We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Occidental Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Occidental Cozumel
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Great staff, the hotel runs like a Swiss watch. Very professional. My only beef is with the check in.
It went smoothly they know what they are doing it is just that the rooms are supposed to be ready at 3:00pm and most people didn't get in until 5:00pm
Beach nice, good dive shop, good snorkeling and had plenty of tours for divers even night dives so a great time. Would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: the rooms are not on the beach, they have small either patios or balconies
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank happybevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,777)
There are newer reviews for Occidental Cozumel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,133 - 2,139 of 4,777 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our second time at the Occidental - another memorable stay...
This small size resort makes it perfect for personalized service.
The staff is very friendly and eager to help.
The food is simply wonderful, even in low season.
The Old Mexican style decor is sure to help you "disconnect" - looove those colors!
If only I could've fit one of those frogs in my luggage.......... :)
The rooms are very beautiful.
The beds are hard, but surprisingly comfortable.
The beach is quiet, perfect for reading on and on and on... chairs for everyone, always.
My husband went scuba diving (amizing he said!): deal directly from the Pandi desk, right next to the beach restaurant - don't bother buying an expensive excursion with your travel guide.
Occidental Grand Cozumel... the perfect destination!!!

Room Tip: Second floor is really the best, facing the "inside" of the resort (not the jungle).
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I just returned from our second stay at Occidental Grand. We were there for 8 days including Thanksgiving. The resort is beautiful and well kept. The beach is absolutely the best. The staff does a wonderful job taking care of everyone. The beds are hard but they are that way at the other resorts also. Thanksgiving dinner was nice. They did a great job decorating the dining room. Loved all the wildlife around the resort. The only complaint that we have about the resort is the bars. It is an all inclusive resort but they close the bars early and the only way to get a drink - even a coke, is to walk to the front of the resort and get a drink in the bar by the main lobby. It would be nice if they had a self-serve pop machine at the beach. The lines can get pretty long at times while waiting for a drink. Also, tell the timeshare people no when you check in. It will save you tons of headaches.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2Dive2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

THE STAFF
The staff are pleasant but not outstanding

THE BEACH
The beach is perfect, plenty of chairs,

TRIPS
Trip to Cobe is worth every penny! Left hotel at 6.15 AM, back at 7.30 PM (ask Pierre from West Jet). Cobe is the only Mayan's pyramid you can climb.

VACATION CLUB
Stay away from them.

COFFEE
The coffee in every bar taste horrible! Not drinkable without dressing with something.
No espresso, no cappuccino!
I did talk to managers on duty first 2 days about and they did nothing about.
From staff I learned they used to have one (1) espresso machine , but it got broken while ago.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benedyktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had a great time on the beach. Entertainment was great at night. The people are extremely friendly. The food did not have lots of variety but the chef seasoned things correctly. Missed my bacon though. Love to go back again next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This Is A Must Visit Resort! Love The Atmosphere, Love The People! The One Thing About The Occidental Grand Is The Food... Its Mediocre At Best... I Suggest Going Into Town Or Somewhere Else For Food If At All Possible.

Room Tip: Get Food Elsewhere And Participate In The Events. ie: Go To The Club, Watch The Shows, Play Pool Vol...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I had an awesome time at the Occidental Grand. I will start with my favorite staffer Marcelino! He is one of the activities people, and was by far the most outstanding. He really helped in making our week fun.Thank You, Marcelino for making our time the great. Franklin (The Bartender) You make great Long Islands!!!, Otenil (Activities), Cristal (Food Service) are just to name a few. The weather was great the whole time we were at the resort. Rooms, very large and in the shower, the water pressure will knock you to the back wall! Cab rides will cost $34.00 roundtrip. The food at the buffet was ok, the specialty restaurants were much better. Hey what are you really there to do? Dive, Snorkel, Lay by the pool and drink! The only thing that they REALLY need to work on is the "Vacation Club" people, they say they are not "Time Share" but a laughable "Time Share". Just be firm at the onset and tell them "No I am Not Interested" and they will stay away. Try Prima's, Pepe's, or La Mission restaurants downtown they are fantastic. A dinner for two will run you between $60 - $80 US but it is well worth it. I hope this helps you your decision. Oh and by the way.....we are going back next year!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the jungle.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bigdaddy3076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#25 of 52 in Cozumel
4,569 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
4,972 reviews
13.8 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
5.8 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cozumel

Address: Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Cozumel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £111 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the Caribbean’s most famous reef system could match the beauty and splendor of the Occidental Grand Cozumel, which is exactly why the two exist side-by-side. Located on Cozumel’s gorgeous San Francisco beach, just above the bottomless blue paradise of the Palancar Reef system, you’ll find an authentic-style state that delivers all the luxuries of a private oceanside hacienda. Gourmet dining, bright and airy rooms, nightly music and entertainment, daily sports and beach activities and an on-site spa and salon make the Occidental grand Cozumel the jewel of any Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Barcelo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Grand Hotel Cozumel
Grand Cozumel
Grand Occidental Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing