We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cozumel and Resort(Cozumel)
US$113
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$306
US$288
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Suites Bahia(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$67
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
US$198
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$62
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$204
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$349
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,006)
Filter reviews
2,006 results
Traveller rating
920
602
289
112
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
920
602
289
112
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurphy bedbabieca dive centercruise shipone bedroom suiteactivities directortower roomshot tubbeach areajuan carlosday passfishthe general managerall inclusive planthe wait staffall inclusive packagetime sharetimeshare presentation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,475 - 1,480 of 2,006 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We just completed a 10-day stay at El Cid, and we highly recommend it! The facilities are great - we had a one-bedroom suite on the second floor of the newer building. It was very spacious, and had nice furnishings, two balconies, and wonderful sunset views (except when partially blocked when the cruise ships were in). We cooked dinner in the room a couple of nights, and the small kitchenette was just fine. The fridge enabled us to keep breakfast stuff also. The beach set up and landscaping are lovely, and there is good snorkeling right there at the hotel. The pool and bar area are beautiful, and we enjoyed happy hour with drinks and guacamole several times.

I can't say enough about the staff! Everyone from check-in to concierge to housekeepers were amazing - friendly, helpful and welcoming. The service was as good as we've ever had anywhere. The room was cleaned spotlessly every day. We ate at the on-site restaurant twice and it was very good (especially the fish wrapped in banana leaves and foil - starts with a "T").

Our ONLY complaint is the loud music they played in the afternoons on the beach. I guess they're trying to promote a "party" atmosphere, but there were a number of times when we retreated to our room because of the music. We felt it was contrary to enjoying relaxing on their beautiful beach. Get drowsy while reading and watching the ocean? Forget about napping on the beach! Other guests agreed with us. They have one speaker pointed at the pool area, but another pointed at the beach area. We asked them to turn it down (or off) a number of times. Often, there wasn't even anyone ON the beach, and they would still have the music blaring. El Cid management - please consider not having the music, or at least not the speaker pointed at the beach chair area.

We went diving most days (with Liquid Blue Divers - excellent!), and the boat picked us up right at the dock at the hotel. Very convenient. We didn't use the dive shop located within the hotel, but they looked like they had lots of happy customers.

Within easy walking distance from the El Cid there is a restaurant called "No Name Bar" that has a nice garden/outdoor seating area and good basic food (including Turkish meatballs). We also liked the Chinese restaurant a few blocks away. It was a short taxi ride to downtown, and we shopped one time at Megafoods there for our groceries for the whole visit. Very easy.

We'll definitely be coming back to El Cid La Ceiba!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2010

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you so much for your review and preference. We are so glad that you and your family had a nice and pampered stay here at EL Cid la Ceiba. Our number one priority i our guests' satisfaction, and it pleases us enormously to read that the staff and facilities were to your liking.

We will improve on those areas that you point out, and will try to make the beach more relaxing the next time you come to visit us.

It will be a pleasure to serve you and your family again in a near future, hope to see you again very soon!
Warm regards,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

just got back from el cid la ceiba. It was excellent as always. staff makes you feel right at home. The hotel is in the perfect location great for diving and just far enough from town to avoid alot of the boat trafic. Food was good but we only eat a few meals as we always travel into town to enjoy the local foods. Diving with BABIECA is WONDERFUL, love the small boats and the personal attention you get from the dive shop and luis the dive master. We have been going to Cozumel for over 2 years roughly 3 to 4 times a year to dive and i would place luis at the very top when it comes to safety and attentiveness to divers. The rooms at el cid are always nice not super luxury but very nice and the maids are wonderful. Just a small tip and they treat you like royalty. Doubt we will ever stay anywere else and I know we will only dive with babieca and luis on any future dive trips.
only draw back was their gym it was horrible. just a quick hot workout for 10 minutes was all we could stand. too nice of a hotel to have such a horrible work out area..... wouldn't even call it a gym

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cotton_Farmer_Clay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2010

Dear Sir or Madam,
On behalf of the staff of Hotel El Cid la Ceiba, I would like to thank you for your review and your patronage.
We are very glad that you and your family had a nice and relaxing vacation with us. Our staff always tries their best to pamper our guests with genuine warmth and hospitality, and we're very happy that you found them to be as helpful as promised. I'll send this review to Luis who I'm sure will be very happy to read that your diving experience was great!
We will review the areas that need work, and hopefully your next visit will be even better.

Looking forward to seeing you very soon!

Sincerely,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We have found this hotel to be the most welcoming and congenial hotel on the island.
The staff is very friendly and the service outstanding. With a short taxi ride, it is close enough to enjoy the downtown area often. Restaurants on site have a beautiful view of the Gulf as do all the rooms. Excellent snorkeling on site and scuba trips from the premises give plenty to do. Very clean and well kept grounds make a "paradise".
We are definitely planning on returning.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crowpointmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2010

Dear sir and Madam,

Thank you very much for your kind review and recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you find El Cid la Ceiba to your liking, and that we are able to provide you with all the comforts of home and more. Everybody at El Cid has our guests' comfort and satisfaction as our number one priorities and are very happy to read that your stay was relaxing and enjoyable. We hope that you will come again soon, so we can pamper you even more.

Kind regards,

Salvador Sanchez Meza

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Sorry this is overdue! We stayed there last year with our two daughters. This is a great place for us to stay. As a matter of fact we are staying there again next month! This will actually be my wife and I's 7th trip to Cozumel and 3rd stay at the El Cid.
The check in was smooth as can be. We stayed in the 1 bedroom suite which included 2 full bathrooms and a kitchenette. We are staying in the same thing this time. We poted for the all inclusive last time and it worked out well for us. But this time the all -inclusive was a little too high for us, so we'll be stocking up at the grocery store. The restuarant was fine for us. We always found something to eat, and my step-daughter and myself are pretty picky. The hotel staff were friendly and treated us very well!
The maid always took care of the room and we always tip the houes keeper for doing such a good job. The beach is basically a coral beach, but has great snorkeling. We when we stayed there it was not really ever overran by cruise ship tourists. We never got stopped by the timeshare people which we really liked. I feel if we are interested we will approach them and not vise versa.
Definitely rent a car to see the island. Taxi's can definitely add up. We love the beaches on the East side, and down around Punta Sur...
Can't wait to get back down there! I'll write another review once this trip is over and not wait so long!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2010

Dear Sir and Madam,

Thank you very much for your review, everyone at El Cid la Ceiba enjoys reading about our guests and we love that you're coming back in a month! There's nothing we like more than to know that our guests are happy and relaxed here at El Cid, and that they will come again, for us, every guest is like family and we love to pamper them and cater to their wishes.

Please let us know if there's anything we can do to make your next stay even better, we'd love to have you again and again!

Looking forward to seeing you next month,

Salvador Sanchez Meza

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

La Ceiba is all about their guests. From the moment you enter the door until you leave you are treated like royalty. The facility offers many ammenties, swimming pool or in the ocean, beach front, hot tub, body massages, pizza parlor, internet service, restaurant, bar and the list goes on. The open air restaurant and bar are superb. The food is delicious and the waiters are top notch. Our room was beautiful, fully equipped with everything one could need. We have been vacationing at La Ceiba for the last ten years and every visit is better than the last. You could not ask for a more lovely, enjoyable place to vacation. From the General Manager to the maid service everyone is all about making your vacation the greatest. Vacationing at La Ceiba is fabulous!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pudgeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2010

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your review and recent stay with us at El Cid la Ceiba. Our number one priority is our guests' satisfaction and we're very glad that you find El Cid to your liking. We are very honored that you choose to come back year after year, and that now you are a part of our extended family.

Looking forward to having you again soon, in your home away from home!

Kind regards,

Salvador Sanchez Meza

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews