We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Ranked #9 of 25 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Thank you Dale & Kathy for making our experience in Cozumel so rich. The way you welcomed and made us feel so comfortable in your home. Walking thru the gate into an Oasis is an understatement. The pool and gazebo along with the surrounding gardens and fountains made for a real retreat. Every morning we were greeted with fresh coffee and tropical fruits and a breakfast no restaurant could top. The beds were comfy, and the rooms well furnished. Not to mention the relaxed atmosphere in which we could spend evenings relaxing in the back yard meeting and visiting with other guests. Making Baldwin's Guest House our place to stay was one of those "right" decisions. If you book here you will not be disappointed. It's all everyone says and more! Thanks again for a wonderful vacation. God Bless you both!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 622Rascals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
128
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Hosts Kathy and Dale are wonderful. The house and rooms are beautiful. The breakfasts are splendid. You will not be disappointed here. We met wonderful people who we will undoubtedly remain friends with. A winner!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyinallthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Cozumel at Baldwin's was one of those trips where everything just worked. Dale and Kathy made putting us at ease look easy while really making us feel at home. The home is spotless and offers many places to relax in a hammock or take a dip in the pool when it gets a bit hot.

It was a treat to start the day with Kathy's breakfast; I'm sure it's the best on the island. The location was right up my alley: away from the touristy areas where we could enjoy some authentic Mexican cuisine, but still within walking distance from the airport and the shore. Mr Taco and the ceviche place are sure bets.

Kathy shared with us the schedule of the island which allowed us to avoid over-crowded beaches, and enjoy establishments that really suited our taste. I can't state this enough: they are really accommodating! I even got a massage from Dale! If you're looking for jewellery, they know the best jeweller. Want to grill some steaks on their custom barby, it's already hot! In our rush for the ferry, they organized a ride. Want to see a hummingbird taking care of her babies? Ya you do!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YULfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We ended our trip at Baldwin's Guest house and it made it more difficult for us to leave the island. As soon as you enter the property, you relax. You see the pool surrounded by a beautiful tropical garden. After a good night sleep in a really comfortable bed, you are being served a delicious breakfast and then you wish you could stay there forever. Unfortunately you have to come back to real life and get to write a review for the next travelers to enjoy.

This is the place to stay in Cozumel and we would definitely go back.

Mel and Suzanne

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mela365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaldwinsCozumel, Owner at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you Mel & Suzanne

We enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again,
Dale & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I just returned from a nearly 2 week vacation in Cozumel where we stayed the entire trip at the Baldwin's Guest House. We are repeat guests, having stayed at other highly rated B&B's on the island, we are most pleased with this B&B. The grounds are set up so that it is very inviting to read a book by the pool, have a beer in the outdoor kitchen or take a nap in hammock. The gardens are beautiful and well-maintained completing the whole outdoor experience. The air conditioned rooms are extremely clean with very comfortable beds and spacious bathrooms. Dale and Kathy are wonderful hosts making every effort to accommodate guest requests. We are scuba divers, and on dive days Kathy organized breakfast for us a bit earlier than most of the guests. Breakfast at the Baldwin's Guest house is a real treat with freshly squeezed juice and an incredible selection of Mexican and traditional breakfast foods (she will even poach eggs upon request)...we found lunch to be optional. There is a wonderful area set up for rinsing and hanging dive and snorkeling gear. For us, this is a big plus that we have not found available at other B&B's. Dale and Kathy are extremely knowledgeable about all the best restaurants, places for shopping, snorkeling spots and give great advice on beaches based on the experience for which you are looking.
But what really sets the Baldwin's Guest House apart from nearly every other B&B in which we have stayed is that you you never feel like you are intruding on someone else's home. We have stayed at other highly-rated B&Bs in Cozumel, and that is definitely not the case there. Not only the atmosphere that is created by Dale and Kathy, but also the setup of the Baldwin House allows you to come and go as much as you want and interact as much or as little with other guests as you choose to do. That is not the case in many B&Bs. It would be a mistake to stay anywhere else in Cozumel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hjoanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Having read the many positive reviews on Tripadvisor for Baldwin's Guest House, we decided to take the plunge and book our 17 night stay with Dale & Kathy. This was our (partner & I) first visit to Mexico/Cozumel. We were relieved that all the positive/excellent reviews about Baldwin's Guest House proved to be correct!

Baldwin's Guest House is situated j,ust on the outskirts of downtown - it's approximately a 15 minute walk away or by taxi 30 Pesos from the ferry terminal/downtown. The airport is a mere 10 minute taxi drive away so location wise it's in an excellent position! - allowing you to absorb and mingle among the locals, yet close enough for the variety of restaurants/bars/shops. Casa Mission restaurant is a mere 5 minute walk way from their gate. Even though it was away from the tourist area, we always felt safe walking to and from downtown; whether it was during the day or late at night.

On first impressions, pulling up outside in the taxi at Baldwin's Guest House (it was 8pm) - the local neighbourhood area was somewhat of a let down, but once you walked through the locked gate and into their property it was like a different world! Kathy or Dale must have had bat ears, as no sooner had we unloaded our suitcases out of the boot, they both came out from the main house to greet us and show our room.

Initially, we had booked the King Room in the main house, but upon our arrival we were "upgraded" to the Casita (self contained cottage), as our room was undergoing some decoration (as it was the beginning of the season) and was not quite ready for us. For the first 2 nights, we were the first guests since Kathy & Dale returned from their holiday.

The Casita was lovely, clean, spacious and private, which overlooked the pool and breakfast areas. Along with a decent size fridge freezer, microwave, cooker hob, the Casita provided all the things what you would expect from a self contained cottage (even extra’s like washing up liquid!). With enough space outside for your own table and chairs. One thing I will add, the WIFI signal is not very strong in the Casita, but that was soon “rectified” when you went outside nearer to the main house!

The breakfast was both a fantastic team effort, with Kathy cooking amazing breakfasts every day, enough to feed the whole street – and so much choice too. I especially enjoyed the fresh platter of tropical fruits that served every day, along with Dale’s version of freshly squeeze orange/grapefruit juice – Tropicana juice was not a patch on Dale’s! The night before, Kathy would ask what time we’d like our breakfast and try and accommodate any special requests (ahem, bacon please?).

The breakfast table comfortable sat 6 guests with calming music/lights in the background. And each day, the table would be decorated with little (cute) figurine animals from her Homegrown collection, as well as flowers from her garden. Her attention to detail, how the breakfast was presented was perfect! Kathy has such high standards that it would be very hard to beat her – hence, why Baldwins has the No 1 spot and return visitors every year.

The coffee was to die for, in fact some mornings we were fighting for the coffee flask, and sometimes it was a case first come first served!

After a week, we were moved to the King Room in the main house, which is just as lovely as the Casita. The King Room was situated at the back of the house, ideally located near Dale’s bar/social congregation area – so not far to wobble back to the room after a few beers/cheeky Tequila shots (free on the house).

In the evening most of the guests get together out side the bar area to catch up on each others day, eat together – in our case twice we all cooked a BBQ on Dale’s awesome bad boy BBQ – best tasting shrimp/steak ever! Mouth watering just thinking about it.

Dale & Kathy operate an Honor Bar system, and the choice of alcohol (especially sprits) is mind boggling! They even bought me Diet CokeZero cans after I mentioned that I was not keen on full fat Coke. Nothing is too much trouble.

Dale & Kathy have lived in Cozumel for nearly 20 years, and have a vast knowledge of Cozumel: where to go/restaurants/shops etc. They will happily give you a map of the island, and help you on your way to enjoy your stay with them.

While we were there, we hired a VW beetle from ISIS, which Dale & Kathy recommended we use as they don’t try to rip you off and offer a great service. The second week, we opted for a moped which appeared to be nearly new and ran like a dream.

Christmas Day, Dale & Kathy invited all their guests to share a Christmas Dinner with them – gratis too. The turkey Kathy cooked (and Dale cut), was the most succulent turkey meat I’ve ever had the pleasure of eating. Turkey meat is such a dry meat, alas not Kathy’s!

Also like to add that Baldwin’s is catered for divers, with a separate equipment rinse/drying area – in fact, majority of the guests who were staying there were divers. Dale & Kathy can recommend a very good Diving operator, and if you are in need of a good massage, Kathy knows just the person. We did not opt for the massage, but the masseur comes to Baldwin’s so need to go out. At the time we were there, I think it was US$ 40 for a 75 minute massage

To sum up our stay in one word, fabulous! We miss both Dale & Kathy – Dale’s dry humour with the glint in his eyes, and Kathy admonishing him from time to time like a naughty school boy.

Lastly, the rooms are cleaned on a regular basis, towels changed every other day - however, Kathy respected my "OCD" in not having any housekeeping done whilst I was there, apart from once in the Casita. I liked taking my own bedding/used towels to the laundry room, and doing my own housekeeping.

From the minute we walked into Baldwin’s to when we hugged our good byes, Dale & Kathy made us feel so welcome, and not just as paying guests.

Room Tip: Casita is quite private for couples - plenty of room, but not too far away from the hub of the outdo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hang-On-Tight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaldwinsCozumel, Owner at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Hello Hang-On-Tight

Glad you made it back to the UK safe and sound.
Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate it.
Would you please let us know what led you to give us 4 out of 5 on "Rooms"?
We are constantly trying to improve our guests experience and comfort level.

Thanks for staying with us,
Dale & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My fiance and I just came back from an amazing stay at Baldwin's Guest House. We were one of four couples staying in the main house and, since it was our first time ever being in Cozumel, we were the only couple who were not repeat guests of Dale and Kathy Gardner's beautiful estate. Upon learning this, we immediately knew we made the right decision for our accommodation in Cozumel.

Dale and Kathy went above and beyond in making our stay comfortable. They lent us snorkel gear and even ponchos to stay dry on our scooter outing. We were there on Christmas and they cooked us a delicious dinner, which we all ate together while celebrating. The estate is gorgeous, clean and spacious. Our room had a very comfortable bed and a huge bathroom. The breakfasts were different everyday and absolutely delicious. It was made even more special by eating a room overlooking the swimming pool. We enjoyed hanging out with the other guests in their amazing outdoor kitchen. We did not use the pool or the hammocks on top of the casita, though they both looked very inviting. The location is about a 15 minute walk from the main tourist strip. We loved the location because we felt very safe, and we got to walk through "real" Cozumel feeling more like a local than a tourist.

Their home became our home and the people their became our "vacation family." If you are planning a visit to Cozumel, this is by far the best place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,039 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#12 of 52 in Cozumel
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caribo Cozumel
Caribo Cozumel
#1 of 25 in Cozumel
175 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mi Casa en Cozumel
Mi Casa en Cozumel
#4 of 25 in Cozumel
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel

Property: Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Address: Avenida 55 sur # 140 | Between Calle 1 and Adolfo Rosado Salas, Cozumel 77601, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our focus is on cleanliness and your personal comfort. Our goal: Ensure you have a great vacation. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baldwin`s Guest House Cozumel Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing