We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,126)
Filter reviews
2,127 results
Traveller rating
984
642
300
115
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
984
642
300
115
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurphy bedbabieca dive centercruise shipactivities directorone bedroom suitetower roomshot tubbeach areaday passfishthe general managerjuan carlosall inclusive planthe wait staffall inclusive packagetime sharetimeshare presentation
Filter
Updating list...
1,047 - 1,052 of 2,127 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

First, the good:
the rooms are clean, and the continental breakfast was good.
Now for the bad:
Unlike some other reviewers, we didn't like the lunch or dinner food. We get better Mexican food back home in California.
Our dive shop left messages for us that were never delivered. The dive shop told us they had had this experience before with this hotel. Also, the hotel concierge did not make restaurant reservations he said he would -- this was unfortunate when we showed up at the restaurant and they had no reservation for us.
There are several docks for cruise ships right next to the hotel. When they dock, the engine vibrations literally shake the hotel. This isn't so good at 6am, although they usually dock later.
Most of the stores that are walking distance from the hotel are souvenir shops meant for the cruise ship passengers; a cab ride into town is $9 each way and there is no shuttle.
The wi-fi is intermittent. It usually works in the lobby; they told us they turned off the wi-fi in the rooms because guests complained about its unreliability. Go figure.
Although the rooms are clean, they are a little shabby. For example, the ventilation system in the bathroom is a sliding window that opens onto the public hall outside the room, next to the elevator.
In the afternoons, there is a painfully loud PA system used for beach game announcements
The wait staff really didn't seem happy with the fact that our package had continental breakfast included; they were not happy that we got our own muffins from the buffet, they said we would have to pay for breakfast in this case, since they didn't bring the muffins, although they gave up on that after a spirited discussion.
You can't make local calls directly from your room phone, and they told us it would cost $1 US per call they place for you (although this didn't show up on the bill, perhaps they forgot).
The in-room refrigerator made banging noises at night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John-PaloAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest:
First at all I want to thank you for tyour time to post this comments. we always appreciate all type of review positive or negative will help us to improve areas and services.
i can see that you are really unhappy for the internet fails, the hotel location, and the concierge service and i want to let you know that we are working with some of the points you mentioned.

Again thank you and happy holidays.
Sincerely
Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This place is literally feet away from where up to 7 mega cruise ships dock every day. Which means that the roar of the engines is constant and there are cheesy LOUD announcers for "beach games" for cruisers buying day passes to this hotel continuing way into the night. The hotel service is perhaps the worst I've experienced. Although our dingy, loud, smelly room came with free continental breakfast, the wait staff hassled us each and every day to prove that we were staying here and then service took forEVER (15 minutes to bring us juice and toast that was 15 feet away from us at the buffet but we were not allowed to serve ourselves.) Also the front desk promised that they'd make reservations for us at restaurants we requested and they never did plus they didn't pass ANY messages on to us from our dive shop, which had been trying to get in touch with us for days. Do NOT stay here. Oh, and the wireless doesn't work in any guest rooms and works about half the time in the lobby.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the cruise ship dock as you can!!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Guest:
Thanks for your review i can clearly feel that you were angry and uncomfortable and that inspires you to write this review but all reviews are very important for us

I suggest for your next trip to check the location and hotel facilities that you rerserved, also the types of categories and rates that we offer to avoid future surprises and disagreements.
We are very clear in our location, rates and our facilities so people does not expect what we don´t offer.
We are taking note about your comments in order to improve our services.
We want to do a big effort for the inconvenience we have caused, for this we hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again and change your perspective of your last experience at our resort.

Cordially
Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed April 6-12. Spotless resort, super clean restaurant, excellent service. Especially Mario at the pool bar. Staff gave excellent service. But the true selling point for us was the food. In our opinion it was the best we have had a resort in cozumel. We got to try Mexican dishes we have never seen before each prepared with care and attention and i appreciate that. I did not like the bothersome asking for the wrist band number and receiving a check when you have the all-inclusive though. people who buy all inclusive do not want to be bothered with that, they must come up with a better system. Wi Fi free! The music was loud at the beach area except for Sundays. We definitely would return and upgrade to bigger room, We enjoyed our stay. Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathybee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Guest:

On behalf of El Cid la Ceiba we want to thank you for your recent review, and for leting us know our remarks to your experience, I'm glad to receive a feedback from our customers whether there positive or negative as it helps us to improve our service and strengthen our areas.
I will extend your words to Mario and the Food and Beverage staff.
I took note of each one of your inconvenience to make them reach each one of the departments involved and take the necessary so this can be solved inmediatley.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in a near future.

Cordially
Andres Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We normally go to El Cid for the day when we are in Cozumel with our ship, and we love it: the personnel is very friendly, the place is well kept, the food is nice.
We normally buy the USD11.00 package which give you access to the beach, free wi-fi (even though it is not the fastest of the wi-fi's) and a discount on the purchase of food and drinks. The pool towels are not included, but they are only USD3.00 each.
They also have an all inclusive package of USD45.00 which includes the towels, lunch and drinks, should someone wish to spend longer time there.
I cannot vouch for the rooms or the breakfast we we did not sleep at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leonardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Mr Leonardo:
Thank you for this review and for expending the day with us at our hotel, you are more than welcome everytime you want and maybe sometime you gives us the opportunity to host you for a couple of nights.
take care and see you soon.


Andres Maillard
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We just left El Cid and we had a great time on our honeymoon. The service at El Cid was excellent and the food, room and amenities were great. Only problem was that the water for the tub in our room was brown! We had no other problems with our room. The towel animals were a hit! Everything was very clean and well kept. We enjoyed the spa, beach area and pool. They did the timeshare talk of course, but once they realized they we were not interested, they backed off. We felt very safe in this area and we enjoyed walking around to the different local restaurants. There are cruise boats coming in and out each day but we liked seeing them come and go. They were always gone in time to see the beautiful sunsets each night. There is also a taxi readily available in case you need one. It was a wonderful stay and would love to go back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ela0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews