We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual dive trip to Cozumel and La Ceiba”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Annual dive trip to Cozumel and La Ceiba”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We just returned from another great trip to Cozumel -- superb diving, pleasant weather, and excellent service at La Ceiba. La Ceiba is a mid-sized resort hotel that's big enough for complete services yet not one of the huge impersonal resorts that have sprung up in the last few years on Cozumel. The hotel is very comfortable with large, air-conditioned rooms that all face the water and a full-service restaurant right on the water facing the spectacular sunsets. It's a couple of miles south of San Miguel, but the taxi fare into town is only $7US or so for two or three people. The hotel and grounds are spotless. The hotel is next to the cruise ship pier, which adds some interest to the skyline.

The real highlight of the hotel for us is the staff. Everyone from housekeepers and waiters to managers is dedicated to ensuring that the guests enjoy their stay. These are career employees that we see every year, and they are genuinely interested in their guests' well-being. Even grounds keepers and maintenance people always have a cheery greeting and they seem eager to answer questions or help the guest however they can. The general manager takes a personal interest in every detail and can be seen at all hours checking up on things or mingling with the guests.

We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diver_Denny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    509
    241
    92
    69
See reviews for
479
738
57
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cozumel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Beware of the traps. Do not allow yourself to fall for the tour my ressort and we will give you gifts with no obligation to purchase! These people are relentless and do not know when to accept "NO" as answer. They become rude when you do not cuccumb to their demands. They will serve you only if you "Show them the Money". Afterall we are foreigners coming to vacation in their country therefor you must have money and you need to support them and their families. Now as far as the accomodations....The sewer smell particularly in the bathrooms are to die for, literally. The musty air condition system will set your allergies to a blaze or if you don't necessarily have any allergies you will acquire them before you leave. The food quality is nothing I would recommend a friend to and the prices are high. You are better off eating off the property. I could go on and on but I can leave you with this...if you want to travel to Cozumel, it is a great location but find another place to stay.

Room Tip: You can ask before you arrive and be friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PiperCozumel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Dear Sir or Madam,

We are very sorry you found your stay with us less than perfect. As you can see from most of our reviews, our guests find El Cid la Ceiba to their liking. We hope we can serve you again soon and we will correct those problems you encountered.

Sincerely,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel once before in the newer section and had a great time. This time they put us in the older part and it was horrible. They use very dim lighting, so it makes it hard to read, our refrigerator leaked water the whole time we were there. The air conditioner vent blows directly on to the bed, and there is no way to change it. The shower has no shelf for shampoo or soap, the bathroom has no towel rack. Although the maid service was acceptable, they must drag a dirty mop across the floors, as our feet or socks were black on the bottom from walking on the room's floor. Parking lot at hotel is extremely small for the number of guests.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, please request the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skig8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Dear Sir or Madam,

We apologize for the lack of service that you experienced on some areas, we will use your feedback to reinforce those areas
If you ever reconsider visiting our resort again I assure you a perfect stay without any mishaps

Thank you again for your opinion and for your preference.

Sincerely,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This is resort it the BEST place to stay in Cozumel. The staff is wonderful and the resort of very clean. Food is EXCELLENT. You will not regret. I will be back with my mom and some of her friends. 1ST CLASS RESORT in Cozumel!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eloi20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your preference and your kind review. We are very glad you found El Cid la Ceiba to your liking, and even more so to know that you will come back again soon.

We can’t wait to welcome you again in your home away from home.

Sincerely,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I would like to thank everyone at the El Cid for an amazing and truly unforgettable stay. My husband and I spent 10 days there for our wedding and honeymoon which both took place at the El Cid. Our wedding was everything we could have ever hoped for and not a single detail was left out or overlooked. Our wedding planner Roberto was phenomenal!! He spent our entire wedding day with us making sure that everything was perfect! I truly can't thank him enough and will definitely miss him the most :)!! Special thanks to our photographer Cynthia as well! She is an outstanding photographer and such a pleasurable warm person to spend your special day with. We recently received our prints from her and were more than impressed with how well our pictures turned out! They are truly breathtaking and we couldn't be happier!!
As for our stay, everything was perfect from the moment we arrived. The staff members were very friendly and the service was exceptional. We really enjoyed karaoke nights with Cain and also the pleasure of being served by William and Eli to name a few. The food and beverages were wonderful as well. We had a great ocean view from our balcony and the rooms were always clean with a nice towel animal awaiting us! This is by far the best resort on the island and I hope that we can go back again soon! Thank you again to everyone at El Cid for an amazing stay and for the unforgettable memories that we will cherish for years to come!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DB317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your excellent review and your recent stay with us at El Cid la Ceiba. We are very happy to know that we were able to provide you with the wedding of your dreams, and that your stay was fun and relaxing. I’ll be sure to forward this comment to our staff who will be delighted to see they made your stay even better.

We hope to see you again very soon, perhaps for your first anniversary?

Sincerely,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

The only good thing about this hotel was the grounds were nice. The food was terrible. We asked many times where were the nightlife places to go and we went and they were closed. . We even asked the concierge were to go for Jeweler and he gave us a business card written special discount and off we went in the cab and the place never existed! There was supposed to be activities at this hotel and there were none. We were extremely disappointed and will never return. A waste of money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Warlock2988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Dear Sir or Madam,

We are very sorry you didn’t find our hotel to your liking. Unfortunately during low season, a lot of businesses on the Island don’t remain open or close very early, so that’s probably why you couldn’t find the places you were looking for. We hope you come again and let us serve you as you deserve.

Sincerely,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Hotel and staff was excellent. Had a great time and will definately return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wlums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your patronage and your kind review. We are very happy to know you found El Cid la Ceiba to your liking, and can’t wait to welcome you again with open arms so we can pamper you even more.

Sincerely,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
5.8 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
458 reviews
7.8 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#22 of 52 in Cozumel
4,571 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Property: El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4. 5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing