We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Honeymon...”
Review of Occidental Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Occidental Cozumel
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Colorado City, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing Honeymon...”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel Service:
We found the hotel service to be good and responsive to the guests needs. Yes, at times bars and the front desk can be busy, but if you patiently wait all is well and your needs/wants are taken care of as best a possible.

Room Quality:
We arrived at our hotel around 5pm and were immediately checked in, we even got a king-size bed as requested months before our trip, through personal email and our Funjet trip advisor. The rooms/bathrooms are nice, big, and clean. The bed was hard, as most are in Mexico, but we were tired enough every night we didn't notice! We stayed in Room 1525, the 15th building is located in a nice, middle area from everything else at the hotel. A/C was nice and cool.

Beach/Pools:
The beach is one of the best on the island! Fabulous. As long as you get to the beach by 9:00am you will have no problem finding a beach chair/hut. There is an activity pool immediately behind the beach area, very busy throughout the day. Through the mangrove there is a relaxation pool and it was great! There was hardly any one there throughout the day. We would usually stop on our way in from the beach for a quick dip! The chairs there are also comfy!

Food:
The food is like most all inclusive resorts. A different themed food every night, but about the same type of food. When we got tried of eating at the hotel, we ate at Alberto's down the beach and in town twice. The omelets were my favorite at breakfast, delicious. Lunch was always good as well, which is served at a beautiful restaurant on the beach. After coming to Cozumel about 10 times, it seems the amount of food options and variety has decreased, but I can see this being as part of the economy these days, no biggie. *Freddie was our favorite bartender! Very nice!

Entertainment/Activities:
Every night there were shows, that were pretty fun and entertaining if you had nothing else to do.

Overview:
Overall our honeymoon trip to Cozumel was great! It was both of our first time staying at the Occidental Grand, and we enjoyed it! If you aren't laid back, Mexico isn't for you, you just have to go with the flow and enjoy your time on vacation!

Extras:
We both tried scuba diving for the first time and OMG, feel in love with it! If you go to Cozumel and don't at least try diving, you're crazy!
We are already planning our next trip back to dive!

I highly recommend Chucho and Jessica! You will not regret it!

http://chucho-underwater.com

Or visit Facebook page at:
Dive Inn Cozumel

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mrmrsbibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear mrmrsbibb,

Thanks for your review. Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for choosing our resort as your honeymoon destination. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay of romance and relaxation, cheers!

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,733
    1,505
    727
    377
    238
See reviews for
1,217
1,842
84
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

From the daily activities to the nightlife, the 6 days I spent at this resort were incredible. One of the resort guys, Renè was beyond helpful when we needed anything and did a fabulous job with getting people involved and making the activities fun. I highly recommend this Cozumel resort for family or adult fun!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristenSchnittker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear KristenSchnittker,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay, we'll let René know you kindly mentioned him in your review.


Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The night entertainment is wonderful!!! Sonya is a wonderful salsa teacher!!! The bleacher is a very short walk over the bridge!!! And all the staff is very helpful, no matter how many times u lose ur room key!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannyboy1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Dannyboy1313,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I'll start with the positives, just because there really are so many - but please keep reading because it doesn't get better!
The grounds were absolutely beautiful! Very well maintained and all the regular staff, from grounds keepers to wait and service staff were very friendly and professional! There was a total of 11 in our group. They weren't even using the 3rd floor of all of the buildings because of A/C problems - so at least they'd figured that out! We were on the ground floor, and aside from the ants in the bathroom, the room was great! A/C worked fairly well and it was comfortable. The beach was beautiful, but please pack water shoes because getting in and out of the water can be painful due to the rather large "shell shelf" you have to wade through to get in and out of the water.
The food was just OK - we went into town for dinner every night, lunch at the beach restaurant buffet and breakfast buffet. The alcohol was flowing, and a buck for your bartender was a buck well spent, the drinks were definitely better after we figured that out!
We rented a car at the airport, because we knew we'd want to see more of the island than the hotel had to offer and were pulled over one night on the way back from town. The law of the island says if you get a ticket, you go to the Municipal and pay it - if you pay within 5 days, you only pay 1/2 of the fine. Unfortunately, we didn't know that until AFTER we were robbed by a local cop with the help of the hotel gate security guard!! It's a long story, and I won't get into all the details here, but bottom line, hotel management explained that although what happened to us is against the law, it happens, and they're not at all responsible for helping their guests! Instead of informing us that what was happening was wrong at the time, the guard asked the cop how much he was getting us for, and watched as we were taken to the cleaners!
We had "excursions" booked through the hotel that were botched all to hell, fortunately, most of them were recovered in some manner. Be sure you get a receipt and be prepared for "glitches"!
Overall - a vacation is whatever you want to make of it - we decided to enjoy what we had, but to make people aware of the situations! We heard many great things from others about other hotels on the island - I highly suggest you read other reviews and think 3 or 4 times before reserving the Occidental Grand Cozumel - the beauty and grandeur of the property can quickly be diminished if you have to deal with management in ANY way!!

Room Tip: Building 15 is pretty much center of the complex - quiet, and our lower room floor was relatively co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaylon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Gaylon G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your feedback and you can be certain we will take your comments into consideration in order to maintain our quality standards. Regarding the situation encountered with the police, we are really sorry you had to experience this, but we are not in any way able to interfere with local law and police enforcement, and have no power in this situation.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, they immediately began trying to sell us a timeshare. Not to get too far off the subject, but their timeshare is a ripoff. By the time you add the cost of the timeshare (amortized over 25 years), the yearly dues, additional fees due at the time of booking, daily fees for food ($60-$88 per day per person) and you add airfare....you will be well in excess of what you'd spent booking a package deal.

The location of the hotel great. It's on the beach. If you like scuba diving or snorkeling...this may be the place for you. The grounds are very nice, clean, and well kept. Our room was also nice and clean. The issue I have with this hotel is there is NO A/C. They call pumping water through coils and blowing air through the coils into the room A/C...but it's a modified swap cooler. In this humid climate it's worthless...especially during the day. The dining areas and the bar use the same system, so there is no escaping the heat.

The food was mediocre at best. We ate at the mediterranean and the Mexican steak house, both of which were only slightly better than the buffet. That being said, I caught a Mahi Mahi during my trip, and we took it to the the Chef to cook for dinner with instructions on how we wanted it prepared and he delivered in a major way. It was one of the best meals I've ever had.

The other issue I had was with the WiFi. Most hotels at least offer free WiFi in the common areas. The Occidental charges a fee to us a computer or WiFi to check in on a flight. :(

Needless to say....I won't be back.

Room Tip: The units on the lower floors are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgordon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear dgordon10,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your feedback and you can be certain we will take your comments into consideration in order to maintain our quality standards. We apologize for not having met your expectations.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Although very nice I felt some things could use a little updating. Food is edible but nothing special. The beds are rock hard and airconditioning is almost non exsitent. The staff is exceptional and very helpful. I would not stay here without a car as it is a bit out of the way. Overall it was nice but I don't think I would choose to stay here next time.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinky01105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear pinky01105,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your feedback and you can be certain we will take your comments into consideration in order to maintain our quality standards.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We patiently waited in line to check in with a pretty large group and only two people working the desk. (don’t travel on Saturdays!) We were told rooms weren't ready yet and to relax and come back at 4:00. We changed, went to the beach, had lunch, relaxed and decided to go back early at 3:30. By 5:00 we had watched people coming and going, getting rooms, etc. I think we were the last ones and around 5:30 got into a room. Two beds. They were repairing a ceiling fan and we had a fit. They moved us to another room with two beds on the ground floor that was dark and faced onto the walkway entrance to the building.

When I asked nicely the next day (Sunday) they moved us to another room upstairs facing the rear and it had a view of the jungle and trees and was very nice with a KING bed. We were very happy.

Weather: HOT AND HUMID; nothing was ever quite dry but that was ok with us and expected.

Food: buffet style and I give it a B+ to A-. Pretty good quality and vast array of choices. I mostly ate salads, chips and guacamole at lunch and fresh fish at dinner with some Mexican specialties thrown in like tamales. Breakfasts were plentiful and lots of choices again. I read reviews of the place saying the food was bad but they are crazy. Don’t go to Mexico and expect gourmet dining! I felt a bit like I was on a cruise where some people just gorge themselves at mealtime. Not me. We did go to a specialty restaurant one night and it was REALLY good Mediterranean food. We also ate offsite one night at Pepe’s in town, and it was fine, not really worth the cost since it was super expensive but great wine!

Bar: Call brands and whatever you wanted. Completely fully-stocked bars. I should have drank more but I pretty much just drink beer and wine. I had a couple of margaritas and one Mojito. You could have grand Marnier on ice if you wanted, not to mention all types and labels of liquor. Wine was good for house wine.! Long lines at the pool bar during the afternoons though were annoying.

Property: Huge, beautiful gardens, nice beach, two pools for public, lots of people!! Nice disco but the DJ didn’t start until 10:30 and we were just too tired by then after getting up at 6:00 every morning. We are used to smaller more boutique type places. But we picked it! Lots of nightly entertainment aimed towards the kids in the early evening. Games at the big pool in the afternoons like volleyball and water polo (pretend water polo)

Diving: Ummmm not sure where to start here but DON’T GO with ProDive. We unfortunately hit the worst time of year when the rains have started and they have VERY strong weird currents. Normal currents are relatively mild for drift diving along the reefs but ours were clipping a long at 5 to 10 MPH. We lost a diver on one of our dives…two more were caught in a whirlpool bound for the ocean depths and were saved by their DM; I have a infection from coral scrapes on my hand (trying to hold on the stay in one place) and I literally held onto my partner's BC belt for many of the dives so I didn’t lose him. The last two days it quieted down and was enjoyable EXCEPT the boats were mostly over-crowded and uncomfortable, and in a few cases unsafe. Once day we were assigned to a fishing boat that was difficult to get back onto and the deck hand had no idea what he was doing. !! I slipped and fell to a knee upon re-entry to the boat and I'm not a klutz.

We DID see plenty of turtles, nurse sharks, and typical topical fish including a nice spotted drum (they are rare) Corals were beautiful and in good condition. Nice swim-throughs. The DM’s were good but almost all foreign and some were difficult to understand. I would never dive with this group again and they should have warned us of RIGOROUS diving and required Safety sausages (so you can find lost divers, you inflate them at the surface, and we both had them but nobody else did but the DM’s.)

Final grade for hotel overall: B+. Mostly all good and great service with a smile EXCEPT for the check-in process which soured us the first few days. we rested under palapas in the afternoon on the beach, swam, read books and painted. Perfect.

Room Tip: King beds are hard to come by, and we had to change rooms on day to to get one. 2nd floor is prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlover997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear beachlover997,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay. We also appreciate your various remarks regarding service, premises, food and drinks as well as diving services as this helps us point out the areas of opportunity in improving our services overall.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
0.4 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#24 of 52 in Cozumel
4,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4,856 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
2.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cozumel

Property: Occidental Cozumel
Address: Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Cozumel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the Caribbean’s most famous reef system could match the beauty and splendor of the Occidental Grand Cozumel, which is exactly why the two exist side-by-side. Located on Cozumel’s gorgeous San Francisco beach, just above the bottomless blue paradise of the Palancar Reef system, you’ll find an authentic-style state that delivers all the luxuries of a private oceanside hacienda. Gourmet dining, bright and airy rooms, nightly music and entertainment, daily sports and beach activities and an on-site spa and salon make the Occidental grand Cozumel the jewel of any Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Grand Hotel Cozumel
Grand Cozumel
Grand Occidental Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing