We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean; good location; great service from Karla; good price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Las Anclas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villas Las Anclas
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean; good location; great service from Karla; good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

My 13 year old son and I just stayed here for 4 nights / 5 days. Karla is the manager and does a great job from check-in to check-out - she is always providing great service by arranging scooter rentals, providing maps and directions for places to eat or buy groceries, ordering taxis, etc. The villas are clean and in good shape. They are 2 story with a queen size bed and bathroom upstairs with a circular staircase. The kitchenette, dining table, and den / living room are downstairs. There is an outdoor pool (small but nice for cooling off), outdoor shower, outdoor drying racks (eg swimsuits or scuba gear), a BBQ grill for use, and outdoor lounge chairs and sitting area. There is a electromagnetic gate for secure guest access after hours. The neighborhood is 2 walking blocks from the main seaside road - and IMO the perfect walking distance to shops, restaurants, traffic noise, etc. You are in the heart of the town but on a relatively quiet block. My son and I felt very safe walking around after dark. The excellent dive shop Tres Pelicanos (see separate review posted) is adjacent to the hotel - which was extremely convenient for us over our 6 wonderful dives with them. Even though the dive shop does turnkey service - it was helpful to be so close for registrations and ad hoc questions through multi day dives. The hotel is owned separately from the dive shop but they work as collaborative good neighbors - which benefits the customers IMO. In summary, the hotel and dive shop are genuinely interested in their customers being satisfied and even exceeding our expectations.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    31
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
213
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our 9th year at Hotel Villas Las Anclas. This hotel is perfect for us --enter the gate and it feels like an oasis in the middle of the city -- a beautiful garden and retreat away from the street. The suites are like a little apartment with plenty of space, very clean, along with excellent and accommodating staff. The new owners, who have been here about 2 years now, have been steadily upgrading many things -- and it shows. There is privacy when you want it or companionship with other guests in the courtyard for late afternoon drinks or early morning coffee. Close to many shops and restaurants -- and within walking distance of grocery stores. There is a small kitchenette -- just enough for breakfast, lunch and snacks -- leave the bigger meals for going out to eat! Spacious enough for us and our adult son.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

My two buddies and I stayed here the first week of March 2014 and we had a great time! The staff, along with the owner were very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the other guests as well thanks to the small common courtyard.

It's also a great location to explore San Miguel and the many resturants nearby.

We were there to dive and having the Tres Pelicanos dive operator next door was very handy for us.

The next time we're in Cozumel, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BitBuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the VLA for 8 nights in late February on our first trip to Cozumel. We are relatively new divers in our 50s and were looking for a good hotel and a good dive shop with fair rates near the town. We got this with the VLA and its neighbor and tenant, Tres Pelicanos Dive Center. We debated on whether to stay near town or along the west shore and we didn’t want to rent a car for the whole week. We were within walking distance to the town and took advantage of the entertainment, shops, restaurants, and local markets. We just went next door on the morning of our dives. We did share a rental car one day with new friends from the hotel and toured the island.

VLA is a small hotel with only about 7 rooms. We liked this. Our room had a small kitchenette, with small fridge, micro, sink and dishes, and a living room on the first floor. The bedroom and bath up a circular staircase was quaint and the entire room was spacious and comfortable with good A/C. The hotel has a small courtyard in which the tenants hung out in the evenings and got to know each other. The common grill in the courtyard was great and we grilled locally-bought fish and chicken occasionally. The small pool was a nice place in the early afternoon to get sun and cool off. The daily maid service was nice with clean towels. The hotel is clean and kept up. The manager, Karla, was great and helped in anyway she could. The owner we spoke with, Jim, is a terrific guy.

We recommend the VLA. Many of its tenants are repeat customers who stay quite a while. It was nice to be able to talk with those who have experience on the island.

Brian H

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Let's see. It is rustic enough to feel like Mexico. It is stylish enough to avoid being cliche'. Close enough to town to be convenient. Quirky enough to surprise you. The staff is very hospitable. It ain't the Ritz, but it is a great place to stay for the price.

My 2 & 4 year old kids loved the open spiral staircase. My wife was kind of nervous about that. The blue lit Mayan sculpture outside the window gave the kids their own shock. They called it "the monster". They loved the little dipping pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at Villas Las Anclas for 2 weeks over the Christmas holiday. This was our first visit. We had a great time! I can't say enough about Doug's help. He was extremely attentive to any need. We got great recommendations for dinner, umbrellas on rainy days and lots of beach towels. Doug even lent me his dry bag for keeping our stuff dry on the dive boat. Our rooms were modest but completely adequate. Thanks to Merci, our room was kept immaculately clean. Showers were hot, which was appreciated after a long day diving. The bed was comfortable, the A/C worked great and the kitchen was well equipped with a small fridge. The hotel was very secure and I never worried about intruders. The pool was gorgeous with a large grill nearby. Wi-Fi worked flawlessly and was free. There was a small grocery 1 block away and a huge grocery about 5 blocks away. We were only 2 blocks off the downtown square, but the hotel was quiet at night.
Since we are divers, having Tres Pelicanos Dive Shop next door was a huge positive. We are looking forward to our next stay at Las Anclas in Cozumel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed at Villa Las Anclas for the first time between Jan 7-10, 2014. The villas where fantastic! They where two storey townhouse style villas, with luxurious winding staircase, really comfortable bed and small kitchen type area with utensils and beer fridge. The property was gated with a simple gate lock system and had a fantastic pool that was very clean and refreshing. The villas are located very centrally and I could easily access bars, restaurants and dive shops within seconds from the villa. Getting to an from the ferry terminal was only blocks away as well. The staff was very friendly and the facility was very clean. If you are looking for some local advise, speak with Karla the Operations Manager, she speaks great English and can help you find virtually anything you would require on Cozumel. Overall I loved my stay, I would definitely return and definitely recommend it to a friend. Thanks to the staff of Villas Las Anclas!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ed_nergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#13 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
4.4 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#8 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Las Anclas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Las Anclas

Property: Villas Las Anclas
Address: South 5th Avenue 325, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Las Anclas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet small hotel complex with seven villa style suites, surrounded by a tropical garden with a private atmosphere. One block away from the ocean in the heart of Cozumel where you find restaurants, bars, main shopping areas and the pier to Playa del Carmen. The attention and suites are wonderful with everything you need. We are able to offer stay and dive packages with several local dive shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villas Las Anclas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Las Anclas Hotel Cozumel
Hotel Las Anclas
Las Anclas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing