We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so good”
Review of Occidental Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Cozumel
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The resort grounds were generally well kept although the fountains only ran sporadically. The beach area was sandy and wide with plenty of lounge chairs but no drink service was provided. The room was nice enough but the air conditioning was not adequate to keep it cooled or dehumidified which made sleeping comfortably difficult. The shower was poor; no water pressure and no temperature control. The food was just OK however the wait staff was excellent. With all things considered, this was not worth the money spent. You would do well to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wallace J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Wallace J,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your feedback and you can be certain we will take your comments into consideration in order to maintain our quality standards. We apologize for not having met your expectations.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,949 - 1,955 of 5,021 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

I'm really not sure what all these other negative reviewers were talking about. My wife and I as well as another couple stayed at the Occidental for five nights. Our stay was almost perfect! We stayed in building 16 on the first floor. This is by no means a 5 star resort, but no one is paying a five star price either. As another reviewer said, it's all about expectations.

The pros: Check in was fast and friendly with less then a 10 min wait. The hotel grounds are beautiful and extremely well-maintained. It has a real tropical island jungle feel. We even had a family of wild pigs rutting around the jungle outside of our first floor balcony. The iguanas were really fascinating, but they are untamed so keep your distance. The beach area was simply stunning and breathtakingly beautiful. There was always enough chairs both in the sun and in the shade. The pools were well maintained and extremely clean despite always being crowded. The roped off section in the water was big enough to allow for an amazing and free snorkeling experience. The resort provides snorkeling equipment free of charge with a one hour limit but on multiple days we keep our equipment for upwards of eight hours with no additional charges or grief from the on site dive shop. The snorkeling equipment is in good shape, it is not top of the line professional equipment but to those that complained in their reviews, I would say...it was free to rent, what more do you expect? The beach itself was awesome, the sand was course but clean. The bars were all well stocked and there was almost never more then two people in line. To all the people that have complained that the drinks were weak I would say, they are making the drink right in front of you, if you want it stronger all you have to do is stop being feeble and ask the bartender to make it stronger. The bartenders were always nice and more then accommodating to any and all requests. Try the "Scooby Doo" at the beach bar, it was a really refreshing drink for the hot summer days! The food was decent for an all-inclusive resort. If you want 5-star dining the stop being cheap and go to a 5-star resort. If you couldn't find something at all the buffets then that is a personal problem because the buffets always had a large assortment of food to choose from. No one in my party had any problem finding something that they liked at any of the buffets during our stay. The staff was always extremely friendly and fully accommodating. The toilet handle in our room broke off right before we went down to the beach on our second day there and when went went to let them know at the front desk several hours later they told us that it was already fixed. The house keeper had noticed and called it in to get fixed without us even having to report it. The fridge was always stocked fully with water sodas, and beer. The rooms were really nice and extremely clean. The air conditioning was a little under powered, but by subtropical and Mexican standards it worked great. Again, if you want 5-star perfection, then stop being cheap and pay the 5-star price! Overall it was a truly wonderful experience! The nightly entertainment was always good. Make sure you see the fire show, it was awesome!

The cons: The common areas like the lobby bar and the main restaurant were always hot. The pools all close at 8pm, it would be nice to have them open until 10pm so you could have a relaxing way to beat the heat. We did ask for a king size bed but got a room with two doubles. It was not the end of the world, I'm 6ft tall and weigh 250lbs and there was still enough room for my wife and I in the double bed. The bed was extremely hard, would have liked to have had a little softer mattress. The mosquitoes were really bad in some areas but not a problem in other areas, so bring some bug spray. The time share people can be a little annoying. But it was nothing worse then the survey people at the mall. A polite no or not interested was more then adequate at keeping them at bay.

Tips and suggestions: ask for a first floor or second floor room, they seem to be much cooler then the third floor. If you want a special drink or a special food don't be afraid to ask for it. The staff is extremely accommodating and will rarely tell you no unless it is just an impossible request. Don't be afraid to tell the time share people no. Like I said earlier be firm yet polite and they will leave you alone. The time share people will try and offer you discounts on different adventure and services if you sit through their "90 min" presentation. The presentation will actually last 3-4 hours. If you think the discounts are worth your time then by all means go to the presentation. If the discounts are not worth your time then simply tell them no politely and keep walking. If you go to Cozumel in the summer, it will be hot. Temps will be in the 90's with upwards of 100% humidity. Tipping always helps get better service but is not required or expected.

Overall the Occidental Grand is a wonderful place to stay and it is an exceptional value. It is not a 5-star resort, but for an all inclusive resort it is a wonderful and beautiful place to stay. For the price we paid it was a fantastic value and and amazing vacation. Remember if you are looking for a 5-star top of then of the line resort, then go pay the 5-star price. If you are looking for an affordable yet amazing place to take a vacation of a lifetime then the Occidental Grand is the resort for you! We would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Request a 1st or 2nd floor room for a cooler stay. Building 16 was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Mindy C,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We appreciate your kind and honest overview on our services and features and are most glad you made the most of your stay with us. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I am only writing this because I scoured the reviews before our anniversary trip to Mexico and knew going into this resort it was going to be hit or miss. It was a major miss. We were there for 2 short days (July 9-10, 2014) and can tell you we will never, ever go back. The toilet barely worked - what is with the sign next to it that says don't flush ANYTHING? Right..moving on. The rooms were dirty and we didn't feel safe leaving any valuables in the room. Any time you walked by the lobby they bombarded you with sales pitches to go on a tour to buy this or buy that. We never got into the restaurants (even 2 days in advance) because they were already booked - they were nearly empty when we walked by around 8pm. The buffet was horrible. I sustained off of lettuce and nachos for 2 full days. The buffet by the beach was a bit more edible, IMO.

The one good thing? The beach was gorgeous. But the drinks were weak and there were some shady characters hanging around trying to sell us more crap.

Don't go here...it's so cheap for a reason.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawgpndgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear dawgpndgirl.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are sorry we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay and the shortcomings experienced in food and rooms. We appreciate your feedback and you can be certain we will take your comments into consideration in order to maintain our quality standards.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

As the hotel was pretty but there were a few things not so good, as we called ahead to make sure there was VEGAN Food, there was not, so my daughter lived on Fruit & salad for the trip... we didn't have water on the property for a whole day, then a few days later we lost water again for half the day...The people at the Hotel were all very nice, one big Plus for them, everyone very nice...food didn't have flavor, it was ok, but expected something different being in Mexico, thought we would have some real authentic food ...not the case at all... if you don't like bugs get ready, plenty out there, as we sat at a table near the beach it was covered but 100 of spiders jumping all around, and outside massage in the heat was not a good idea, we were hot and sweaty, bug all over and wasn't a good experience at all, should of just did it inside...as I said there were good parts and bad parts, maybe just wrong time of year to go....way toooooo hot....might go back if they make a few changes , like food for Vegans..... stronger drinks, and spray for bugs...lol...as I said the grounds are beautiful and the staff very friendly ... wish someone would of Acknowledged my daughters Birthday, perhaps a sign on the door or a birthday cake at dinner, but I guess they don't do that stuff in Mexico...oh and I could never get wifi, and there is no cell service, the night entreatment was amazing , every-night something different for kids and adults...Oh bring your own pillow, theirs are hard as rocks !!

Room Tip: rooms in the middle of property, one end is all the restaurants, other is Beach, pools and one resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank maryg59_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear maryg59_13,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your feedback and you can be certain we will take your comments into consideration in order to maintain our quality standards.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel was nice, the staff was accommodating. When my friend and I arrived, we were greeted warmly. The location of the hotel was PERFECT for us, as it was out of town and on its own beach. (I would not have wanted to stay at a hotel in the middle of town during my relaxing beach/SCUBA vacation.) The food at the lunch and dinner buffet was sub-par and not recommended. There are 2 restaurants on site at the hotel which have MUCH better food. They must have different chefs. It was very convenient that there was a PADI dive shop directly next to where you have lunch. They organize everything for you and do have spare equipment, if you need it. Also, because you're in a location that is humid, expect the hotel rooms to be a bit musty. There are no rooms which have an ocean view, as they are all located

When in Cozumel, it's a necessity to visit El Moro, which is off the beaten path, but is a restaurant where many tourists go to eat. Expect to pay tourist prices and locals do not eat there because it's too expensive for them. However, the food is GREAT, and worth the trip to find it. The location is in the middle of a locals neighborhood: The owner of the restaurant converted his old house into the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dicenskr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear dicenskr1,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay. We appreciate your comments about food so we know this is an area to work upon.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a wonderful vacation at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. The staff were friendly and helpful, specially the ones at the First Club. The rooms could need a little updating though. Since we spent most of our time outdoors, this was not an issue.

Chankanaab was amazing and their dive shop was great (Zapata Divers). Alvestra snorkelling was fun. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay a very good one.

Room Tip: Building 16 has a good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Challenger400_1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Challenger400_1006,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay of diving and relaxation.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We traveled to the resort for five days in mid June. After reading the reviews, we were hopefully optimistic about the resort. Checking in was easy, although like many others there was an hour wait for the room, so we ate lunch. The room although decent in size needs to be updated. Also, we were surprised to discover you can not flush toilet paper. We were surprised that was not mentioned it in any reviews. The pool area is nice, but there wasn't pool drink service, which was a little disappointing. Someone always had to leave the pool to go to the poolside bar. Overall the buffet was decent, but the reservation restaurants were nothing special. Living just outside of Chicago we have outstanding ethnic restaurants, which were far better than the ones on the resort. Nightly the resort had shows outside, which were nice. We especially enjoyed the live band and Prehispanic show. Also, the market set up in the plaza was great because it is too far to go to town to shop. My only advice is be prepared for the bugs, sun, and heat, but considering where you are it shouldn't be a surprise.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana S, Reputation Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Sara R,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future for yet another pleasant stay. We appreciate your remarks about service as well in order to improve our service.

Warm regards from Occidental Grand Cozumel,

Liliana S.
Reputation manager
Occidental Grand Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 53 in Cozumel
5,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#22 of 53 in Cozumel
4,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
3,870 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
2.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 53 in Cozumel
2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cozumel

Address: Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Cozumel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: £126 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the Caribbean’s most famous reef system could match the beauty and splendor of the Occidental Grand Cozumel, which is exactly why the two exist side-by-side. Located on Cozumel’s gorgeous San Francisco beach, just above the bottomless blue paradise of the Palancar Reef system, you’ll find an authentic-style state that delivers all the luxuries of a private oceanside hacienda. Gourmet dining, bright and airy rooms, nightly music and entertainment, daily sports and beach activities and an on-site spa and salon make the Occidental grand Cozumel the jewel of any Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Grand Hotel Cozumel
Grand Cozumel
Grand Occidental Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing