We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 12 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Booked using Wyndham points. Great SAFE location, cruise ships, snorkeling in crystal clear water, beach chairs, Clean rooms and Great, Friendly Staff. Shopping and restaurants (Ernesto's breakfast, Paprika BLD) within walking distance. Excellent food La Chopa El Cid restaurant, did not do all inclusive except last day. Great Staff; Maria front desk, maid Marcellina, Benicio waiter. Activities, energetic Casper and Gustavo highlight snorkel tour El Cid to reef 1000s of fish. Lots of fish closer to El Cid. Dive boats pick up here. 80 peso Taxi ride to town. Rent car 1day enough to see pretty island. Sunday no cruise ships. We will Return!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RichDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for this amazing review about our property, clean rooms , great staff and facilities and the most important for everyone we have a safe location.
I will share this with all our staff and hoping to welcome you back very soon and thank you for this marvelous comment.

Cordially
Andres Maillard
general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 1,862 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

We just had a fabulous day at El Cid. Our group of about 40 worked through Roberto in Catering. He set up the Lagoon as a private party area for us. We arrived at 10 o'clock and left around 4 p.m. We had a terrific buffet lunch of grilled chicken, ribs, fish and veggies, salad, and desserts to die for! Open bar and waiters that anticipated our every want! We had lounge chairs and tables both in the sun and the shade. Our friends' son had his wedding and reception here a year earlier and had highly recommended it! They didn't disappoint!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ramona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Visitors:

We want to thank you for choosing our property to spent this special day with us. And we feel very satisfied to read that you had a fabulous time and you liked our variety buffet lunch.
Hoping to have you back soon for another great time.


Cordially
Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent a week in Cozumel at the El Cid La Ceiba Resort. We are owners of vacation club points with El Cid, that can be used with El Cid resorts as well as RCI and Wyndham. For a January trip, being from PA, we wanted a warm place. We decided to try Cozumel and use our points. Cozumel is a small island and is known primarily for it's beautiful waters, scuba diving and snorkeling. El Cid La Ceiba Beach was nice. It was clean. The staff responded to our problems promptly- leaking from shower/bath above ours into our shower bath , small bugs in some cabinets in kitchen area, and broken DVD player in the room. There was a guy who said he was a manager, but we think his job was actually to try to sell members more vacation club points, or recruit new buyers...anyway, based on our experience at other resorts, he didn't know the simple amenities of this property very well. Many places have a few shelves with games or books or DVDs to check out, -when I went to the desk to ask, before the woman at the desk could answer, he and a fellow sales guy said I'd need to go to Blockbuster 2or 3 miles up the road to get a DVD. They walked away and the woman at the desk said we DO have some DVDs back here. VERY FEW, but I chose one.
We arrived on a Saturday in a light rain, half of Sunday was nice, then started the rain and high winds. Now the resort is certainly NOT responsible for the weather, but, it would've been nice if they had some plan of activities to do inside the lobby or in restaurant, as it was rarely crowded.We had Sunday afternoon through Tuesday of high winds and heavy rains. We took a cab into the town in the evenings, which is quaint, and ate at some good restaurants. There were some good restaurants in Cozumel, The Mission Restaurant (we ate at 2 locations and the menu was the same and both were very good), Guido's Italian Restaurant was good, and Coconuts (which is at the end of the island and sits up high overlooking the ocean) which had Mexican food plus other things. That being said, there is an all inclusive option at El Cid La Ceiba Beach, and their food was very good and the restaurant staff very nice. We just like to see what's around the area. On Wednesday and Thursday there was still rain, but it would stop and start. So we rented a car to drive around and get a flavor for the area. Thursday evening after dinner we came back to the hotel to find they were playing the Pirates of the Caribbean in the lobby and offered popcorn. We watched and enjoyed it. That was an easy activity for staff, but it was the first activity in 5 days of rain, other than having a ping pong table in the lobby, that was available. They have a small room with some exercise equipment, not all in good condition (only 4 or 5 pieces of equipment and free weights) . The island is very flat so if the weather was amenable, walking and running along the sidewalks would be very nice. A number of Cruise ships dock next to this property so you can watch those pulling in and out daily. Our housekeeper was lovely, They clean very thoroughly, make cute little creatures with the towels, and are friendly. There are plenty of pillow choices on the bed or that you can request. If you like a VERY firm bed, you will be comfortable here. The beds were extremely firm in both rooms, a king bed and 2 queen beds. There are some nice pools on the property. there is a spa which we didn't use either. We were told that to have laundry done at the hotel is expensive so we found a laundrymat down the road, and the lady does the laundry, folds it, and you pick it up a few hours later. She did a great job and was very reasonable.
We had a beautiful last full day ! Approximately 80 degrees, went to a beach to snorkle and swim with the dolphins!! Amazing!! That spot was called Chankanaab! Worth the time to go spend the day. All in all, I'd rate El Cid La Ceiba as average, better for adults or older families, no play ground for kids and if weather is bad, you are stuck in your room! If you can take a last minute trip, check the weather , and you fish, snorkel or scuba dive, it will satisfy all your needs as a hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your recent stay and for taking the time to leave a review for us. We truly appreciate our guest's feedback.
I was happy to hear that your stay was so pleasant, and that you had the opportunity to really enjoy the facilities and amenities that we offer. It was our honor to serve you, and we appreciate your recommendation for the followers of Trip Advisor. Also we already took notes on details you had mentioned in order to fix and change.
We definitely look forward to serving you again next year, and pamper yourself one more time on this your home away of home .
Cordially
Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This was my second trip to Cozumel. My friend and I stayed at El Cid for 11 nights. We paid for a one bedroom suite on Expedia. The first 7 days we were in the older building and we stayed in two different rooms in that building and they both were bad. The first room we got smelled STRONGLY of mould and my allergies acted up right away. I ended up getting a cold because the room was so wet and ended up diving with a cold. Coughing into your regulator at 100 feet is not a pleasant experience. That first day, we asked to get a room in the new tower building but were told by Maria that they were "full". I didn't believe her because the hotel didn't seem busy so I looked up the hotel on Expedia and every single room type was available for that night AND the nights afterwards. I showed her the webpage and she still claimed the hotel was full and she couldn't move me. I was amazed that she would give such a bold faced lie and repeat it. When I got into bed that first night, the sheets were damp! The room didn't get enough ventilation so everything: the couch cushions, floors, bed were damp all the time. No wonder it was mouldy! The next day I spoke to another woman at the front desk and explained I was there for scuba diving and I couldn't risk getting congested so could she please move us to the new tower? Again, I was told no, they were "full" but they did have one room available on another floor of the old building. So.... they were full but had a room available??? What? We moved to the other room, which was only slightly less damp/mouldy. Another BIG problem for us was that the older building was right behind the big speakers that blared dance music from 10-5pm everyday. The speakers were literally 10 steps from our porch so you can imagine how loud the music was. So after a morning of diving, if you wanted to sit and read and listen to the sound of the waves, forget it! If you wanted to take an afternoon nap, forget it! Not with that music blaring. There were a couple nights were they had karaoke by the pool, which again was close to the older building so we had to listen to other people's terrible singing.

After a week of staying in the old building and after asking many times to be moved to the tower, we were finally moved to a one bedroom suite in the tower. The difference between the tower rooms and the older building rooms are night and day! The tower units are 100 times better. No mould, proper ventilation, no loud blaring music, more contemporary/updated decor, much better views, better water pressure and TWO bathrooms. In the older building, you only get one. The price of a one bedroom suite in both buildings is the same but the new building is just so much better. Another difference between the buildings is the lock box to store your valuables in the older building comes with a lock that they give you and if you lose it, you owe them $50 USD. The lock box in the old building isn't even big enough for a 13 inch Macbook Air, so it was useless to use. The room in the newer tower had a lock box that was digital, so no need for an actual lock that costs $50 and the box fit my laptop.

We ate a few times at the restaurant and the first time the server forgot my drink. Another time I had the made-to-order pasta and it was cold. I had to take it back to the cook. The taste was mediocre. When I sat at the bar, the service was good.

The hotel has decent facilities like a life-sized chess board, tennis court, pool, gym etc. I feel like the hotel caters more to the day-pass people from the cruise ships than to the hotel guests.

The cleaning staff were great.

In terms of location, its great if you want the touristy, expensive stores around you but I'd rather stay in the downtown area so you are in walking distance of everything. If you wanted to walk to downtown from El Cid, it would take about 45-60mins. A cab costs 80 pesos ($8) each way.

The WIFI in the common areas is terrible and slow. It is non-insistent when the day-pass cruisers are onsite.

Would I stay here again? No. Not after the blatant lies from the front desk and terrible experience in the old building. If we had never been in the old building, this might have been a very different review.

Room Tip: Stay in the newer tower or you'll regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkpowerofone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write this review. We are really sorry for not reaching your expectations; although we never want to learn that a guest has had a not a good experience, comments such as yours allow us to take an honest look at our operations and make necessary improvements.
Hoping to give us another opportunity to change your perspective, please contact me directly at amaillard@elcid.com.mx and I will Personally take care of you.

Cordially
Andrés Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This resort is part of a vacation club, You will be ask to sit thru a 90 minute presentation about why you should invest in this resort. You can decline. The resort has two cruise ships piers just off the sea wall. The only day that there will not be a ship using one of the piers is Sunday. The resort sell day passes for the use of the facilities at the resort to cruise ship passengers. So most days the place gets busy at 10AM with the influx of cruise passengers. They get the full attention of the resort staff during the time that they are there.
We had a room in the tower. Some mornings we were awaken by cruise ship PAs.
The room AC unit was mounted over the bed, we found it best to shut it off so that we did not have it blowing on us at night. We also found it best to shutoff the in suite refrigerator. When it cycle on it would bang.
There are bars and restaurants in the area if the prices at the resort scare you. The resort gives you two bottled waters, There is a convenience store outside of the resort where you can purchase more. There are just two elevators that serve the tower, and each can handle just three people. Four can be done but it is going to be tight.
We enjoyed are visit to Cozumel. We walked all over the place and were at ease all of the time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank business-traveler-Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your time writing this review in which you share your recent experiences in our hotel and the island.
Hoping to welcome you back on a near future.

Sincerelly
Andrés Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We booked 3 one bedroom units through Wyndham and had great space for our warm post Christmas family get together. While it is removed a bit from the town ($8 taxi ride into town and grocery store) the location was fine and the snorkeling is right there. We had lots of rain and a tropical storm (unusual) so did not get to do as much in water activities as we had hoped. Staff was great, everything was cleaned constantly. With one trip into town to the Mega Store for groceries we were able to do most meals in our units. The grocery at the resort has basics and was a bit more expensive but we were fine. Right next to cruise ship port and they were fun to look at but streets got crowded. Not great beach weather so not sure if the resort gets crowded if cruisers come to hang but we had lots of space and chairs. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank rollinstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Wonderful tile pool with swim up hot tub to the bar! Great tacos, beer and piña coladas! Staff is attentive and free internet! There's even a beach and some good snorkeling!

Thank Pamspadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.3 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,130 reviews
1.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#23 of 52 in Cozumel
812 reviews
5.8 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4. 5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £69 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing