lifetime. If you like simple, tasty local food, and want to support a hardworking family business, make a point of eating at Diego's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canuck4lifeVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go after arriving and you will return before leaving”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This little gem is outside the airport, a quick and easy 3 minute walk with or without bags. We stopped when we arrived. Got Guac, fish and shrimp tacos. They were so fresh and so good that we had to return on our way off the Island. And we got the same thing! That is how good it was, not that I didn't want to try anything else, but the freshness of the fish and shrimp was so awesome we needed it again before heading home. The one draw back is no beer or liquor.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JOHN_a_2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladoga, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You got to try this place!!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Drove over here for lunch with my wife,Got her to try it,from the first bite. had her hooked . We had fish,shrimp,and beef taco never in my 67years have I eaten as good and simple as this

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diego's also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Diego's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing