We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

If you're staying here, it's because you want to save money on lodging. The place is nice enough for the price ($60). Excellent location - 2nd street is just 1 block away from main square. Has window-unit air conditioning (works great), remote for TV and warm shower. Free breakfast.

But on my 2nd trip to Cozumel, I stayed one block over, on 4th street, at Hotel Cozumel Inn (which I could not locate online). It's $40/night, no breakfast, cool shower, no remote for the TV, no English by the staff (now that I list all that out, it sounds bad, but I preferred saving $20/night at this latter hotel).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToddWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    114
    33
    6
    0
See reviews for
51
91
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

I cried when I entered the room for the first time... but I soon got over it.

The room is very very basic, very hard beds, and the view was looking onto concrete and rusty pipes. However, it was cheap, very close to downtown (next block over), but far enough for quiet. Breakfast in the morning was a hot breakfast, very good, very small buffet style (only a couple of items). Pool on top was small, dangerous (deep end to swallow end was simply a drop in the concrete, and it was not chlorinated), not a good view, bar was not open.

Easy walk to passenger ferry, next block over. Parking enough for a few cars, and very close to rental car places.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Allen, Mexico
Level Contributor
169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

I was only there for the one night after arriving at Cozumel airport. The FREE breakfast is a wonderful surprise. FULL, COOKED TO ORDER w lots of options.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacjsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

Pool on the roof was ice cold. Less than half the size of the pool is deep enough for adults. Extremely windy up on the roof.

You get the same buffet breakfast daily/room advertised online when purchased was supposed to have a kitchenette. They tried to charge $5.00 us dollars for a refridgerator per day.

You think you are getting a room for $40.00 per day with breakfast and a kitchenette and when you book it and pay online the taxes run the price up to $48.00 per day. No kitchenette. High speed internet but you need your own computer. Parking very limited.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eve58270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

This hotel can be seen from the ferry to Cozumel and it's not much to look at, but the staff was friendly and very willing to help. Continental breakfast was nice, and it was good food. Our AC unit didn't work, the curtains let in a lot of light and there wasn't a clock in the room, but for the money, I was really pleased with how our trip went. It was so nice out that we could leave the window open and listen to the waves, which is great.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catloik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed for 4 nights. Located close to the ferry and just a block away from the main downtown square. Walkable to convenience stores, rental places, gift shops and tons of restaurants.

We were given a room but then we asked for a better room and they totally accomodated (also was low season) and we got a beautiful bright room with a full ocean view. AC was GLORIOUS, BEAUTIFUL and WONDERFUL. The room never got musty or moldy smell (so humid there!). Bathroom was clean and nice. Beds were super cmfy. Cleaning service was meticulous and efficient. Breakfasts were really full on hearty meals. Hot food (egg scramble, veggies, and refried beans, yogurt, granola and fresh fruit, fresh pan and oj and coffee) each morning. Great pool up on the roof, bring a book and sit in the shallow end, ahh. Super helpful staff (rented a car for us, super helpful directions for everything, fluent in english and espanol).

Would def go back if I went to Cozumel again (though I wouldn't because it's so touristy in the not good cruise ship tourists flooding out on land each day-plus with tourist come super pushy vendors that never leave you in piece. Plus all the beaches are hella far and there are no buses, leaving taxi drivers to make a killing anytime you want to leave you hotel room).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aszeto23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

We spent 10 days in Cozumel at the Hotel Plaza Cozumel. It is located just a block from the ocean front with great views from the rooftop- with a pool. Just close enough to enjoy all the activity at the town center and also to not hear any noise at night. We arrived at the last days of Carnaval and enjoyed the parade only 1/2 block from our hotel. A bakery is located on the site and fresh baked goods are available. Each morning, breakfast - from 7-11, included eggs of some style and breads, coffee, juice, and a meat, lots of fresh fruit. Our maid, LILI was very sweet and left us creative animals and even a boat on water made from the towels each day. Fresh flowers and little beady eyes decorated these little pieces of art. This may be expected at resorts, but this is a discount priced hotel. So worth it's price, it is understandable why they seemed so much busier than any other hotels in town. Will definitely be back very soon!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvdiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#23 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#20 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#31 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Suites Colonial
Suites Colonial
#30 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villablanca Garden Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Property: Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Address: Calle 2 norte entre Rafael E. Melgar y 5av | Col. Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to our location, the Hotel Plaza Cozumel offers an excellent panoramic view of the Island and Cozumel's Sea Channel. Our location and facilities allow us to meet the needs of business men and tourists that visit us. The access of Hotel Plaza Cozumel is fast from any point of the island, because we are in the downtown commercial and tourist heart of Cozumel. Walk a few steps and visit the Cozumel Museum, the Main Square and Ferry Pier in front of us.If you are planning a fantastic vacation in Cozumel then our hotel is the perfect place to stay with friends or family. An experience beyond accommodation, make your stay unforgettable. Our spacious rooms allowing our guest ton enjoy the privacy and silence needed for a welcome rest. Walk into a warm and caring atmosphere in classical light and bright colors, where you will find the comfort that you deserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing