We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break”
Review of Occidental Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Occidental Cozumel
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Rockport, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spring Break”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I took a large family group (7 adults and 3 kids) for a spring break trip. The OGC is in a perfect location and the grounds are very well kept. No major problems with the rooms and the minor ones were taken care of quickly. They were able to put us all in the same building which was one of those that we requested (17, 18 or 19). These are a distance from the night-time action and very close to the pools.
We ate all meals at the buffet and most were quite good. Interesting that each night there was a different theme, but everything tasted the same. Due to the size of our group, we were unable to try any of the specialty restaurants, but didn't mind.
The kids really enjoyed the pool activities and were entertained the entire trip.
Diving: i recommend that you hook up with one of the smaller operations like Dive Hut. Pro Dive runs the operation at the OGC and is a cattle-car. If you are looking for a dive destination, you can do better.
As a family trip, it was very good.
I have stayed on Cozumel

Room Tip: look at the property map and choose a building close to your trip goal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear johnnyrob,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay. We sincerely hope to be able to host you and your family again in the near future.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,733
    1,505
    727
    377
    238
See reviews for
1,217
1,842
84
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Folks, you are in Mexico! The majority of the staff that work here enjoy their jobs and treat guests very well. The resort is clean and the food is good. This resort is one of my favorites. There was one sour puss at the front desk who really needed to go....but other than that we were all treated very well. Cleanliness is important to me and this resort met my strict requirements. I think a lot of the reviews on here tend to forget that they are not in the United States but in Mexico....

Plan ahead for late check in. That is how it is... Pack a suit and head to the beach when you get there. Enjoy a nice lunch and grab a cocktail Your suitcase will be delivered to your room!

While on vacation I put down the smart phone and put the laptop away. However, you can purchase internet for a daily fee. It may be a little pricey but do your REALLY need to check your email? Again, you are in Mexico.

While no resort is perfect I can tell you that this resort is clean, safe, staff in helpful, food is good, drinks are great, and the snorkeling off the beach if fantastic. I saw lots of fish right there...

The mattresses were a little hard but the clean linens and flowers on the bed made it okay.
I would highly recommend this resort to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Building 18 and 19 are very close to the "quiet" pool and a shorter distance to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Heidi K,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay of relaxation and fun in Cozumel Island!

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The employees were great! To list a few Renee the mc Ivan a the front is the best ,Jaime ovc, Francisco guest service was very helpful this hotel is very nice ,for sure will be back next year ..the restaurant is nice,food is good ,nice snorkel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Kevin P,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay. We appreciate your kidn comments on our staff, we'll let them know you kindly mentioned them in your review.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed the last week of May. Check-in was relatively painless; got done in under 20 minutes. Room was hot, A/C was not working, front desk personnel tried hard to get it fixed; we were told the central unit was not working at full capacity which affected it's abilty to cool the 3rd floor rooms. By bedtime temps were cool enough to relax. A/C was cool the rest of our visit.
The rainy season, along with bug season starts in May; bring bug spray as a can at the resort will run you $18...yes $18 for a small can of OFF. Same goes for sunscreen; very expensive! BYO bug spray and sunscreen or you will pay.
We have stayed at several Cozumel resorts including the Sabor, Allegro, and Iberostar. Occidental is comparable to all these resorts but also caters to "Royal Club" owners which is a step up in quality from the afforementioned resorts. Rooms are generally the same as these resorts, food is also pretty much the same. I would rate Iberostar higher for their food selection in the buffet. Sign up for the specialty restaurants; Mediterranean and Steak restaurants were great; we had vegetarians with us who also enjoyed the varieties. The Occidental has probably the best selection of top shelf liquor compared with any All-Inclusive resort in Cozumel and Cancun.
We dove with Dressel Divers located at the Iberostar which was an 8 minute stroll on the beach to the south. On site dive operation recently changed hands, so we preferred to stay with Dressel as we have a good past experience with them.
In-all, the vacation was great. Don't expect a luxury Cancun style resort; this is in the jungle...did I mention bring bug spray?

Room Tip: Bring bug spray and sunscreen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skierdudefred57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear skierdudefred57,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ijamsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel May 21-27th, 2014. This is our experience in the Royal club. We were taken to the Royal club for check in, which was super fast. Our room was not ready so made dinner reservations for two nights, grab a glass of champagne and went to the royal club restaurant for lunch, which was amazing (All Al La Carte). We were taken to our room immediately after lunch.

The room was huge and clean, the air con worked just fine. We walked to the beach which I thought was beautiful and had an abundance of chairs with shade.
The grounds were amazing, I loved the jungle feel and the fountains, very relaxing.

Every day we made dinner reservations though our private concierge. We had three dinner at each restaurant, Mediterranean, Mexican and the Royal club restaurant. Which were all amazing. They had filet, fish and chicken options....Delicious!!! The royal club restaurant also serves Al La Carte breakfast and lunch, which we ate everyday and it was delicious.

The drinks were great too. Grey Goose and kettle One in the Royal club. Great tequila at the main bar, and service. The workers here are so friendly and helpful.

I probably would not stay here if I did not choose the Royal Club. It seems like you will be stuck eating a buffet for every meal, and you only get the Al La Cart options once or twice depending on your lenth of stay. We never ate the buffet food, so I cant say if it was good or not. We went to eat at the beach front place, but they turned us away because we were in our beach attire and no shoes...its a beach bar!!

Pro dive was great. We did 8 dives with them and enjoyed each dive, and the instructors were amazing.

I would highly recommend the Royal Club when booking here. Extra restaurant, extra service= better vacation!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HP1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear HP1221,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay. We are glad you enjoyed the outstanding service of the Royal Club, and appreciate your kind comments regarding.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

- very poor welcome
- delays in preparing the rooms (+-30 min) instead of trying to have them ready earlier when they see guests arrived early. no cuztomer focus from reception staff.
- Buffet food quality is not acceptable. very oily, and poor kitchen cleanleaness
- Internet access extremely expensive (10USD per hour or +-30USD per day)
- no clear explainations provided on what is inclused (i.e: kayak, snorkeling,..)

Room Tip: avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Anthony K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your feedback and you can be certain we will take your comments into consideration in order to maintain our quality standards. We sincerely apologize for not having met your expectations regarding service.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The setting is nice and the grounds are beautiful, but they've missed the mark on quality and improvements. Things are falling apart all around you.

Do not bother with the so-called special dinning at any of the "reservation-only" restaurants. The food there is not any better than buffet food. And not the mention the terrible one-kind wine they offer.

It can be a convenient place to stay if you scuba dive since they have their own dive shop, most dive sites are within close proximity and the trips take off right from there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straightup3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear straightup3,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your feedback and you can be certain we will take your comments into consideration in order to maintain our quality standards.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
0.4 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#24 of 52 in Cozumel
4,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4,856 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
2.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cozumel

Property: Occidental Cozumel
Address: Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Cozumel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the Caribbean’s most famous reef system could match the beauty and splendor of the Occidental Grand Cozumel, which is exactly why the two exist side-by-side. Located on Cozumel’s gorgeous San Francisco beach, just above the bottomless blue paradise of the Palancar Reef system, you’ll find an authentic-style state that delivers all the luxuries of a private oceanside hacienda. Gourmet dining, bright and airy rooms, nightly music and entertainment, daily sports and beach activities and an on-site spa and salon make the Occidental grand Cozumel the jewel of any Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Grand Hotel Cozumel
Grand Cozumel
Grand Occidental Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing