We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here last week after having stayed just next door at the Park Royal three times within the last year. We decided to give it a try after talking with some people who had stayed at the El Cid for several weeks, then switched to the Park Royal.
First, let me say we are both employed shoreside in the cruise industry so we loved watching the ships coming in and out on a daily practically in your front yard. If you are looking for an unobstructed view of the ocean, this place is NOT for you. Crew and ship guests also frequent this resort by purchasing day passes. This did not overcrowd the resort.

This resort is an older hotel but very, very clean. We stayed in the tower on the 9th floor and had an incredible view, along with a king size bed. If you travel to Cozumel often, you know that king size beds are not easy to come by. Also had a huge bathtub with extremely hot water. Perfect! I would say the average age of guests staying at this hotel is 55 and older, which is fine with us. Nice pool and beach area with plenty of lounge chairs. Steps that you can walk down to get into the ocean.

I will say that the best part of this resort is the FOOD! We purchased the elite AI plan. If you stay 5 nights or longer, this means you can order ANYTHING off of the menu! Yes, I said menu. The only buffet is served at breakfast, although you can order off of a breakfast menu as well. This includes, shrimp, steak, lobster and premium beverages, including bottles of wine. We only stayed four nights so the lobster was not included. However, we did enjoy wonderful grilled NY strips the night of the beach BBQ and great other steaks and shrimp at almost every other meal. We did the elite plan because we did not want to be limited on our menu selections, which would be just chicken and fish. The shrimp empanadas appetizer on the dinner menu was sooo good! The fajitas, guacamole and pico di gallo were perfect as well. The servers on the beach were fantastic! However, the servers in the restaurant could use improvement. I'm not sure if this was because they were short-handed. We did have several meals were the service was okay, but for the most part it was slow. This really didn't affect us, as we were on vacation and not in a hurry. We usually eat out several times during our visits to Cozumel but NOT this time! The food was just too good to miss here at the resort.

You are a 30-mt walk to town, which is perfect, as we walked into town each morning to walk off all of the f & b we consumed.
Free wi-fi in public areas is also a plus, as at the Park Royal they charge for the wi-fi.

We will definitely return to this resort!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher levels in the tower have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamiF346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest:
We want to thank you for sharing this wonderful Words, It was a pleasure to read how you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thanks for confirm that our food is one the best from the area, all of this can’t be possible without the excellent job from our staff. Our target is to meet your travel expectations and make you feel at home away from home.

Looking forward to welcome you back again on this beautiful paradise.

Cordially
Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,862 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

We paid for a jr. suite with an in room jacuzzi and ocean view. Upon check in they did not have our suite. They gave us the only room they had which was a 3 room suite. The problem was the 3 rooms were not connected...they were 3 separate room with no connecting doors. No jacuzzi and the ocean view was blocked by a tree and the restaurant room. It was the same as having a standard room since the additional "2 rooms" as part of the "suite" were useless to us. They refused to refund any money, gave us incorrect information about the ferry departure time and then charged $2 to call the taxi company for us.

Room Tip: Do not expect anything out of the management of this property. Morning front desk personnel should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest.
On behalf of Hotel El Cid La ceiba we want to thank you for your recent review, and for let us know our remarks to your experience, I'm glad to receive a feedback from our customers whether there positive or negative as it helps us to improve our service and strengthen our areas.

It surprise me to read that we did not we were unable to meet your expectations in our Hotel, I took note of each one of your inconvenience to make them reach each one of the departments involved and take the necessary measures to avoid this from happening again.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon and change your perspective.

Cordially
Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is our 6th time at La Ceiba. All staff are extremely friendly, helpful and professional, particularly the folks at the front desk. Food and drinks are excellent---much improved over last year. Location is on the water with a very nice lounging beach and excellent snorkeling. Water access is by stairs. Rooms are spotless and in excellent shape. Most have great views of the ocean. The all inclusive plan is a great value. For us, best location and value in Cozumel.

Room Tip: Better view with the higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madgolfer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest:

On behalf of El Cid la Ceiba staff, I want to thank you for this amazing review and for choosing for the 6th occasion our beautiful property for vacationing.

It’s pleasant to read that you were able to enjoy all of our services food, drinks , snorkeling, locations , views of the ocean and the most important feature for us are the services of our employees these makes the difference and the better value of our property.

Thank you again and we ready to welcome you back on your 7th, visit with arms wide open.

Cordially
Andres Maillard
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My family enjoyed a pleasand week at La Ceiba on Cozumel. It is a well-run and fairly typical older time share hotel and very comfortable and if this were all I had to say, I would not be writing this review. The "fairly typical" ended when we entered the restaurant. In one of our sidetrips, I had heard about a local Mayan egg dish called "huevos motulenos(with a tilda)" and I asked one of the staff who had been present at most of our meals if the kitchen could make this for me. He replied that he was sure that it could be done and 15 minutes later we had three plates of the most wonderful breakfast ever. The dining room staff were all very gracious, the iced tea fresh and located right on the waterfront - great vacation. PS: I do not recommend the "90 minute tour" unless you are planning to buy or you enjoy being treated poorly. Skip the tour and enjoy the dining.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest:

First at all I would like to thank you for sharing your valued comments.
It is very happy to read that you and your family enjoyed a pleasant week at our property.
Hoping to welcome you back again very soon

Cordially
Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Conveniently located, close to a lot of activites.
The Building it self needs some updating. The staff was very courteous and service was great, the restaurant was a great value and acces to snorkelling was pretty good.
Would definetly return but woould take a higher level room and perhaps in the north end of the building.

Room Tip: lower level rooms seemed to have a huidity to sewer type smell air conditioning units were old and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacoboR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear guest thanks for your review, please contact me for your next visit for any further requests.
have a nice week end.

cordially
Andres Maillard
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My girlfriend and I took a well needed vacation from the cold to Cozumel. We are both well experienced travelers and have recently become fans of the all-inclusive Mexican and Caribbean hotel stays.

Before I start with negatives I want to discuss the positives of the hotel. First of all, the food is incredible. My girlfriend and I had a fantastic meal every time. We particularly loved the steak tacos. Second, the snorkeling and the water was amazing. The hotel provides free snorkeling 1 hour/day for hotel visitors. Third, many of the staff were accommodating and helpful. Our favorite was Amilcar, who always greeted us by name and had a smile on his face.

We chose the El Cid La Cieba Beach Hotel due to its wonderful reviews on this site, but there were a number of issues that were not mentioned in other reviews. First off, the hotel consists of people with a median age of 65. Because of this, even though there is an activity schedule, there are no activities going on at all during the day. Second, a majority of the staff are obsessed with tips, and if they don't get one every time they serve you, there is a good chance they won't come back for a while (remember we were all-inclusive visitors). I tipped a number of times but all-inclusive is supposed to include gratuity. Third, the hotel completely shuts down at 10:30 PM. Literally, there is no one working other than one woman at the front desk. As such, you cannot get a drink or food past 10:30, which is unlike every other all-inclusive hotel I've stayed. I would understand closing at 1 or 2 am, but 10:30?

In addition to these basic more general issues, we had some specific problems, as well. When we checked in, we were given a room on the bottom floor of the tower. This floor has people walking by your room at all times during the day. Because we wanted privacy, we asked for a room change from the bottom floor to anywhere else. The front desk refused to give us a free change and required us to pay 20$ extra per night to do any move. Although this isn't a lot of money, we found it unfair, but paid for the 'upgrade'--which included a downgrade from a king to a queen size bed.

Next, the guest services guy gave us bad information about an out of hotel excursion. Since Cozumel is on the bay it doesn't really have a traditional beach. We were told by some timeshare owners that there is a beach about 10 miles away that is nice and worth going to. We took their advice but asked the guest services guy for his opinion. He pointed us to a particular beach a little further away but was worth it, in his opinion. Unfortunately, he gave us incorrect information about the beach. It was double the price to get a cab there (he told us 10$ each way and it cost us $55 total). He also claimed it had inflatable trampolines, jet skis, parasailing....essentially a playground for adults. We get there and there is literally nothing to do. We did however enjoy the beach, but wish we knew what to truly expect.

All in all, we enjoyed ourselves at the El Cid. However, I would come back to Cozumel and stay somewhere else. If you are older and want no activities and go to bed by 10:30, then this hotel is perfect for you. However if you are young I recommend heading somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryguy1466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest thanks for sharing your experience at our hotel, i am glad to read that you enjoyed the food and had a good service from our employees, you are right about our guests we had a 55 years old average age so we try to keep a balance between the Young guests and the older guests that we host, that is why we have those scheddules and let me check because our bar closes at 11:00 pm not 10:30 pm but let me see what happened.
Thanks again.
Sincerelly
Andres Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I traded my timeshare unit for a 2-bedroom one at the La Ceiba Resort for the first week of January, 2014. I called about 10 days before our arrival and Viviane was extremely helpful, courteous and competent. During our stay, any of the staff that we interacted with were excellent from the cleaning staff to the front desk. We were fortunate enough to have an ocean view suite with 2 balconies big enough for a table and chairs.The murphy bed in the living room is certainly a lot more convenient than a sofa bed. It just takes seconds to open and close. The property is small, but very neat and clean. There was good snorkeling right in front of the hotel with a couple of different access areas. I enjoyed the cruise ships coming and going and were no problem at all for us. I would certainly return to this resort given the chance to do so.

Room Tip: My choice for a location in this resort is in the 3-story building facing the ocean. You don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Debby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest:

I want to thank you for this great comments about our Hotel El Cid La Ceiba and for the time you took to write it.
Ii is really proud for us to read that you had a great experience and our location, food and rooms are satisfied your expectations.
Thank you again and hoping to welcome you back very soon.

Cordially Yours
Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.3 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,132 reviews
1.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
0.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4. 5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £66 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing