We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$415
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$296
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$346
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
US$504
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$456
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,023)
Filter reviews
2,023 results
Traveller rating
928
609
289
113
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
928
609
289
113
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurphy bedbabieca dive centercruise shipone bedroom suiteactivities directortower roomshot tubbeach areajuan carlosday passfishthe general managerall inclusive planthe wait staffall inclusive packagetime sharetimeshare presentation
Filter
Updating list...
1,483 - 1,488 of 2,023 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2010

First of all - do not buy into their ALL-INCLUSIVE option. If you do, you'll be stuck with their only single restaurant "La Chopa" on-site (the pizza place is not counting), which serves less than average quality of food to say at least. What is alternative? For only $7 one way to the downtown area, you'll have the variety of so many great restaurants, that you'll run out of days in your vacation before you could explore all great places for dinner. And, if you stay like us in a 1-2 bedroom suite that had a small kitchen and refrigerator, you can get all you need for your breakfasts and lunches from a huge MEGA supermarket with their prices on many food items (ham, cheese, dairy, vegetables, fruits, etc...) of half of the prices we pay here, in US.
Now, if you care for snorkeling - do not waste your time on a local hotel beach. Rent yourself a car or get a taxi ride to a near Dzul-Ha reef beach (it's only a few miles away), while its Money Bar beach restaurant providing comfortably you with drinks and food. This is the best off-shore snorkeling place on the island! (they even have a snorkeling "map" on the wall of their bar to show you the route for the best snorkeling). And do not fall for some "cheap" snorkeling tours some beaches on the island would offer you (they range from $25 to $35 per person) - they will robb you off, because they will in fact take you to ... the same Dzul-Ha reef location with their boat, while you could have gotten yourself there for free.
Now, if you came to tan on a beach and thinking you can easily get to the water (without snorkeling gear) directly from the hotel beach - you will be disappointed. Their beach is very rocky and is not suitable for someone of age over 60 to get an easy access to the water. You'd have to go to other beaches on the island with sandy access to the water: Play de Mia and Mr. Sanches are one of them.
There are many good restaurants on the island. Our favorites are: "Casa Mission" and "Kinta" - great food, great service and good prices. Where can you get a big and juicy fillet mignon for only $16?
If you'd like to explore the island and take some other tours to the mainland, and if you came with more than two people - we'd recommend to spend 90 min of your time to hear their timeshare presention on order to get some good discounts on a rental car and tours. Be aware though, that a minimum rental car insurance you'll be required to pay per day is $14 which is on top of the regular rental car fees you'd negotiate with their rental car office.
We took a tour to Tulim and Xen-ha, which we liked.
As for the quality of rooms and the sleep quality - while rooms were spacious and have suitable beds with firm matresses and variety of pillows and we were generally satisfied with that, we can't say the same unfortunately about the sleeping quality. You'd be feeling like you're sleeping on the airfield while airjets are taking off all night. Their A/C units are so loud, you'd have to bring your own earbuds to get some rest at night. During our stay, we had to call twice their service people to wipe out the water leaking in our rooms due to their internal wall pipes leakage problems. That shows how old this hotel is.
So, in summary, while we enjoy the island of Cozumel and the snorkeling experience we came there for, we can't say the same about this resort, and therefore certainly we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannygar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2010

Dear Sir or Madame,
We appreciate your letting us know about the inconveniences you had during your stay with us. We always appreciate our customers' reviews as they help us improve every day and provide even better service. We are in the process of purchasing new Air Conditioner units for the rooms, and general improvements to our Hotel, so we would be honored if you'd consider us for your next vacation.
Please be assured that we will work hard to correct those problems you found while staying with us.
Sincerely,
Salvador Sánchez Meza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We have recently returned from our 10th trip to Cozumel and the 9th time that we have stayed at El Cid La Ceiba. We do not want to stay anywhere else. From the time that we arrive till we leave, it is a splendid experience . The hotel is of the size that you get to know the staff and they know you. For me, it feels like going home. It is sad to leave but we know that we will be back again next year. We like having a restaurant on the property; what a place to watch the sun set! The rooms are well appointed and spotless.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diver_Denny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Nice clean hotel with very friendly staff, located about 4 miles from the city right at the cruise docks. If you want to go into the city it costs from 7 to 10 USD. Only one restaurant in the hotel and the menu is not that big. Very pricey for a family of 5. If you want a cheaper meal you must go into Cozemel and pay the cab fare, so you're better off eating at the hotel. There's a 7-11 about two blocks away. You can get an all inclusive package for about $70 a person. If you like to eat and drink, this is the way to go. Hotel is not very kid friendly. Our grandkids said they were bored. Not much to do at night, but sit around and drink.
If your looking just to relax, then this place is great. Only about 20% filled. Pick your beach chair and pool chair and you have it for the day. 100's of them available all day long. Good place to snorkel. No sandy beach into the water. Steps go down. There is sand for the chairs. I don't think I would go back to Cozemel. You are better off going to the Maya Riviera, It's more family friendly and much more to do.
Sleeping conditions were OK, comfortable, but I would recommend earplugs.Loudest air conditioning in any hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malizia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2010

Dear sir or Madam,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as it helps us improve and make sure that our guests feel as pampered as they deserve.

We are in the process of acquiring new AC units for the rooms, and would love to have you once again so we can show you what a great place El Cid la Ceiba really is. We will also incorporate more kid-friendly activities during the summer, so there can be activities for every family member.

Hoping to see you again soon,

Sincerely,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We stayed 6 days with another couple, on the 3rd. floor (2315) and (2310) we had the best time we had in a long long time, rented a jeep 1 day and a compact for 2 days, drove around the island, stop at several places to swim and have drinks, chankanab, palancar, playa mia, coconut place all of them very good, back at the hotel very nice people, Maria, Marcela, Pedro set us up with the tour to xcaret, but he forgat to tell us about the food not being included in the price, that was another 30.00 per person, they told us that it would been cheaper if included in tour, very good food anyway, the service at La Chopa was incredible, we had an all inclusive elite studio room and we were able to have all drinks inc. whiskey and the best food in the place included, wich was wonderful! the waitresses all Alberto, don Lupe, Crisanto, Jayme, Jose Luis, Julieta, and I know I'm forgeting several more made our stay most trustfully and pleasant than expected, I wish this be passed along to the staff with a big plus to everyone.
From Mario Eva, Carlos and Mode.
Thank You all!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1961mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2010

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your kind review and recent stay with us at El Cid la Ceiba. We are very glad you found your stay pleasant and relaxing, and we hope to see you again very soon so we can pamper you even more.

I'll be sure to send this comment to our Food and Beverages Department, they will enjoy reading your comments, and will be proud to see that they were able to meet your expectations.

Please don't hesitate to contact me if I can be of further assistance, or if you wish to book your next vacation with us!

Sincerely,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I used my exchange through RCI for this resort. We had a 2 bedroom lock out unit on the 8th floor...1830 was the room number. Just loved it! Seperate living/dining room /kitchen with huge flat screen tv, bath, murphy bed & patio. Next room was a nice size room with king bed, flat screen, lg bathroom & balcony....next room was same as the other it just had two queen beds. My boyfriend and I and my son & daughter in law traveled to Cozumel May 22-19. We did the all inclusive and just loved it. Because the resort was only at about 40% capacity, we were able to order directly from the menu (not sure if they do that during peak season or use buffets) and the fact you could have all the bottled Dos Equis you wanted was awesome. We travel to Mexico at least 3 times a year and normally stay in Playa Del Carmen....I have to admit....this resort had more "mexican" type food...fish tacos to die for...than any other resort we've stayed at.
The waiters were a hoot......Hola to Luis Manuel, Armondo, Williams.....they made our trip a blast. The only negative was the chicken nuggets...bad, bad, bad....skip those....
We hired a cab for the afternoon and on Sunday we went over to the east side of the island...stopped at Senior Igauanas, Chin Rio, and of course Paradise Beach/Bob Marleys....had a great time. We went back to Chin Rio later in the week for lunch because the seafood was reportely fresh....and it was wonderful!
took the shuttle over to Playa Del Carmen for a day and walked up and down 5th, shopping, drinking and eating. The kids booked a trip through the resort for Tulum/Coba and they just loved it.

All in all we thought this was a wonderful resort, the people were more than friendly, and never had any issues (other than a headache from too many Dos Equis & tequilla :) )

Snorkeled right in front of the resort.....that was fun.....only complaint was on the quite side by the pizza oven there is a beach.....it is tooooo rocky and slippery to walk in from shore (I'd suggest to the resort to try and put some more sand in there if possible), otherwise you had to walk to the pier and climb down, and that wasn't always easy either. Or you could go over to the normal beach area and it was easier to get in and out. Never had issues with chairs...in fact on two different days, it was either just 2 of us or the 4 of us, no one else. One more thing....the HOT TUB.....IS ACTUALLY HOT!! That's a first.....I've been in many hot tubs in Mexico and they normally are colder than the pool....not this one....it was HOT and felt wonderful.

The cruise ships come in daily except for Sunday....so that was kind of fun to watch...we laughed when they would blow their horn when leaving.....if a ship was docked next to them...they would "honk" back and forth....it was funny.

We would definately go back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petrakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2010

Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your review and patronage.

We are very happy to read that your stay was fun and relaxing, and that you would consider us for your future vacations. It is our intent to provide you with not only a wonderful and enjoyable stay, but also an unforgettable one.

We will improve on the things you point out, it's always good to get feedback from our guests so we know which areas need improvement. I'll be sure to tell our Chef to change the recipe for the nuggets!

Hoping to see you again very soon, in your home away from home.

Kind regards,

Salvador Sánchez Meza

General Manager

“Must stay at El Cid La Ceiba”

El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews