We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divers Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Hotel management and staff make every effort to please, food is good, rooms are good. Bath linens/towels and face cloths are sometimes a problem - not enough. Internet connection is slow and unreliable. Hotel has a great pier for dive boats to pick up and drop off divers. This is our hotel of choice for dive trips in Cozumel.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank for your words and for choosing us, we will take care to eliminate that towel problem as soon as possible.
thanks again and see you son.

Cordially

Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 1,862 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

The location was beautiful and the activities were so much fun. Gustavo and Casper were very fun and entertaining guys which enhanced our trip experience and made it harder to leave. These guys were funny and made sure everyone enjoying the beach was having a good time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest:
It is really nice to read that you had a good time and you enjoyed the entertaining at our location with Gustavo and Casper.
Also I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and we hoping to welcome you back again for another great experience.

Warmest Regards,
Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked our stay at El Cid about 4 months prior to traveling using our time share points with Wyndham. We have a 10 year old who had never been outside of the US and wanted to snorkel for the first time so we wanted to try Cozumel. El Cid was a wonderful place to do just that! When we arrived we had rented a car at the airport as we had planned to explore the island on our own, we were greeted with champagne and fruit punch for our son. They gave us a room on the ground floor which I was extremely unhappy with at first as I did not want to spend my trip looking at the side of a cruise ship as I had read in many other reviews! After getting settled in the room however the ground floor room was perfect for our small family. There were only three rooms on the ground floor of the tower and we had the whole garden area to ourselves most of the time. We felt extremely safe at all times and utilized the sliding glass door on our patio to enter and exit our room on the days we were staying at the resort. We did not utilize the all inclusive option as we went down the street to Mega and bought our own snorkeling gear, bottled water, chips, snacks, rum, mixers, etc.. (Mega is the Mexican equivalent of Walmart and is only about 1 mile from the resort on the same road). We asked the helpful staff about neat places to eat in town and got some great recommendations. I would highly recommend this resort to any family wishing to travel outside of the US as it is safe, fun, beautiful and full of great people ready to serve you. The whole island seems to shut down about 2-3 hours after the cruise ships leave, so if you are looking to party then Cozumel might not be for you. IF you are looking for a relaxing vacation with world class snorkeling and diving then Cozumel and specifically El Cid is your place!

Room Tip: Enjoyed the access of my ground floor room with a young child and snorkel equipment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review and detailed point by point your past staying at our hotel.
Thank you also for highly recommend our hotel and hoping to welcome you back soon for another marvelous vacation.

Cordially
Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at El Cid using our Wyndham (through RCI) timeshare points. We'd heard that this place was "not a 5-star hotel" so maybe our expectations were appropriately set. That said, our room, while small, was adequate. We stayed in the older portion of the hotel. The bathroom was in need of serious updating (shower head, sink had no plug). But we spent very little time at the hotel itself--why would you in Cozumel? And the setting right on the water was awesome. The entire staff was so very friendly and service-oriented, including everyone in the restaurant. We also had a problem with our reservations (our fault) and the hotel kindly put us up in the newer part of the hotel for 1 night at a very reasonable rate. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would request a room in the tower (newer side) if you want a larger, newer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest:
On behalf of El Cid la Ceiba Hotel I would like to thank you for this kind review and we are so proud to read that we meet your expectation because is our principal goal.
Again thank you and hoping to welcome you back soon at this your home away of home.
Cordially
Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I was suppose to be in Mexico for a week. I paid for my room three months in advance. I paid for a suite. When I got to el cid, they Gave my room away and I was stuck in a studio room. They told me to come back up to the receptionist desk the following day and REMIND them that I paid for a suite. The next two days I got the same story. Then the receptionist would continue to tell me the supervisor would contact me. The last day of the trip I asked for my credit for the room. They refused to give it to me and said that the supervisor was not there. I Argued with them until I could not argue anymore or I would have missed my plane. It's been two weeks and I am still waiting for my refund of two hundred dollars.
While I stayed in my studio room, I encountered roaches scurrying in my bathroom and stains on my comforter. The ceiling is composed of bamboo so the roaches quickly escaped. The air conditioner made me very sick. My room smelled like mold the whole time I was there. I ended up at the doctor and prescribed four different medications when I came back to the states due to the poor air quality in my room.
This trip made me miss home and I could not wait to go home. There is something wrong with me wanting to go home on my vacation.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Pinkangel45625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear guest:
i apologize for the bad experoence you had at our hotel i will look deeply about this situation and will contact you as son as i have a solution for your refound.

Cordially
Andres Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My husband and I have stayed here many times before. We've always enjoyed our visits but this time we saw something we've never seen before. The hotel is much improved in every area possible. Food, cleanliness of the hotel, friendliness of the staff and general overall better service.

I'd like to give particular recognition to Bibiana at the front desk. She is a gem! Also Paulino and William in the restaurant. Both are excellent and so friendly. Thank you to all of you!

We had a terrific week. The maids are perfect. They look so neat and clean and are such hard workers. Our room was spotless!

We will return! Hopefully very soon. This hotel feels like home!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soho204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your words and for noting all the changes it is on of our goals to improve and update every área at any chance that we have.
take care and hope to see you again son.

Sincerely
Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The place is a little outdated, looks like it was built in the 70's and really hasn't been updated since. Get rid of the swamp coolers in the rooms and get HVAC. It makes the rooms misrable. there is already way too much humidity in souther Mexico, it just makes it worse. Staff is nice, the welcoming is really nice. I would say the service is awesome. The hotel its self needs renovated. The beach area is great, they had an awesome DJ/entertainer down there playing music and he was pretty hilarious. The snorkeling right out of the hotel is pretty cool. Sadly, I think next time I'd stay somewhere with updated rooms (and ac) and go there to hang out and get drinks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stut8500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest :
Thank you for sharing this review, we are working in some of the details you mentioned and hopefully we will finish with those topics.
Thanks for the recognition to our staff that is the heart of this hotel and they work hard and nice for all our guest.

Cordially
Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
2.3 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,130 reviews
1.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#24 of 52 in Cozumel
812 reviews
5.8 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4. 5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £67 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing