We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful and Charming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villas Las Anclas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villas Las Anclas
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful and Charming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

I have just returned from Cozumel with my daughter. And we had the luck to find Villa Las Anclas Hotel where we will surely stay in on our next trip to Cozumel.
A beautiful place, with friendly people, lovely accommodations, clean, clean, and clean again, with all the necessary infra-structure to assure your comfort.
How nice to start the day with a delicious homemade courtesy coffee and the "Buenos Dias" of Doug, Della, Jim and Pam, the owners!! Karla, the manager, is always ready to make sure your day goes smooth.
An excellent place for honeymooners, family and couples. I recommend it to all travellers that look for comfort, unpretentious elegance and a fair rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia18_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    31
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
53
217
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

This trip was our third trip back to this hotel and I am shocked to say that it keeps getting better and better!! First, the sad news, Pedro, the beloved owner of this hotel, sold the hotel earlier in 2012. Now, the good news! Doug, Della, Jim and Pam have bought this hotel, keeping the spirit of Pedro's wonderful hospitality alive and well.

Initially, we were hesitant to come back to this hotel knowing it was sold b/c we felt that so much of what we loved about this hotel has now retired. However, when I emailed and found out who bought it, it was a no brainer to come back. You see, we met Doug and Della 4 years ago on our first visit to Las Anclas and really enjoyed their company. We had always hoped that we would bump into them here at Las Anclas again. Doug and Della have been coming to this hotel for the last 12 years on vacation and loved this place so much that they decided to make it home. We had the pleasure of meeting Jim for the first time and he also really embodies the spirit of the place. Doug, Della, Jim and Pam have really kept the tradition of warmth, kindness, family, and hospitality alive, you really feel at home here.

What's the same? Everything you have come to look forward too while visiting this lovely and tranquil place.

What's new? Quite a bit!
1. Karla! Karla is the lovely hotel manager who bends over backwards to make sure you are happy during your stay and always has a smile on her face. She even brought her crib from home for my niece (18 months) while my sister and brother-in-law were staying here.
2. The lobby is now open along with a dive shop, Tres Pelicanos! The best diving operation that we have ever had the pleasure of diving with. What a great place to hang out after a day of diving and chat about your dives and local tidbits. Due to the atmosphere, you easily make friends that can grow into lifelong friendships.
3. A fantastic little coffee station that you can get your morning coffee from, and the coffee is always available early enough before you leave to go diving to wake you up in time to enjoy all the amazing diving.
4. Water stations throughout the courtyard to make sure you stay hydrated.
5. A really nice barbeque grill for you to grill on those days that you feel like having a meal in.

Cons: Can't think of one.

Pros:
1. Walking distance to most of the top restaurants on the island.
2. 2 Blocks away from the main square.
3. Walking distance to Mega (Supermarket/Home goods)
4. Dive shop next door.
5. Clean, spacious rooms.
6. Quiet and secure location.

I feel as though I can't say enough good things about this hotel and I am sure that you will get a sense of what a pleasant place it is to stay by the shear number of great reviews already written about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

The rooms are a nice loft style two story accomodations with a living room/kitchen on the ground floor and a spiral stair case up to a large sleeping area and bathroom. The kitchen area fetaures a fridge, sink, and microwave. Outside the room there is a small common area with couches tables and beautiful trees/shrubs. The interior and exterior of this smaller quaint hotel is very well maintained and beautiful. The current owners are a couple of recently retired couples from the USA, they are super freindly, very knowldegable of the area, and big into scuba diving. If you're looking to experience Cozumel without the drama and sales pressure of a resort then this is 100% the place for you to stay. It's just a few blocks from where the ferry from the main land drops you and just one block from the main tourist strip along the ocean so expect no issues finding it and no issues getting back into the tourist fray if that is your preference. I just can't say enough positive things about this place and the people that run it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahariya, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

we heared about las anclas from Israeli travelers we met. they strongly recommend and we went to see the apartment. the hosts was very friendly and kind, he saved us a room although we came and paid only later. we enjoyed every moment! the apartment is very clean and big , the price is very fair and the hosts are great
we recomend very much

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaelnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

As always we checked tripadvisor for accomodation suggestions prior to booking downtown Cozumel. We've visited the island many times but never took the time to stay longer than a day. We wanted a place to stay where we could walk and enjoy the local culture, cuisine and atmosphere. Villas Las Anclas fits that bill. It is a cool haven right off the main streets, only 10 minutes from the airport.

When we were there Jim and his wife just happened to be staying there also; visiting with friends he's made over the years in Cozumel. He was in the process of acquiring Villas Las Anclas and was a good source of information about the local area. He and his wife were helpful, knowledgable and as another reviewer said, they are kind. We don't dive, but if you do he would be a good source of information about where to go and what to see.

The Villas are clean, large and quiet, with good water pressure, wifi service. The only negative, (and this is a small one) would be the beds are queen size and a tad hard (which is better than too soft). We look forward to repeating our week visit again next year.

Jill and Mike Miller

Room Tip: All of the rooms are equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Makeithappen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

The best hotel in cozuml ! No doubt about it, the price is very cheap compare to the value you get! Dag, the owner is very kind and helpful, :) looking forward for next year, Tal and Rotem from Israel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rotem1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

las anclas is a a beautiful place, the architecture is tres chic, the owner is very friendly and the service is good! its just one street away from la plaza, central point in downtown. very special apartment hotel-we loved it!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank advistripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#9 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
4.4 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Las Anclas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Las Anclas

Property: Villas Las Anclas
Address: South 5th Avenue 325, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Las Anclas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet small hotel complex with seven villa style suites, surrounded by a tropical garden with a private atmosphere. One block away from the ocean in the heart of Cozumel where you find restaurants, bars, main shopping areas and the pier to Playa del Carmen. The attention and suites are wonderful with everything you need. We are able to offer stay and dive packages with several local dive shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Las Anclas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Las Anclas Hotel Cozumel
Hotel Las Anclas
Las Anclas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing