We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little hotel”
Review of Villas Las Anclas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villas Las Anclas
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming little hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We are just returning from our trip to Cozumel and really enjoyed staying here. Small hotel with great service. They have a beautiful courtyard/gardens which makes it seem miles from the city. It is close enough to walk to many restaurants nearby. Also next to a GREAT dive shop Tres Pelicanos which makes it super convenient. I think we have found our home away from home any time we will be in Cozumel. Thanks Karla, Maria and Jim for a wonderful little oasis.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    32
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
53
220
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Not sure I can or need to add to any of the previous hundreds of great reviews Villas Las Anclas recieved. They deserve them all and more.
Top notch operation, great service, very clean and nicely organized lofts, perfect for a couple, all for a very reasonable price.
We enjoyed the quaint atmosphere, loved the next door dive service, and have nothing but good words to say about the the owners.
And did I mention that downtown is around the corner and for good eat and drink you don't even need to leave their street? If you walked more than 1000 feet for any of them, you walked too far...!
Thank you Jim. We will be back.

Room Tip: No need. All lofts are the same size and layout and they are all good. Living area and kitchenette d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malbalancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Pines, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We highly recommend Villa Las Anclas to those who like the ambiance of a small hotel while on vacation. Our room was perfect for our family, downstairs access to a little garden (serenaded by tropical birds and palms in the breeze) with an upstairs loft/bedroom. Jim (co-owner) is always available to assist Karla, the manager, in catering to the guests. The excellent Tres Pelicanos dive shop adjoins the lobby - freshly made coffee on the way out for morning dives - the pool and patio seating perfect for recharging with a book in the afternoon.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We decided to stay at Villa Las Anclas due to the great reviews on here. What a great place to stay while in Cozumel. The hotel is very pretty, quaint and quiet. The rooms are very nice and the upstairs sleeping accommodations separated from the main living area is a perfect setup. Karla is a fantastic property manager and we found Jim (co-owner) to be a very nice and personable guy. The hotel is in town - a short walk to the main square and a short walk to lots of great restaurants. If you're a diver then the hotel is perfect as there are outdoor areas to wash equipment and dry your gear. At night the patio and grill area is lit very nicely and the hotel has a very nice ambience.
We'd definitely choose to stay at Villa Las Anclas for all future Cozumel trips.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquatime
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is our fifth trip to Cozumel in the last seven years and our first visit to the Villas Las Anclas. We had the most enjoyable stay over a 12 day diving vacation. Karla is an exceptional manager and Jim is a courteous and charming host. As a team they ensure their guest are confortable and they have many suggestions for restaurants and activities. The suites are clean and functional, and the pool and grounds are meticulously maintained. There is daily room cleaning and unlimited beach towel exchange. However, the best asset of this hotel has to be the location. It is walking distance to many local affordable and wonderful restaurants, grocery stores and the main plaza and duty free shopping. It is also a 5-minute walk to the ferry to Playa Del Carmen. There are a number of reputable dive shops within walking distance of the hotel on 5th avenue and one block east on 10th avenue. All of them are very competitive in their pricing and service offerings. Everything is so convenient it was a pleasure to be so well situated. The area is very safe and we often came back in the evenings after dinner and never felt any security issues. If you are looking for an alternative to the touristic all inclusive resort experience, try the Villas Las Anclas for a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aquatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Yes another great stay at the best place in town. The rooms are just as good and the courtyard is just as pretty and relaxing as before and still the perfect place to while away an afternoon with a book and a rum and pineapple when the t-shirt shopping is all done. I took advantage of the new pool a couple of times too which is small but bigger than you think and twice as pretty.
We met lots of people who have been returning here for years just like us but as we will be back again soon that is not too surprising. Not everyone there is a diver but many are and the Tres Pelicanos dive shop next door is just perfect so check out the reviews for that too. As an added bonus Jim is selling home made sausages, just perfect for the bbq

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

My 13 year old son and I just stayed here for 4 nights / 5 days. Karla is the manager and does a great job from check-in to check-out - she is always providing great service by arranging scooter rentals, providing maps and directions for places to eat or buy groceries, ordering taxis, etc. The villas are clean and in good shape. They are 2 story with a queen size bed and bathroom upstairs with a circular staircase. The kitchenette, dining table, and den / living room are downstairs. There is an outdoor pool (small but nice for cooling off), outdoor shower, outdoor drying racks (eg swimsuits or scuba gear), a BBQ grill for use, and outdoor lounge chairs and sitting area. There is a electromagnetic gate for secure guest access after hours. The neighborhood is 2 walking blocks from the main seaside road - and IMO the perfect walking distance to shops, restaurants, traffic noise, etc. You are in the heart of the town but on a relatively quiet block. My son and I felt very safe walking around after dark. The excellent dive shop Tres Pelicanos (see separate review posted) is adjacent to the hotel - which was extremely convenient for us over our 6 wonderful dives with them. Even though the dive shop does turnkey service - it was helpful to be so close for registrations and ad hoc questions through multi day dives. The hotel is owned separately from the dive shop but they work as collaborative good neighbors - which benefits the customers IMO. In summary, the hotel and dive shop are genuinely interested in their customers being satisfied and even exceeding our expectations.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#9 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
4.4 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Las Anclas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Las Anclas

Property: Villas Las Anclas
Address: South 5th Avenue 325, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Las Anclas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet small hotel complex with seven villa style suites, surrounded by a tropical garden with a private atmosphere. One block away from the ocean in the heart of Cozumel where you find restaurants, bars, main shopping areas and the pier to Playa del Carmen. The attention and suites are wonderful with everything you need. We are able to offer stay and dive packages with several local dive shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villas Las Anclas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Las Anclas Hotel Cozumel
Hotel Las Anclas
Las Anclas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing