We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel B Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$422
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$346
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
US$564
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$415
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$306
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,064)
Filter reviews
2,064 results
Traveller rating
949
623
293
114
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
949
623
293
114
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbabieca dive centermurphy bedcruise shipactivities directorone bedroom suitetower roomshot tubbeach areafishjuan carlosday passthe general managerall inclusive planthe wait staffall inclusive packagetimeshare presentationtime share
Filter
Updating list...
1,015 - 1,020 of 2,064 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We normally go to El Cid for the day when we are in Cozumel with our ship, and we love it: the personnel is very friendly, the place is well kept, the food is nice.
We normally buy the USD11.00 package which give you access to the beach, free wi-fi (even though it is not the fastest of the wi-fi's) and a discount on the purchase of food and drinks. The pool towels are not included, but they are only USD3.00 each.
They also have an all inclusive package of USD45.00 which includes the towels, lunch and drinks, should someone wish to spend longer time there.
I cannot vouch for the rooms or the breakfast we we did not sleep at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leonardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Mr Leonardo:
Thank you for this review and for expending the day with us at our hotel, you are more than welcome everytime you want and maybe sometime you gives us the opportunity to host you for a couple of nights.
take care and see you soon.


Andres Maillard
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We just left El Cid and we had a great time on our honeymoon. The service at El Cid was excellent and the food, room and amenities were great. Only problem was that the water for the tub in our room was brown! We had no other problems with our room. The towel animals were a hit! Everything was very clean and well kept. We enjoyed the spa, beach area and pool. They did the timeshare talk of course, but once they realized they we were not interested, they backed off. We felt very safe in this area and we enjoyed walking around to the different local restaurants. There are cruise boats coming in and out each day but we liked seeing them come and go. They were always gone in time to see the beautiful sunsets each night. There is also a taxi readily available in case you need one. It was a wonderful stay and would love to go back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ela0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

El Cid is not the most fancy resort, but well kept and clean. Rooms are pleasant and clean. The food for an all inclusive was great. Different buffets everyday and a full menu to choose from. Drinks were also very good. But the best thing about El Cid was the service, the restaurant and bar staff were awesome. Cristano the Head Waiter goes above and beyond. We will for sure go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest:
First at all I would like to thank you for choosing our property to spent your recent vacations, Is awesome to hear that you enjoy our resort. Thank you for sharing your experience with our fellow readers so they too can be encouraged to come and also have an incredible time.

I will share your kind comments with staff mentioned and We wait anxiously for your arrival here at your home away from home here in El Cid La Ceiba in Cozumel México.

Cordially
Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We booked 2 rooms at the hotel. We booked a Deluxe Room Ocean Front Prestige. We ended up with a room with 2 beds. Our adult chidren showed up 3 days later and the hotel didn't have a room for them that we had paid for. I had asked earlier in the day if we could go ahead check in for the children before they got there and was told that we had to wait for them to sign some paper work. When they showed up they were told they didn't have a room for them and they would have to stay at the resort across the street from us. I was informed that we couldn't visit them over there so they would have to come over here to visit. Not a very good family vacation. I could go on, but I think you get the message. Other than all that its a really cool hotel.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bwink167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest:
We truly appreciate your feedback about the inconvenient with your recent experience with us, I regret that you experimented a service which is not our standar, unfortunately we were in high season, and we always do our best to satisfy the requirements of our clients.
But your feedback is very important for us and we value the opportunity to improve our services.
I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had booked a "Double Deluxe Room" - we didn't realize that meant you get a microwave, sink and coffee maker. These we did not need as we paid for "All Inclusive". What puzzled me was the fact that along with this tiny little kitchen came a dining room table for six. What was even more puzzling was the bed was a double "Murphy Bed"! It was the couch folded out! My back could not take the fold-out bed. Staff did help up/down grade us to a normal room with queen sized bed. Hotel was clean and well maintained. Elevators were only for three people max so at peak times the stairs are your best bet. Food was good but getting service was difficult. I just got the feeling that "All Inclusive" guests were not a priority...

Room Tip: No beach here but and limited snorkeling out front. Cruise ships come come and go daily right next door
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest:

On behalf of El Cid la Ceiba we want to thank you for your recent review, and for leting us know our remarks to your experience, I'm glad to receive a feedback from our customers whether there positive or negative as it helps us to improve our service and strengthen our areas.
I took note of each one of your inconvenience to make them reach each one of the departments involved and take the necessary measures to avoid this from happening again and apologies for not meeting your expectations
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and change your perspective.

Cordially
Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews