We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Alicia's !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alicia's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 25 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We love Alicia's !!”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My first stay at Alicia's was 15 years ago and I have returned at least 10 more times by myself, with family and with friends. We all love this place! It's hard to even know where to begin my review.

First of all: it's located in the heart of Cozumel's neighborhood. If you want to experience true, Mayan culture, this is the place to stay. While it's not on or near the beach, it's only a 10 minute drive to get there. There are many restaurants within walking distance, as well as a good sized grocery store. Each of the rooms are equipped with a small refrigerator for snacks, drinks or leftovers from meals out. I have stayed in each of the rooms and each one has a traditional Mayan hammock if you want to relax or read a book. All the rooms have ceiling fans which usually is enough, but if you have to have A/C, there are window units which work well. The entire house is spotlessly clean and when you are here, Alicia, Chuco and Orlando make you feel as if you are in your own home. It's fun to hang out with them, or other visitors in the common areas. Yet, if you're looking for privacy, that is not an issue. The showers are hot and there's plenty of purified drinking water. Chuco makes a delicious, hot breakfast each day which always includes a HUGE platter of fresh fruit and his famous home made guacamole. The price of the rooms cannot be beat and you will feel like family when you stay at Alicia's Bed and Breakfast.

I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone and we have done that over the years. Can't wait for my next trip back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    10
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
13
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Comfortable stay...
My husband and I stayed at this bed and breakfast four years ago with our adult children.
And it’s because of the great experience and friendship that was created we chose this place again. We were staying for two weeks and we had to change rooms a couple of times due to an influx of guests...From four years ago to this year we have experienced almost every room in the house and I will say we were comfortable in every room...The room we had four years ago fit the four of us comfortably and the last room we just stayed in would be the most private and our favorite, all great, clean and well maintained...The rooms were cleaned every day.
We were delighted every morning with a gorgeous and bountiful breakfast...one of the reasons we chose to come back here...Chuco, one of the hosts prepares a delicious bowl of guacamole and tortilla chips and an array of fruit on a platter...We are served waffles, omelets, a flavorful type of hash brown and a variety of other breakfast treats...different each morning.
Orlando, another host of the bed and breakfast will supply you with a car to rent if you need one (which is encouraged over a moped) and reasonably priced...He also has a gift shop out on Punta Morena Beach that everyone should go and purchase gifts from...he’s a certified diver and they do have gear if you are in need..both for diving and snorkeling.
There are plenty of places you can experience by foot but having the car let us go out to the beach area and other restaurants, etc. She also has wi-fi available.
To get there from the ferry (ferry cost around $15), flag a taxi down and it should be around $5 but be sure you know before you get into the taxi both the price and the location or address to where you are going, English is not practiced with the taxi drivers.
We are greeted every day by two furry friends, Apache, the newest family member-3 yr old pup and Venadita, the senior watch dog.
Our visit with Alicia and her Bed and Breakfast has been a heart warming experience and we are so glad we stayed there once again! THANK YOU SO MUCH to the hosts; ALICIA, CHUCO, and ORLANDO!
Some of the restaurants we were able to experience and love... Buccanos, Blue Angel, Money Bar which are near the center (Buccanos dinner available Fri and Sat only with reservations) we enjoyed Senior Iguana, Playa Bonita, Rastas along the beach and a couple of the local restaurants just down the street from the B n B.
Be sure you know your exchange rate...there are ATM’s all around but we used the one just down the street from the B n B. And we became familiar with pesos...If an islander helps you be sure to tip them a few pesos. Alicia and the other hosts can give you more information with so much around the island...they are very helpful. Keep any and all items you have with you right close to you. Don't leave anything of value in the car. It WILL get stolen...we lost a Go Pro camera and we were only away from the locked car maybe 20 minutes. Just information to know.
We would HIGHLY recommend Chuco’s and Alicia’s Bed and Breakfast! She is very reasonably priced and makes you feel right at home.
To Cozumel...until we meet again...<3

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TEAM4C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This was our 1st trip to Mexico and we were determined to stay and do as much local activity, steering away from tourist attractions. Alicia's was great for that, it's a good 20 minute walk from town square so we got to know our way around the city quickly. The room was a good size with a nice en suite bathroom with shower, a/c and high ceilings. it was SO nice and quiet, we slept amazingly. We slept through breakfast all but one morning but our 1 breakfast was fresh made for us and very tasty. The dogs greeted us every morning and night and Alicia was very gracious in letting us use her phone and her laptop to get a hold of our friends when we couldn't find them. Overall good value for our money and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genevieve511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We loved Alicia's B&B. Run by great people that we consider good friends now. Chuco will make you the best Mayan breakfast with fresh fruit. Bottle water included,has outside entrances for entering and leaving the complex privately. Also, a scuba gear cleaning area with fresh water. It worked great for us. Best value in all my travels..

Room Tip: We had the king room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chowjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimes, Iowa, USA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

If your goal for traveling to Mexico is enjoying the culture, you really need to stay in town where the people live and Alicia's Bed & Breakfast fits that bill perfectly. The five inexpensive, comfortable rooms allow the same rest you would get at any hotel but the breakfast is phenomenal if you enjoy fruit. Chuco cooks everyone's favorites daily but a platter of fruit that must weigh five pound greets you every morning plus coffee and juice is endless. If diving or snorkeling is of interest, they can tell you where the best spots are plus connect you to a dive shop that you can trust. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance for a variety of afternoon and evening meals or there are also plenty of nearby place to buy food items you can easily prepare with the microwave on the patio that anyone can use. The air conditioning, bathing water, drinking water, ceiling fans, fun hammocks, comfortable double or single beds, patio furniture and internet routers make Alicia's B&B feel like a home away from home. My wife and I just stayed for the month of February and the worst experience was having to leave. The lodging fee is simple: $35 for one person plus $5 for each additional person. For that fee and this quality, you can't possibly beat Alicia's Bed and Breakfast. By the way, we are cyclist and I'd recommend using a bike in Cozumel for transportation. We averaged about 20 miles daily and saw two accidents in the entire month, both of which were tourist on mopeds just leaving the international pier. They both had hit markers on the side of the road. Go figure!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikesocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Cozumel was our last stop for our 10 days Mexico trip. We were pretty burnt out by then since we went to 4 different cities staying with 4 different hotels taking ADO around Mexico. I am so glad we choose to stay with Alicia towards the end of our trip. Our 3 nights stay with her definitely helped us feel recharged.

Location- It is located on the 65th Ave which is the busiest street on the local side of Cozumel. When I travel, I love to stay away from the touristy side because I would love to see how the locals live. There is tons of local restaurants near the B&B. The first night we arrived, we walked a couple blocks to San Francisco Supermarket to grab a few stuff. How convenient!? You could walk to the pier within 20 minutes but we always took a 20 pesos cab ride to the center. The area is very safe. I felt safer walking around there then walking in some parts of San Francisco :O

The B&B- The B&B is very cute with a real Mayan touch. There is many cute Mexican decorations around the house. Mexico is HOT almost all year round but the room we got in Alicia was surprisingly cool! There were air con and fans even thought we didn't really need them. HOT WATER was not a problem at all. We stayed at another B&B in another city where there were no hot water and it was a pain! Free wifi and it was pretty fast: facebook, gmail, and even able to stream videos online. The daily rate is $35. WHAT A DEAL! I would still think it's well worth it even if I have to pay double.

The people- Without the awesome people we have met, our stay would not be the same. Alicia was very nice to us, always made us feel at home. She gave us a lot of good suggestions around the Island and she had a lot of good stories to share! Chuco, who stopped by every morning prepared the best Mexican breakfast for us. The first day we got a Mexican omelet, second day we got some fluffy waffles and the third day we got some cheese quesadilla. Tortilla chips with guacamole and a giant plate of fruits were there to serve every morning. The cleaning lady was great too! She cleaned our room so thoroughly every day. She even moved our baggage to the chair so she could clean the floor, and she folded my messy clothes! The other guests that we have met were also great people. I enjoyed having breakfast with them every morning and just chilled and relaxed.

The dogs- There's two dogs at Alicia's. One of them was a guard dog which she was really good at it. She sat by the door all the time and barked at strangers passing by the house. If you were a guest, she would pretty much just ignored you. The other dog, however, was so much fun! She was still a puppy (a huge puppy) and she always wanted to play. She always brought us her toys and asked us to play with her.

Okay, this is a very long review but I just want to emphasize we had a great time staying with Alicia in Cozumel. If you are browsing tripadvisor atm, send Alicia an email (she always replies within a few hours), you won't regret it. Here's her facebook page with more information and pictures:
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Alicias-Bed-and-Breakfast/139286422757055

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhleung2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seekonk, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I was in Cozumel for 4 days for diving. I was looking for a smaller hotel / B&B away from
the crowds. My needs were simple- safe, clean and quiet. Alicia's provides all three
along with a wonderful hostess (Alicia) and host (Chuco).
The rooms were spotless, with tile floors ceiling fans/ AC and little things like a small paperback library. Rooms are very basic but functional. All rooms appear to have an outside sitting area for eating and relaxing.

Chuco is ready to prepare a great breakfast as you arise. As I was leaving quite early each morning, he was ready when I was. Juice, fresh fruit, fresh cooked omlettes and Mexican dishes will appear like magic. Cereal is available as well.

Alicia's is located in a neighborhood location SE from San Miguel. Town is about a 25 min walk, or an inexpensive taxi ride. (30-40 pesos) If you are diving from Caleta Marina, the taxi cost is 60-75 pesoes, depending on the driver. A full size supermarket (San Francisco) is a 10 minute walk.
Alicia is a wealth of knowledge about Cozumel, and the B&B set-up allows you freedom to come and go as you please. Security seems fine.
When I return in the future, I know where I will stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jodnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,063 reviews
2.4 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
679 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
1.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alicia's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicia's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Alicia's Bed & Breakfast
Address: Ave 65 Sur at Calle 19th | San Miguel, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alicia's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alicia's Bed and Breakfast is located in the middle of San Miguel on the island of Cozumel. We are located in a neighborhood that has many restaurants, stores including Sam's Club a few blocks away. Wal-Mart or the Mex. version is there as well. Chuco cooks a fresh breakfast everyday which includes fruits in season and a full breakfast which includes egg dishes, and waffles, french toast, and some local favorites. We have a dog that loves guests but keeps out non-guests. There is a biological park located about 5 blocks away. We are handy to any beaches either on the east or west side. Chuco and Orlando are both very good at answering any dive guestions. Orlando is a dive master and knows all the great places to dive. Chuco was a dive captain for many years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Alicia's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing