We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albany, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

I used my exchange through RCI for this resort. We had a 2 bedroom lock out unit on the 8th floor...1830 was the room number. Just loved it! Seperate living/dining room /kitchen with huge flat screen tv, bath, murphy bed & patio. Next room was a nice size room with king bed, flat screen, lg bathroom & balcony....next room was same as the other it just had two queen beds. My boyfriend and I and my son & daughter in law traveled to Cozumel May 22-19. We did the all inclusive and just loved it. Because the resort was only at about 40% capacity, we were able to order directly from the menu (not sure if they do that during peak season or use buffets) and the fact you could have all the bottled Dos Equis you wanted was awesome. We travel to Mexico at least 3 times a year and normally stay in Playa Del Carmen....I have to admit....this resort had more "mexican" type food...fish tacos to die for...than any other resort we've stayed at.
The waiters were a hoot......Hola to Luis Manuel, Armondo, Williams.....they made our trip a blast. The only negative was the chicken nuggets...bad, bad, bad....skip those....
We hired a cab for the afternoon and on Sunday we went over to the east side of the island...stopped at Senior Igauanas, Chin Rio, and of course Paradise Beach/Bob Marleys....had a great time. We went back to Chin Rio later in the week for lunch because the seafood was reportely fresh....and it was wonderful!
took the shuttle over to Playa Del Carmen for a day and walked up and down 5th, shopping, drinking and eating. The kids booked a trip through the resort for Tulum/Coba and they just loved it.

All in all we thought this was a wonderful resort, the people were more than friendly, and never had any issues (other than a headache from too many Dos Equis & tequilla :) )

Snorkeled right in front of the resort.....that was fun.....only complaint was on the quite side by the pizza oven there is a beach.....it is tooooo rocky and slippery to walk in from shore (I'd suggest to the resort to try and put some more sand in there if possible), otherwise you had to walk to the pier and climb down, and that wasn't always easy either. Or you could go over to the normal beach area and it was easier to get in and out. Never had issues with chairs...in fact on two different days, it was either just 2 of us or the 4 of us, no one else. One more thing....the HOT TUB.....IS ACTUALLY HOT!! That's a first.....I've been in many hot tubs in Mexico and they normally are colder than the pool....not this one....it was HOT and felt wonderful.

The cruise ships come in daily except for Sunday....so that was kind of fun to watch...we laughed when they would blow their horn when leaving.....if a ship was docked next to them...they would "honk" back and forth....it was funny.

We would definately go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2010
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your review and patronage.

We are very happy to read that your stay was fun and relaxing, and that you would consider us for your future vacations. It is our intent to provide you with not only a wonderful and enjoyable stay, but also an unforgettable one.

We will improve on the things you point out, it's always good to get feedback from our guests so we know which areas need improvement. I'll be sure to tell our Chef to change the recipe for the nuggets!

Hoping to see you again very soon, in your home away from home.

Kind regards,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager

“Must stay at El Cid La Ceiba”

El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    490
    229
    89
    66
See reviews for
459
710
54
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

We traveled with two teenage boys~ at first we were put into an "older" room, we requested a tower room and after a couple requests we were moved up to the 11th floor in the tower. At first we were a bit overwhelmed with the pressure of "buying" into the resort. However, we simply declined and were left alone for the rest of the stay. The hotel staff, were consistently cleaning, smiling and taking care of you. The staff really wants to make sure you are taken care of. The room was wonderful~ Pedro (helped plan excursions was extremely helpful and knew english very well) Juan Carlos at the dive shop was excellent~ he remembered who we were and helped us with our decision making with discover scuba for the kids. The wait staff is absolutely amazing. We highly recommend the all inclusive~ amazing food and you can have as much as you want. Don't forget the wait staff with your tips though. They simply add it to the room and you pay when you leave. At first, we weren't sure what to do with tips, but honestly; it's worth it. It was a bit hard to get information from the front desk; make sure you talk with the excursion "person". Discover scuba is worth it, so is snorkeling in the morning and at night (rent dive lights from Juan Carlos) we saw lobster, stingray, octupus... amazing! For some reason at the airport they say you have to take a shuttle from the airport to hotel (check into that) because you can take a taxi from hotel to airport... ??? cost is much cheaper in taxi. Underground submarine trip is worth it if you don't dive (takes you down to 100 ft) pretty cool. It will be hard for you to say goodbye to the waitstaff and Juan Carlos at Dive Center, they are all amazing!!!! One thing to know. The cruise ships dock very close to the hotel. It's cool because each morning you see a new cruise ship come in, at the same time there are a couple of bars that get a bit loud during the day (not at the hotel) by 10:30 all is quiet~ all in all - great stay-- some Americans expect all the amenities of America... don't forget you are in a different country. Enjoy it~ you will not regret staying at this hotel....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriFlovesCozumel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2010
Dear Sir or Madam,

On behalf of the staff of Hotel El Cid la Ceiba, I would like to thank you for your nice review and for your recent stay with us.
We are so glad that you and your family had a nice experience here with us, our number one priority is our guests' satisfaction and we're very happy to read that your stay was pleasurable.
Thank you also for your valuable suggestions, I'm sure other readers will find them very useful.

I'll be sure to send this to Pedro and Juan Carlos, who I'm sure will be delighted to read such good things about themselves.

Thank you again for your preference and for sharing your review.
Warm Regards,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager

El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

We just completed a 10-day stay at El Cid, and we highly recommend it! The facilities are great - we had a one-bedroom suite on the second floor of the newer building. It was very spacious, and had nice furnishings, two balconies, and wonderful sunset views (except when partially blocked when the cruise ships were in). We cooked dinner in the room a couple of nights, and the small kitchenette was just fine. The fridge enabled us to keep breakfast stuff also. The beach set up and landscaping are lovely, and there is good snorkeling right there at the hotel. The pool and bar area are beautiful, and we enjoyed happy hour with drinks and guacamole several times.

I can't say enough about the staff! Everyone from check-in to concierge to housekeepers were amazing - friendly, helpful and welcoming. The service was as good as we've ever had anywhere. The room was cleaned spotlessly every day. We ate at the on-site restaurant twice and it was very good (especially the fish wrapped in banana leaves and foil - starts with a "T").

Our ONLY complaint is the loud music they played in the afternoons on the beach. I guess they're trying to promote a "party" atmosphere, but there were a number of times when we retreated to our room because of the music. We felt it was contrary to enjoying relaxing on their beautiful beach. Get drowsy while reading and watching the ocean? Forget about napping on the beach! Other guests agreed with us. They have one speaker pointed at the pool area, but another pointed at the beach area. We asked them to turn it down (or off) a number of times. Often, there wasn't even anyone ON the beach, and they would still have the music blaring. El Cid management - please consider not having the music, or at least not the speaker pointed at the beach chair area.

We went diving most days (with Liquid Blue Divers - excellent!), and the boat picked us up right at the dock at the hotel. Very convenient. We didn't use the dive shop located within the hotel, but they looked like they had lots of happy customers.

Within easy walking distance from the El Cid there is a restaurant called "No Name Bar" that has a nice garden/outdoor seating area and good basic food (including Turkish meatballs). We also liked the Chinese restaurant a few blocks away. It was a short taxi ride to downtown, and we shopped one time at Megafoods there for our groceries for the whole visit. Very easy.

We'll definitely be coming back to El Cid La Ceiba!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2010
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you so much for your review and preference. We are so glad that you and your family had a nice and pampered stay here at EL Cid la Ceiba. Our number one priority i our guests' satisfaction, and it pleases us enormously to read that the staff and facilities were to your liking.

We will improve on those areas that you point out, and will try to make the beach more relaxing the next time you come to visit us.

It will be a pleasure to serve you and your family again in a near future, hope to see you again very soon!
Warm regards,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upper louisiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

just got back from el cid la ceiba. It was excellent as always. staff makes you feel right at home. The hotel is in the perfect location great for diving and just far enough from town to avoid alot of the boat trafic. Food was good but we only eat a few meals as we always travel into town to enjoy the local foods. Diving with BABIECA is WONDERFUL, love the small boats and the personal attention you get from the dive shop and luis the dive master. We have been going to Cozumel for over 2 years roughly 3 to 4 times a year to dive and i would place luis at the very top when it comes to safety and attentiveness to divers. The rooms at el cid are always nice not super luxury but very nice and the maids are wonderful. Just a small tip and they treat you like royalty. Doubt we will ever stay anywere else and I know we will only dive with babieca and luis on any future dive trips.
only draw back was their gym it was horrible. just a quick hot workout for 10 minutes was all we could stand. too nice of a hotel to have such a horrible work out area..... wouldn't even call it a gym

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cotton_Farmer_Clay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2010
Dear Sir or Madam,
On behalf of the staff of Hotel El Cid la Ceiba, I would like to thank you for your review and your patronage.
We are very glad that you and your family had a nice and relaxing vacation with us. Our staff always tries their best to pamper our guests with genuine warmth and hospitality, and we're very happy that you found them to be as helpful as promised. I'll send this review to Luis who I'm sure will be very happy to read that your diving experience was great!
We will review the areas that need work, and hopefully your next visit will be even better.

Looking forward to seeing you very soon!

Sincerely,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

We have found this hotel to be the most welcoming and congenial hotel on the island.
The staff is very friendly and the service outstanding. With a short taxi ride, it is close enough to enjoy the downtown area often. Restaurants on site have a beautiful view of the Gulf as do all the rooms. Excellent snorkeling on site and scuba trips from the premises give plenty to do. Very clean and well kept grounds make a "paradise".
We are definitely planning on returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowpointmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
Dear sir and Madam,

Thank you very much for your kind review and recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you find El Cid la Ceiba to your liking, and that we are able to provide you with all the comforts of home and more. Everybody at El Cid has our guests' comfort and satisfaction as our number one priorities and are very happy to read that your stay was relaxing and enjoyable. We hope that you will come again soon, so we can pamper you even more.

Kind regards,

Salvador Sanchez Meza

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

Sorry this is overdue! We stayed there last year with our two daughters. This is a great place for us to stay. As a matter of fact we are staying there again next month! This will actually be my wife and I's 7th trip to Cozumel and 3rd stay at the El Cid.
The check in was smooth as can be. We stayed in the 1 bedroom suite which included 2 full bathrooms and a kitchenette. We are staying in the same thing this time. We poted for the all inclusive last time and it worked out well for us. But this time the all -inclusive was a little too high for us, so we'll be stocking up at the grocery store. The restuarant was fine for us. We always found something to eat, and my step-daughter and myself are pretty picky. The hotel staff were friendly and treated us very well!
The maid always took care of the room and we always tip the houes keeper for doing such a good job. The beach is basically a coral beach, but has great snorkeling. We when we stayed there it was not really ever overran by cruise ship tourists. We never got stopped by the timeshare people which we really liked. I feel if we are interested we will approach them and not vise versa.
Definitely rent a car to see the island. Taxi's can definitely add up. We love the beaches on the East side, and down around Punta Sur...
Can't wait to get back down there! I'll write another review once this trip is over and not wait so long!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
Dear Sir and Madam,

Thank you very much for your review, everyone at El Cid la Ceiba enjoys reading about our guests and we love that you're coming back in a month! There's nothing we like more than to know that our guests are happy and relaxed here at El Cid, and that they will come again, for us, every guest is like family and we love to pamper them and cater to their wishes.

Please let us know if there's anything we can do to make your next stay even better, we'd love to have you again and again!

Looking forward to seeing you next month,

Salvador Sanchez Meza

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madisonville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

La Ceiba is all about their guests. From the moment you enter the door until you leave you are treated like royalty. The facility offers many ammenties, swimming pool or in the ocean, beach front, hot tub, body massages, pizza parlor, internet service, restaurant, bar and the list goes on. The open air restaurant and bar are superb. The food is delicious and the waiters are top notch. Our room was beautiful, fully equipped with everything one could need. We have been vacationing at La Ceiba for the last ten years and every visit is better than the last. You could not ask for a more lovely, enjoyable place to vacation. From the General Manager to the maid service everyone is all about making your vacation the greatest. Vacationing at La Ceiba is fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pudgeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2010
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your review and recent stay with us at El Cid la Ceiba. Our number one priority is our guests' satisfaction and we're very glad that you find El Cid to your liking. We are very honored that you choose to come back year after year, and that now you are a part of our extended family.

Looking forward to having you again soon, in your home away from home!

Kind regards,

Salvador Sanchez Meza

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Property: El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4. 5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing