We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Delightful”
Review of Villas Las Anclas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Las Anclas
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoita, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Utterly Delightful”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

It's hard to add anything else to the long list of superlatives already used in the reviews for Las Anclas. There was not one thing I could have asked to be improved. The hot water was quick and abundant. The air conditioning responded to a quick touch on the remote. The internet connection was excellent upstairs. The bottled water was replaced as needed. The style is very artistic and yet very practical. The location was ideal for my needs. And then there is Pedro! A gem of a gentleman. Hasta luego, Las Anclas!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonia101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    32
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
226
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2010

When planning our vacation this year, we had a lot of options in terms of places and countries to choose from, however, we just couldn't resist the call of Cozumel. A large part of that reason is Villas Las Anclas, we stayed here a year and a half ago and it was the most wonderful vacation we had taken up until then. We had wondered if maybe time had made this memory even better then it was and we just had to come back to find out. The moment we stepped into the front gates of Villas Las Anclas, we knew it was not just a memory. Dear Pedro greeted us at the door and it was like seeing a wonderful friend again. Pedro exudes a warmth we had never experienced on any of our vacations before and made us feel like family. The rooms and courtyard were just as clean, beautiful, and peaceful as we had remembered and it felt like coming back to our second home. We are happy to say that this vacation was even better than our last vacation and is our best vacation yet. We look forward to coming back and to having many more wonderful memories here at Las Anclas.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancychu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Every time we return to Cozumel, my wife and I briefly consider trying a new place to stay. But every year, we return to Villa Las Anclas, because we believe no one else on the island can match the generous spirit and hospitality of Don Pedro, the owner of the hotel.
Whatever you may need, or wherever you may want to go, Pedro can direct you. Delicious restaurants in all price ranges, a fair place to rent a car, or a qualified dive shop. Not only can he recommend restaurants, but will often join you for dinner--telling exciting stories about running a hotel.

The rooms are exceptionally clean, and brightly decorated with artwork and stained glass windows. The downstairs has a kitchenette with fridge, microwave and supplies for dining in. The living area looks over and individual mini-garden and unique scultpture. The sofas can be made into extra beds.

The upstairs bedroom contains a floor to ceiling window that looks out over the gorgeous courtyard garden. At night all of the gardens are lit, it's a beautiful place to relax on the patio to drink a couple of cervazas and chat with the other guests.

The bathroom shower is hot, with plenty of pressure and lucious body care products. My wife even had someone ask the name of her perfume!

The in town location is perfect for shopping, dining, or a friendly stroll. Because it's two blocks from the square, it's quiet, yet convienent. Keep your big box resorts, with crowds of people and buffet food prepared in bulk. Villa Las Anclas is just the subtle retreat for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorganRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

When considering where to go for our vacation this year, we had many options to travel to different countries, however, we just couldn't stay away from coming back to Cozumel and Villas Las Anclas was a huge part of that decision. It was like coming back to visit our friends and coming to our second home. Everything is just as we remembered! It was just as clean, comfortable, and peaceful as last year and seeing dear Pedro brought a smile to our faces and a warmth in our hearts. We love coming here and can see why people come back year after year after year.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Away from the hustle'n bustle, in-town... walking distance from all... this modest, private hotel was all we needed. The style: 8 or so duplex apartments-- clean, spacious, well-cared for. Bottled water provided in the kitchenette with amenities like a coffee maker, fridge and stove. The room rate-- way below what it could be. Though understandable since there is no swimming pool or bar or loud crowds. The owner, Pedro, (who is bilingual & passionate about the arts) is exactly as other visitors described him-- attentive, thoughtful, jovial and caring! His home is on the premises, hence why the hotel is so cared for. He gave us a warm welcome... reviewed a map with us and gave us tips on where to go and which places to avoid. A true, local concierge at your fingertips. For instance, his recommendation of La Kinta Mexican Bistro was right on point... excellent! Isis rentals was also great for the convertible bug we rented to tour around the island.

Las Anclas is ideal if you have a free-spirit. It is a great place to sleep, rest, relax & cool-off. The AC is efficient and there is hot water to shower. Bed is comfortable and TV has cable, if you prefer to be indoors. Truly, if your intention is to see the island and explore the different beaches, this place will afford you the chance at a reasonable price. If you're looking for a waterfront all inclusive resort, look elsewhere. We opted to save on the hotel cost, still being comfortable, but free to do much more on Cozumel... Scuba/touring/driving and eat'n drink...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoBaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 6 days and the accommodations are really nice- spacious, clean, simple room, with comfy couches, nice eating area, basic kitchen needs. They supplied us with a half gallon of fresh water and coffee daily. Location is ideal- just far away from the Plaza, but walking distance to everything. Also, free wifi.

Pedro, the owner, is the best part. He was always available to assist us in our needs and has the best restaurant recommendations that were local and delicious!

We plan to return and will return to Las Anclas.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi-Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

There's nothing that wasn't positive about our recent stay at Las Anclas. Pedro is a most accommodating host and has lived in Cozumel for years - he can help connect visitors with services, recommend restaurants, and tell you how things run in Cozumel. And, as a former owner of a local dive shop, he can provide insight into what's worth it and what's not when choosing among dive operations. And he is always concerned about making sure your experiences on holiday are good ones.

The hotel is well situated: near downtown Cozumel (2-3 blocks from the central plaza) but located on a relatively quiet street. The orientation of the hotel ensures that no room is on a thoroughfare so it's pretty tranquil even though there's plenty of activity within just a few blocks. A walk to the plaza is just a few minutes, and it's less than 10 minutes to the ferry (to Playa del Carmen).

The rooms are well kept, clean, and nicely appointed. Bedroom and bathroom on the second floor, kitchen and living room on the ground floor. I doubt you can find a better place for the dollar. Each room (we stayed in two different ones - one when we arrived, and one when we came back to Cozumel after spending time on the Yucatan peninsula) has a beautiful stained glass flower mosaic, the bedrooms have these great colorful globe lights.

The courtyard that runs in front of all the rooms is quiet, comfortable, peaceful, and a feast for the eyes. I wish we had had more time just to enjoy.

Lastly, it's hard to express how gracious Pedro is as a host. While we were there, he very kindly allowed us to adapt our needs for the room with our schedules (like a late flight departure). We were truly able to enjoy the quiet of the hotel and the oasis it provides from the busy life of Cozumel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_heavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,071 reviews
3.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
333 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
4.4 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Las Anclas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Las Anclas

Property: Villas Las Anclas
Address: South 5th Avenue 325, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Las Anclas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet small hotel complex with seven villa style suites, surrounded by a tropical garden with a private atmosphere. One block away from the ocean in the heart of Cozumel where you find restaurants, bars, main shopping areas and the pier to Playa del Carmen. The attention and suites are wonderful with everything you need. We are able to offer stay and dive packages with several local dive shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villas Las Anclas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Las Anclas Hotel Cozumel
Hotel Las Anclas
Las Anclas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing