We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff made this the BEST trip we have taken! It felt like we were leaving friends and family behind when we left.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dayton, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“The staff made this the BEST trip we have taken! It felt like we were leaving friends and family behind when we left.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Our trip was the best vacation we have ever had and everyone working there contributed to us having an amazing trip. We never thought when we left there after only one week we would feel like we were leaving family and friends behind. After leaving there we went to an amazing very big resort only to find ourselves talking and thinking about how much we wished we were still at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel. You could stay busy for weeks doing new things every day on an island that takes less than 1 hour to drive all the way around. If your interested in scuba diving they have a dive company that works right on the resort probably less than a couple hundred feet from your room. We can't give this review without talking about their food. Two of are favorites was their mexican pizza and nachos and cheese but nothing is better than their breakfast our favorite omelet and fresh fruit. The food was so good that even though we had a free dinner out we chose not use it. We had probably recommended this a dozen times before we had left Mexico. We will be returning many times this is our new home when we go on vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JamesCoov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
On behalf of all El Cid La Ceiba staff I want to thank you for your fantastic review and for your preference. We will share your comments with our staff.. We are so glad that you had a great stay with us.
I'm glad you enjoyed our nices reefs at this beautiful island, indeed Our Cozumel is recognized as one of the best places in the world to dive and snorkel with spectacular coral reefs supporting an abundant variety of fishes and other marine life.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. We`re ready to host you again and welcome you with a Mexican Pizza.
Sincerely

Andrés Maillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    529
    249
    95
    75
See reviews for
507
755
60
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The little problem we had (not giving us the room in our reservation) was solved immediately and without questioning. We will definitely stay there again in our next visit, I liked a lot the room with kitchenette.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest :

Thanks for your great review and punctuation you made my day, please feel free to contact me (amaillard@elcid.com.mx) in advance for your next stay and i will follow up your reservation and room asignment.
Take care and see you soon.


Cordially
Andrés Maillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hearst, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were greeted with wet cold face cloths and a nice drink, that felt really good after hours of being in a plan. The personel were Excellent, Jacki Chan and Mr. Tavo with there nice music and activities at the pool. The maid was also marvelous with all her little towel animals she would make every night and also we felt very safe with Carlos doing an amazing job for the security and always happy to answer any questions!! Also a special Hi tho Vicky our favorite waiteress we miss your nice smile and also Hello to Maria at the reception always willing to help, finally everybody was so friendly and welcoming. The snokling is awsome, there are like millions of fishes of all size and colours. We've been back for only a week and we would be ready to go back..

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and we really enjoyed having a patio door in the room and having easy acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montana19702014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest.
We thank you for your nice comments regarding our lovely hotel and our friendly staff.
Again thank you for your time and we will share your comments with the staff
Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely

Andre´s Maillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was an amazing hotel! We were greeted with smiling faces and fresh cold drinks. Then Our check in was at 4 pm and we arrived around 1pm and they let us check in early! They were so sweet and so helpful! I would come back to this hotel again! The maid was amazing, and at night they came and turned down our beds and left a candy for us.I loved all of the food at the restaurants and love the friendly people who would greet me everyday.

Room Tip: You should go through the rooms and really consider getting a room with an ocean view! It is so wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your fantastic review and for your preference
We are so glad that you had a great vacation with us
We will share your comments with all our staff, as I always say: the reviews are the best feedback for us.


Cordially
Andres Maillard C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platte City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

First impression of the property on arrival was very good. We were about 2 hours early, but this was no problem for the very kind front desk staff, they quickly checked to make sure our room was ready, and it was. The check in process went very quickly with no problems which for us was very nice following our flight.
Following the check in, we were directed to the guest service representative, Daniel. We spoke with Daniel regarding the property, he told us where everything was and some additional details regarding tours, the vacation club, and things about Cozumel in general. Daniel was incredibly friendly/nice and although we did let him talk us into the appointment for the vacation club sales staff, we truly appreciated meeting Daniel.
We were escorted to our room (6th floor, tower), our impression of the room was very good, the size was perfect for my wife and I. The room was very clean, as we would learn during the week long stay the room staff is very efficient and obviously take pride in their jobs. The view from our balcony was incredible. I will say, my wife and I do enjoy the activities we would observe from the balcony throughout the week, even the nearby cruise ships. If you are bothered by the busy harbor activities don't stay here, just don't blame it on El Cid's wonderful employee's. The water, the employee's and the property was well worth seeing the cruise ships. I will say the property is an older one, however the staff makes great efforts in keeping it presentable, and again the overall cleanliness is great. We slept well and enjoyed our room very much.
We had the all inclusive and it was well worth it, after crunching the numbers we determined for the price we paid, we definitely had no complaints and would do it again. We did not, and would not pay for the upgrade in the all inclusive, as we knew we would be eating off property several times anyway. For us, the food was good. There is only one restaurant, and the menu didn't change, so if you need award winning food for three meals a day go somewhere else. The service was good in the restaurant, we did not wait for anything when we needed it. We personally met a waiter in the restaurant that I would put up against any server anywhere, for friendliness and quality and attention to service, Eliazar is not only a good server, if he could see us he made it his job to make sure we had fun and enjoyed our experience. Also realize the servers not only serve in the restaurant, but they service the beach and pool areas. Before getting too upset about waiting on a drink look and see what they really have to do, my suggestion, don't stress it, you are on vacation.
We were interested in obtaining information on the vacation club (call it timeshare if you want), so we didn't mind the idea in sitting for the 90 minute presentation, besides it was scheduled early enough so it would not interfere. We met Chris for the presentation, and our experience with him was very good. My only remaining comment on this vacation club experience is. We decided it did not meet with our vacation style. Then the vacation club sales manager (I call them closers) must have decided it was high pressure time. As a result of us not being overtly rude people, and the fact that our presentation was now just short of 3 hrs, I had to shut them down.
We did not use the on site dive shop, but those who I spoke with while there who did use it told us the staff was very good. We did enjoy the snorkeling right at the hotel property.

We continued our vacation week with no further problem. Overall the staff at the El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort were great, very nice and obviously proud of their job. We will definitely return to Cozumel and I would stay at this property again with no hesitation.

The owner/management of this property should be very proud of their staff/employee's and the care and quality of service each of those employee's provide.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest:
On behalf of el Cid La CeIba Beach Hotel i want to thank you for sharing your past experience at our hotel it is great read this kind of reviews, and let me tell you that we are very proud of our staff they are the heart of this hotel, with out them this could not be possible.
thank you again and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in a near future.
Sincerelly
Andres Maillard C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Cozumel is a very slow and relaxing island and El Cid is a great place to enjoy it. We were at the hotel for a week and loved it. The staff for the most part was more than welcoming and hospitable. Iveta and her husband made us feel at home and seemed to really care if the guests were having a good time. The rooms were a little out dated, but that is somewhat expected for a hotel that has been there for so long. The grounds are beautiful and the water right in front of the hotel was FULL of fish, coral, and other things to look at under the water, including a sunk plane!

While we were on the island the excursion staff at the resort helped us scuba dive twice at the dive shop on premise (friendly staff and great dives), snorkel (we rented fins and a mask for 5 days so went for a couple hours every day), rent a small convertible to drive around the island (the other side of the island is beautiful an the water is a lot more rough), and rent scooters to ride around the island (this is a MUST do when on the island of cozumel).

The room had a very small kitchen and we were able to walk (we are in shape and don't mind walking) to the grocery store and picked up things to make food for breakfast and lunch most of the days. There are so many great restraints to eat at in the town for dinner at night and it is only about an $8 taxi ride into town from the hotel.

After a week I felt very relaxed and it was definitely very hard to come back to the 'real world'. Cozumel is a beautiful island and I would recommend El Cid as a great place to stay while visiting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRANDO714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest:

I would like to thank you for your nice review and for your stay with us.
We are so glad that you had a good time and great holiday in our resort.
Take care and we will be waiting you here at your home away from home.


Truly Yours,
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great snorkeling, scuba diving, & food. All of the staff were very friendly. We especially loved the Activity Directors, Jackie Chan & Mr. Tavo. They were beyond fun and kept us smiling! Going to definitely come back again next year with friends! Thanks for the great time!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OKUBO2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your review it is great to read that you enjoy snorkeling at our property and that you had fun with our activities sTAFF.

Hoping to see you and serve you again soon.

Cordially

Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
7.8 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#21 of 52 in Cozumel
4,721 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Property: El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4. 5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing