We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr.”
Review of Occidental Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Occidental Cozumel
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Good value, highly consistent. Have stayed here 4-5 times since 2006. We always dive in the morning and spend the afternoon on the beach. Unlike at the Iberostar, there is no charge for dive operators to pick clients up on the resort's pier. The onsite dive operator runs a good schedule and the masters are always helpful.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Texasman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,224 - 2,230 of 4,919 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

My family and I traveled here in June 2013 and were very pleased with this hotel. The room was nice and we enjoyed our stay here. It has a nice, sandy beach that is good for swimming and some light snorkeling. The food reservations served very good food. The food in the regular buffet was average, but not bad.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a good air conditioning unit in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

May husband and I have only been on 4 'beach vacations', but agree that our stay at the Occidental was our favorite so far. We stayed in the Royal Club and had excellent service from a friendly staff, a well maintained room, and close access to the beach.
The breakfast and lunch buffet were good, and with the Royal Club we also had our own private Royal Club restaurant at our access that offered a break from the buffets. The specialty restaurants were very nice and the maitre d (sp?) at Sonora even provided a special dish when asked what he recommended. It was grilled grouper and rib eye steak and it was absolutely delicious. :-)
We really loved that the main pool was on the beach. And although we had read a few negative complaints about the walkway access through the Mangroves, we thought it was really a unique feature that we all liked.
Our friends brought their 4 yr old and 7 yr old boys and there was always a planned activity for them to do if desired. There were a lot of kids and activity at the main pool. There was a quiet pool for the more sedate vacationers. And the Royal Club had a small private pool. The beach was our favorite place to spend time with plenty of chairs and shade umbrellas. The hotel is at the south end of the island where we were told the currents were less strong, but still had a wonderful sandy beach.
We were within 10 minute walk down the beach to Alberto's, which served seafood and drinks and played rock classics that we all had fun guessing the name and artist on. And our friends also rented a jet ski at Alberto's and had a good time riding.
We did deep sea fishing (which does not agree with me due to motion sickness). The crew was friendly and brought plenty of food and drink. - and agreed to bring half of us back to hotel due to rough waters then took the other more seaworthy people back out again to continue fishing.
We also really liked our Jeep Tour with Israel of Pantera Jeep Tours. It was one of our favorite excursions of the trip. Thanks Israel!!
The one thing would recommend to the hotel is a better television in the Lobby/Bar area. We watched football with other vacationers and all agreed that the television in this area was inferior to even the ones in our rooms -when it should have been newer and larger one for gatherings such as ours. But that is only a hotel suggestion and did not detract from our time spent at the Occidental.
A BIG thank you from my husband and I to all the staff at the Occidental for making our vacation a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to beach are better to avoid the noise of the disco and main lobby/entertainment areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vice77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This resort is older and is in need of some TLC. At other resorts we have visited, they were always painting or cleaning and this resort could be beautiful if they just did some basic upkeep. The time share reps were not bad but we avoided them completely due to other reviews we read. I also chose not to answer our phone since I was also warned they called your room. On several occasions we would stop by our room momentarily and ironically the phone would ring. We later noticed a button in the door casing at the top that I believe may be how they knew if we were coming or going, otherwise, how did they know? Their was little variety for food but what they did have we enjoyed. Great omelets in the morning. They do need more staff at the pool/beach area. There was always a long line to get drinks and only half of our vacation did they have someone going around to get drink orders. And they do not have straws...so if you like your cocktails with straws, bring your own. We actually picked up a few at Starbucks when we left the resort one day to do some shopping. The coffee is not good and they do not offer any kind of latte's or expresso's. The rooms were ok, we did have a leak in our bathroom ceiling. They did do a great job cleaning our room every morning in a timely fashion and re-stocking the mini fridge. All in all, the resort was just ok. We still had a great time but we have found better experiences staying at RIU or Dreams.

Room Tip: Building 18 or 19 since they are closer to the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Rooms were large and clean. Food was decent. The entertainment around the pool was great. Not sure what you call the people that work for the resort that are like camp counselors but they were fabulous.
This resort is very relaxing and is located in a tropical forest setting. Lots of foliage, lizards, birds and pigs (3 of them (no kidding)). There are two pools and the ocean to swim, lounge in. One pool is very quiet and tranquil the other there is always something going on. Water volleyball, water polo, water exercises, guacamole making demo etc. The beach, next to the fun pool, has palappas (to get out of the sun) lounge chairs and GREAT snorkeling. The dive shop is right on the property and they have other great excursions from there.
Beds are firm (which I love) and the air conditioner was Fabulous! This allowed your stuff to dry over night.
The rest of the staff was great too. We will definitely go back again. I don't know how much it costs since it was a company trip so I can't comment if it was worth the money.
Annoying: The people that are trying to see you time shares/vacation club...

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd level. Nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brenturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Great staff, the hotel runs like a Swiss watch. Very professional. My only beef is with the check in.
It went smoothly they know what they are doing it is just that the rooms are supposed to be ready at 3:00pm and most people didn't get in until 5:00pm
Beach nice, good dive shop, good snorkeling and had plenty of tours for divers even night dives so a great time. Would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: the rooms are not on the beach, they have small either patios or balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank happybevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our second time at the Occidental - another memorable stay...
This small size resort makes it perfect for personalized service.
The staff is very friendly and eager to help.
The food is simply wonderful, even in low season.
The Old Mexican style decor is sure to help you "disconnect" - looove those colors!
If only I could've fit one of those frogs in my luggage.......... :)
The rooms are very beautiful.
The beds are hard, but surprisingly comfortable.
The beach is quiet, perfect for reading on and on and on... chairs for everyone, always.
My husband went scuba diving (amizing he said!): deal directly from the Pandi desk, right next to the beach restaurant - don't bother buying an expensive excursion with your travel guide.
Occidental Grand Cozumel... the perfect destination!!!

Room Tip: Second floor is really the best, facing the "inside" of the resort (not the jungle).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
5,061 reviews
2 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
3,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#22 of 52 in Cozumel
4,628 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,325 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cozumel

Address: Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Cozumel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £121 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the Caribbean’s most famous reef system could match the beauty and splendor of the Occidental Grand Cozumel, which is exactly why the two exist side-by-side. Located on Cozumel’s gorgeous San Francisco beach, just above the bottomless blue paradise of the Palancar Reef system, you’ll find an authentic-style state that delivers all the luxuries of a private oceanside hacienda. Gourmet dining, bright and airy rooms, nightly music and entertainment, daily sports and beach activities and an on-site spa and salon make the Occidental grand Cozumel the jewel of any Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Grand Hotel Cozumel
Grand Cozumel
Grand Occidental Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing