We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My 2nd Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Ranked #11 of 30 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Jamestown,ND
2 reviews
“My 2nd Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

And that's exactly what it feels like to stay at the Baldwin Guest House.
We have stayed with Kathy and Dale at the Baldwin Guest House for about 5 years.
We adore them and relish their kindness and humor each and everyday.
Ken and i cherish the excellent breakfast they serve each morning.
Kathy and Dale have helped us out with a number of arrangements from calling for a taxi to making arrangements for a fishing or snorkel trip for us.Every year we return, we meet new
and old friends and enjoy their company and the beautiful surroundings which only get better.
It makes it real easy when we want to get away to just call and reserve one of their beautiful quiet,comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: You have a choice of a queen size bed or king size bed and i always sleep very well when we go to C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyMoJamestown_ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
125
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woking, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have now stayed a total of 7 weeks over 3 Christmases with Dale and Kathy who run the Baldwin's Guest House.

We return each time to find the property expertly maintained, clean, comfortable and most of all welcoming.

We have stayed twice in the king room and once in the master room. They are both large rooms and lovely decor.

Kathy cooks an amazing variety of breakfasts and it always includes fresh fruit, yogurt, freshly squeezed juice and hot coffee. Breakfast is either in the garden room or outside.

The grounds are beautiful and Kathy takes great care tending to the many orchids, shrubs and flowers plants. If you're lucky, you will find some miniature tortoises along with the many little lizards that also enjoy her gardens.

To chill out on a hot day with a cooling breeze, head on top of the casita, where there's hammocks and an armchair to catch on zzz's or to read a book etc.

The outside kitchen is a great place to hang out after a day's adventures and you will probably find like minded guests there too.

The honor bar is stocked with beers, wine and soft drinks. Just ask if there is something in particular you would like. Dale and Kathy will make sure it's chilled and waiting for you the next day.

There property is very safe and secure and it feels more like home than a B&B.

It's about a 10 minute walk into the main town with many restaurants to choose from. Or you can rent a car.

There are a couple of lovely mexican restaurants near by, one selling a variety of fresh ceviche and the well known Casa Mission is only 2 minutes down the road. We also enjoy going to Mr Taco for a quick and tasting dinner.

Please feel free to ask me any questions about this lovely B&B

Room Tip: It doesn't matter, they are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriatombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed at Baldwin's for about a week during my third visit to Cozumel and can't recommend it more highly.

My previous go-to place was fully booked and I was anxious about staying somewhere new. However, Baldwin's immediately stood out as an outstanding place to stay. The hosts, Dale and Kathy, were incredibly welcoming, supremely knowledgeable of the island and have created an absolute garden paradise on an already beautiful destination.

The room (I stayed in the King bedroom at the back of the house) was beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. Bed was comfortable (pillows might have been a little more supportive), bathroom was spacious and plenty of hot water/pressure. Internet was fast and ubiquitous. What stunned me, however, was the beauty of the property and the love and craftsmanship that have obviously been invested in it over many years. On top of that, Dale and Kathy's hospitality, amazing breakfasts, and the social atmosphere they create among the guests ended up being an unexpected highlight of my trip as a whole. Baldwin's is especially ideal if you're open to meeting new people, since it seems to attract a terrific crowd of regulars.

Some caveats (and not just so you know this isn't a fake review): the house is about a 15 minute walk from downtown Cozumel, which I enjoyed but may be less convenient if you don't enjoy a stroll and don't rent a car or scooter. There's a small amount of road noise from the neighborhood, and some of the rooms (e.g. the king) have a small amount of noise from the house's social area and the garden's aviary. Didn't bother me but highly noise-sensitive folks might want to be in another part of the house or use ear plugs.

Also, if you are looking to be staying on the beach itself, you will want a different accommodation. Balwdin's is perfect if you're a diver and/or someone who wants the flexibility to beach-hop with a car/scooter and enjoy all the different places the island has to offer. If your idea of paradise is sipping a drink on the beach outside your room, this is possible at some places on Cozumel but mostly the resorts.

I'll definitely be back to Cozumel and Baldwin's is now at the top of my list for places to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was our 8th time going to Cozumel, all of which we have stayed at Baldwin's Guest House. Everything about our stay was awesome, the rooms are super clean and nice, by now we have stayed in them all but the Garden Room is our Favorite. Kathy's breakfasts are amazing with fresh the fresh fruit and delicious main course daily. The grounds are great with numerous different orchids and flowers and tons of turtles(which our son spent much time chasing). Dale and Kathy treat us and everyone like family and are always going out of their way to make your stay better. Even though we know our way around Cozumel Dale and Kathy always have some new information about a restaurant, beach etc.. that enhances our trip. And in the evening it was great to hang out on the patio with the other guest catching up on the day seeing old friends and making new one. We can't wait to go back next year. We have found not only Baldwin's to be a great place to stay but Cozumel to be a safe and friendly place to vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hgnevets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison wi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have just returned from our fifth, 3 week visit to Baldwin’s Guest House in Cozumel. Kathy and Dale made us feel so welcome; it was like returning home. Kathy’s breakfasts are the best we have ever had in bed and breakfast. Each morning we met with the other guests in the lovely gazebo overlooking the pool for our gourmet breakfast of fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, a variety of yogurts and a breakfast entrée. Kathy, an excellent and creative cook, prepared a huge variety of both traditional and Mexican breakfasts.

Although located in town in a very safe area (all of Cozumel is very safe.), the beautifully maintained walled gardens and grounds are always cool and inviting. It is a short 15 minute walk to the main plaza and the Malecón. Taxis are also cheap and plentiful. Four of our favorite restaurants are only a block or two away.

The rooms and beds are very comfortable and extremely clean. The patio is a wonderful spot to join the other guests in the evening to exchange daily adventures.

Kathy and Dale are always available to help you plan your day, and of course; tell you where the best beaches, best restaurants and shops are. They have great information and exceptional kindness for first timers or fifth timers.

Thanks again for everything, Kathy and Dale. See you next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Thank you Dale & Kathy for making our experience in Cozumel so rich. The way you welcomed and made us feel so comfortable in your home. Walking thru the gate into an Oasis is an understatement. The pool and gazebo along with the surrounding gardens and fountains made for a real retreat. Every morning we were greeted with fresh coffee and tropical fruits and a breakfast no restaurant could top. The beds were comfy, and the rooms well furnished. Not to mention the relaxed atmosphere in which we could spend evenings relaxing in the back yard meeting and visiting with other guests. Making Baldwin's Guest House our place to stay was one of those "right" decisions. If you book here you will not be disappointed. It's all everyone says and more! Thanks again for a wonderful vacation. God Bless you both!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 622Rascals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Hosts Kathy and Dale are wonderful. The house and rooms are beautiful. The breakfasts are splendid. You will not be disappointed here. We met wonderful people who we will undoubtedly remain friends with. A winner!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyinallthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
3.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#13 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#23 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel

Property: Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Address: Avenida 55 sur # 140 | Between Calle 1 and Adolfo Rosado Salas, Cozumel 77601, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our focus is on cleanliness and your personal comfort. Our goal: Ensure you have a great vacation. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baldwin`s Guest House Cozumel Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing