We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely villas with a safe and friendly environment”
Review of Casa Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Colonial
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our family of 4 recently stayed in Casa Colonial, and we enjoyed our time very much. The accommodation is very comfortable and has a lot of character. We were given the royal treatment while we were there by Sarah, the owner. She provided us with recommendations for all of the best local restaurants and activities and answered all of our questions. She was very helpful in getting us a car rental and transportation to and from the airport as well. I highly recommend Casa Colonial for any vacation. It is relaxing, quiet and pleasant but within minutes drive of all the excitement you could want. We will certainly be returning if we have the chance!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my family of 5-20 have been returning to Cozumel every year for 7 years and we always stay here. Bob & Sara will ensure you have all you need & make sure you experience all of the island & surrounding islands on your vacation. You cant beat all the amenities and space for the weekly price.
We surprised family and arranged for Mariachi's to play pool side in the courtyard and Bob & Sara made it happen. We had an unbelievable and memorable vacation making new friends and memories. My 7 year old twins who came when they were 1 enjoyed the turtles and private courtyard with fruit trees. The kids had a blast at some of Sara's favorite beaches & on the private snorkel tour Sara arranged for us. You can stay many places but this one is the best for personalized service, finding you local food and hidden breakfast gems... That deliver to your door. Enjoy this local paradise, when you open the gates...you are truly at your home away from home! We are already booking a trip for our twins to return next year to swim with sea turtles once again and enjoy their favorite rotissere chicken. Thanks Bob & Sara this trip was truly amazing!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bridgy1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Casa Colonial is a beautiful place to stay if you are going to Cozumel, I will say it is the perfect place if you are planning to stay at least one week because it is like your home far away from home. The Villas have everything you need to make your stay as comfortable as you want. Also the well maintains garden and pool are perfect for relaxation. Bob and Sara are a lovely couple that owned the place and they welcomed you as part as their family, we really spent a very nice time in the Island, 100% recommended!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Viajera_More
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

well...as karen and i sit here wishing we were at casa colonial... we decided to do the review that we both agreed needed to be done. if you ever get a chance to get there ...do it..it is amazing....first....great people..(sarah and bob) are very special ...thank you.secondly , the accommodations are perfect....everything is done right.... from the great pool to Maria's daily cleaning .. (oh yes... beautiful yard sarah) also ..close to all the great eating and drinking establishments (dont be afraid to try the " off the beaten path places along with sarahs great recommendations)..groceries are around the corner along with liquor sales... walking is safe always..we had casa colonial to ourselves and loved it.lucky us...hope to be back some day...see you soon... karen and rick

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We had an extraordinary and restful one-week stay at Casa Colonial. While we usually like the nature of staying in a hotel, our minds are changed after this visit to Casa Colonial. The private and beautiful tropical property of four villas gave me just the peace and tranquility I needed.

Everything is clean, updated and well-maintained. The linen smells just like it would at home. There is a maid on the property and the owner Sara stops in every morning. She's just a stone's throw away if you need anything, but you can relax with no one hovering over you. Thought I didn't want to do laundry or cook per-se, it was just so nice to have these amenities when needed. We didn't need to make plans in advance. We could run out to the grocery store two blocks away at a whim. Fish caught during the day would be grilled outside and enjoyed. The pool was delightful and turtles and iguanas were happy neighbors.

While it was great to have a car for a couple of days, we really didn't need it most of the time. Most of the time we would walk to the main plaza, neighborhood exercise classes (I did zumba for $3 and I saw a spinning studio two blocks away) and local restaurants, cafes and even quesadilla stands. Sara can help book your tours and when we arrived she gave us a tour of the property, a personalized map, and made sure we knew everything we needed to about local restaurants, beaches, whatever you want.

We really had a great time, relaxed, slept well . . . and came home feeling rested as though we had actually been 'on vacation' instead of a race to do as much as possible.

Oh, in addition, the shared computer/info room/hub was an unexpected bonus. As were the blooming flowers everywhere. The fruit trees were great and the bougainvillea was lovely to see -- along with the beautiful painted walls inside and out of the villas. We're already planning to come back again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AGuerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were fortunate enough to have found Casa Colonial for the first time back in 2004, and have gone back every year since! From the moment we walk through the doors, we feel like we are back home! The villas are literally a 5 minute ride from the airport in a quiet residential neighborhood, so you feel like you are on vacation immediately. Sarah, the owner, is always there with a warm greeting and updates us with happenings on the island. Within minutes our daughter is in her bathing suit and rounding up the resident turtle population. She counts them all, year after year, and feeds them breakfast every morning. (and sometimes an afternoon snack!)

The property is amazing! The villas are spacious, clean and very nicely appointed with authentic Mexican decor. The lovely, colorful courtyard always has something in bloom, and every year we see new additions to the gardens and grounds. The pool is in the middle of it all, and is kept immaculately clean!

Having an equipped kitchen, complete with a purified water dispenser is always a bonus with young children, as is the fact that a local supermarket and loads of restaurants are within walking distance. There is also a great BBQ area if you want to stay in and cook, and the washer and dryer in each villa is incredibly handy!

Having said all this, we are anxiously awaiting our next visit! A trip to Cozumel wouldn't be complete without staying at Casa Colonial. I'm homesick writing this!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chefncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The hotel is clean and small and is meant for longer term stay (ie plus a week). Owner is very personable, friendly and responsive. It is located in San Miguel -the 'town' on the island in a residential neighbourhood. There is parking and the suites are entered through a secure courtyard. It would bit a bit of a walk to the beach but the pool is nice. The only issue is a neighbour who plays loud music most of the afternoon and evening. The music is salsa etc which is nice but too loud! Groceries and restaurants in walking distance. 40 pesos ( $3.50 or so) taxi to 'down town'.

Room Tip: All suites are the same (2 beds rooms, 2 1/2 baths)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coombsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.7 mi away
The Landmark Resort of Cozumel
1.5 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
4.1 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mi Casa en Cozumel
Mi Casa en Cozumel
#4 of 25 in Cozumel
254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villas El Encanto
Hotel Villas El Encanto
#6 of 47 in Cozumel
119 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial

Address: Av. 35 Entre 8 Y 10 #420, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range: £149 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Colonial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Colonial brings you the richness of authentic Mexican style not found in most hotels and vacation rentals. Experience the feeling of being transported back in time to a small quaint Mexican village, with one major difference; you are in a resort in the heart of San Miguel, Cozumel. Every view will let you know that you are in Mexico, with all of its architectural history and distinctive design elements. Everything from the original Colonial art work to the hand crafted furniture will give you the feeling that you are on vacation in old Colonial Mexico! Casa Colonial is 4 villas surrounded by a privacy wall. An extra large and lush tropical garden surround the pool and Jacuzzi. Each villa is uniquely designed and has two bedrooms and two and one half baths and sleeps up to 5 comfortably in each villa. We specialize in groups of family and friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing