We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Vacation”
Review of Occidental Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Occidental Cozumel
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Was really concerned when i had read reviews before going... but have to say that i was pleasantly suprized with our vacation there. The room was very clean and very spacious although we didn't spend alot of time there. The only complaint was that the air conditioning was a bit noisy. The beach was great, kept clean every day of seaweed. Make sure you take some bug spray... while I was expecting the mosquitos to be bad after reading a previous review.. they were not bad at all if you take precautions. Lisa at check in was very pleasant and our rooms were ready when she said. Pretty much at all these resorts rooms are never available until after 3 pm but you can eat lunch at the Beach Club while you wait. Lunch was ok everyday.. only one place for you to eat lunch and the variety was the same every day. If you are going to go shopping downtown be prepared the cab ride is not cheap. But if you do go downtown.. you have to eat at Guido's .. amazing food and awesome service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Michele B,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,844 - 1,850 of 4,813 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

I had not been back to the property since April, 2007. That trip was with our diving club. This trip was also a diving vacation but it was with my family-5 divers and 3 non divers. We have stayed at several other resorts on Cozumel over the past 15 years. Except for the fact that the air conditioning system throughout the property was not operating at normal efficiency-sometimes not at all--the overall condition of the property was excellent-except that the rooms need some upgrade work. Check the status of the AC before you book--do not stay in the third floor rooms--sweltering heat--due to the breakdown in the centrally controlled cooling units.
The food as always was very good-especially in the 2 specialty restaurants. Note that you can always ask for more food in the specialty restaurants. The staff was very friendly and attentive. We all concluded that the alcohol is diluted-so if you want a normal drink ask for more alcohol--they are happy to accommodate. They clearly need a larger bar and more than one bartender at the main pool. I recall that they also used to have a walk up pool bar--It was a much better way to serve the patrons.

The dive shop--Pro Dive was very good from a service and knowledge perspective-the dive masters were very good. Joe and DU DU were awesome. The rental equipment that my 2 adult sons rented was very good quality and was generally in great shape--except that the hi pressure line on on of the regulators ruptured when the valve was opened.The boats were in good condition--tank holders were worn however and several times tanks fell out of the holders. Our collective common complaint was that on most dives the O rings had to be replaced. One other dive couple-master divers- said they thought it was at 7 out of 8 times. We especially like the very comprehensive cleaning and dry out of our equipment by the staff the day before our departure--never had to ask --they just did it. We all agree that this is one of our most favorite resorts-with the caveats noted. No place is perfect.

Room Tip: If you are a diver or have a family with small children--stay in buildings 16 thru 19--long walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Tom C,

Thanks for your detailed review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We appreciate your comments about the Prodive operation which we will share with the Management in order to guarantee our guests' satisfaction.

We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay of diving and relaxation.


Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We enjoyed a fabulous stay in May. This is our third 2 week vacation here-we've loved every trip! Our room was great-clean and comfortable. The food was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed great diving with Pro Divers-they are running the dive operation at the hotel. They were very professional and we had lots of fabulous dives (3 every day until it was time to leave). Too many people ProDivers' larger boat was not the type of dive experience we enjoy. We missed the friendly crew of Dive Palancar & hope to dive with them when we return. They will pick you up at the dock.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveLove2Dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear LoveLove2Dive,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay. We appreciate your remarks on the dive shop and will share will Management.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The resort is located in a jungle setting off of the beach. The staff is very friendly and makes you feel very welcomed. There are several restaurants to select from at the resort. The activities and entertainment are great. Francisco at front desk and the rest of the staff are amazing

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Josh A,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay. We'll let Francisco know you kindly mentioned him in your review.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The pool and view are beautiful. Waitstaff are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and cool whenever you enter. Any questions you have will be promptly answered by front staff! Recommend if you are looking for gorgeous beach view! Ivan a the front desk is the best

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Nickuly,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We are please to know you enjoyed our staff's service and particularly, Ivan's. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Occidental Grand Cozumel, is the best place to stay! I keep coming back year after year and it keeps getting better. Everyone here is amazing. All the workers, take care of all your needs, if they don't have it they will find it. Sandra the head of entertainment makes sure you are always entertained. Marciella the manager runs a tight ship and is not afraid to help her fellow workers to make sure all is taking care of for the guest. Food and drinks was so good, thank you to the Captain for always making sure my baby girl got her fresh corn and my fellow friends had yummy dinner at the steakhouse La sonora. The bartenders at the pool bar, the beach and the first club are amazing especially Envis, Luis, carlos and Santos. Adrian from food services always made sure my food was to my every desire, thank you! One con to this year new Dive shop Pro divers suck, they overbook, lie to you and truly are just not nice! We miss dive palancar!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear chris s,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay. We'll let Sandra, Marcela and all the other employees you kindly mentioned them in your review.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A good place in Cozumel with an excellent Dive staff. Carla in guest services makes sure all is going well.

Check in was disorganized. I never got a towel card? But didn't have a problem until the last day then I could not get a pool towel. Our room was very good overall once we got it. Three room changes before we got checked in. The room key cards don't work well and some are labeled backwards. All in All I would still go back and they made every effort to correct things that were wrong.

Room Tip: If you want a little bit of a view get the third floor to look out over the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ombo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear ombo68,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay of diving and relaxation, we'll let Carla know you kindly mentioned her in your review.


Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#25 of 52 in Cozumel
4,577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
4,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
2.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,263 reviews
2.0 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
3,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cozumel

Address: Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Cozumel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £113 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the Caribbean’s most famous reef system could match the beauty and splendor of the Occidental Grand Cozumel, which is exactly why the two exist side-by-side. Located on Cozumel’s gorgeous San Francisco beach, just above the bottomless blue paradise of the Palancar Reef system, you’ll find an authentic-style state that delivers all the luxuries of a private oceanside hacienda. Gourmet dining, bright and airy rooms, nightly music and entertainment, daily sports and beach activities and an on-site spa and salon make the Occidental grand Cozumel the jewel of any Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Barcelo, Holiday Gems, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Occidental Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Grand Hotel Cozumel
Grand Cozumel
Grand Occidental Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing