We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort, good service, beautiful grounds, very laid back”
Review of Occidental Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Occidental Cozumel
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort, good service, beautiful grounds, very laid back”
Reviewed 4 April 2009

My wife and I stayed from 3-14 to 3-21, had a terrific time, beautiful resort, small, very laid back, excellent service, quiet as can be, premium liquor, all inclusive was great. Nadia, the concerige for us was excellent, took care of all the restaurants reservations, had flowers delivered for me for the wifes anniversary, and any issues were well taken care of. I recommend the sunset massage for two on the beach, great way to end a busy day. Albertos next door is good, but pricey, go to town, Pancho;s Backyard for lunch, and Jimmy Buffets for margaitas all afternoon. If you want a little excitement, try the Fly High Zip Lining, good rush. Food was only average, wine with dinner is extremely poor. Nature is all over, snorkeling is great just at the resort, and if you want to do nothing the whole time, no one bothers you. Only once did the time share people talk to us and we told them firmly no, did not bother us again. Rooms are extremely spacious and bathrooms most people would love to have at home, however rooms had musty smell and you will have to wash all your clothes when you return. Lobby bartenders were great, especially the evenings. I do recommend to tip the good servers and the person who makes up the rooms. Overall great resort, if we didnt like going to other places, we would definitely return there.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,733
    1,505
    727
    377
    238
See reviews for
1,217
1,842
84
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2009

We stayed here for 1 week in March. We have visited Cozumel on 6 other occasions and this is our first staying at this property. I have a many good things to say about this resort and just a few negatives. Let's get the negatives out of the way. First and foremost the front desk staff were borderline rude and seemed very uninterested in solving any problems. For example, we requested a king bed, however were given 2 doubles and told we were upgraded to building 19 which is closest to the relax pool and the beach. I wasn't sure why this location was considered an upgrade? I asked the next morning to switch to the room next door when I saw it was vacant and had a king bed and didn't get anywhere. I was basically told resort was at full capacity and they had assigned the room to someone else checking in later in the day. No reason really given. Throughout the week I heard many people complaining and not getting many results. Beware, right past the check in are the time share representatives. They have a special gift for you (a coaster), so if your not interested in a time share - stay away. Food - buffet was as good as you could expect for a buffet.. There was always something there that you could find to eat. Fresh veggies, fruit, quac, some warm entrees, and breakfast all were good. Reservations for the al la carte - you had to wait in line first thing at 9am to get a reservation. We arrived on a Thursday and got our first reservation for Sunday. It didn't seem as though they had enought tables to accomodate a full resort and the food was not worth the reservation. On 3 occasions we went to town to eat and had a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend La Perlita, La Mission, and Los Molcajetes, OMG excellent!!! Also, Coconuts Bar is a must. Lastly, no beach volleyball.
The good. Grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. Rooms were large with big bathrooms and great showers. The resort does not provide lotion, but offers shampoo and body wash. The rooms did feel musty, however, this is Mexico and that's what they all feel like. The maid was awesome, friendly and kept our room very clean. Beach, beautiful with great snorkeling and never had a problem finding a beach chair. The sand is soft and hard to walk on. The waiters and bartenders all very friendly and worked hard. Pools were nice and gym o.k. Enjoyed seeing the iguanas and listening to the birds. We did use dive shop on location, however, could have been more customer friendly. Internet was $4 for 15 minutes, felt this was a bit pricey. We rented a car for the week and got out on the island everyday. Cozumel is a beautiful place and so much to see and do. I would recommend this hotel for families and for the price we paid I felt it was worth they money.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfl6967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2009

We stayed for 6 nights during March 2009 and had a good time overall, but would find something else if we ever return to Cozumel. That's not to say it is a bad place--but the last all-inclusive we stayed in was Dreams in Cabo San Lucas, and that was AMAZING. To be fair, Dreams was also much more expensive, so it isn't really apples to apples. We have also stayed at a Excellence in Punta Cana, and we thought this place was comparable in terms of food and grounds, but Excellence was better having no kids. What we liked: it is a pretty resort--the landscaping is gorgeous, we had an actual sandy beach (many resorts in Cozumel do not have a beach, but rather a concrete dropoff staright from the pool deck--kind of like a wall going into the water), and the staff were all very friendly. What we didn't like: the food was average at best (average for all-inclusives, that is), the rooms were just ok, and it is very kid friendly so not a great place to have a romantic getaway.
First, the food. I must preface this with I am not a foodie by any means, but I do live in NYC and know I am spoiled by what great food we have here. With that said, I do not go to all-inclusives for the food, or thinking I am going to get the best quality in dining. But having been to many all-inclusives, I feel I have something to compare the resort to. In that case, I was disappointed in the quality and variety. Everything was constantly overcooked, lunch was always last night's leftovers (not even masked in a newly invented dish) or hot dogs and hamburgers (everyday) and not-so-fresh fruit (although if you are a vegetarian there are always plenty of veggies), and dinner was pretty much the same every night as well (they have a new theme every nght at the buffet but that only means that they decorate differently, not that they change the menu). We were hoping for some really good Mexican food, but instead we got bad American food. On the good side, they had killer ice cream, tostada chips and guac, and breakfast options. AS for the service, we were a bit disappointed. They only had one girl working the entire beach and pool, so usually we had to go get drinks ourselves everyday throughout the day. On the good side, she was very friendly when we did see her. As far as being kid friendly, in one sense we cannot blame the resort for parents bringing their children and allowing them to do as they please, but on the other hand we felt a little decieved at how they market themselves as a luxurious getaway. Unfortunately, kids were everywhere. All the activites seemed to involve making them happy--I just wish the hotel would take them to a different section for playtime during the day or something. We had been relaxing on the beach for a couple of hours and next thing we know the staff has set up a soccer game for the kids right next to us--we even got hit with the ball twice. So much for an afternoon peaceful nap. In the pool, the kids are screaming and splashing all day. And in the room hallways, kids are crying and screaming which echoes into the other rooms. Again, just not what we were expecting or looking for. The rooms were fine--nothing spectacular, but clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were really spacious which was nice.

All in all, we made it a great time, but we probably would not return, and I would probably tell my friends to try something else. We chose this resort because of the price--it was a great deal compared to others at the time. If you have kids, this may be perfect for you.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imouttahere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Our family stayed at the Occidental Grand from March 20th - 29th. We were looking for a secluded hotel with a beautiful beach, and that is exactly what we got! We stayed in building #15 which is in the middle of the restaurants and beach. It provided us with plenty of opportunity to walk off the food and beverages we consumed.

We have a 16 yr old and 10yr old, and they both found plenty to do. Yanuario (Meow!) & Susanna (Okey dokey!) created lots of fun for the kids by the pool and at the mini disco. Daniel & Cristel kept the cold drinks flowing the whole time we were there. There is a great pottery place on the beach that allows you to paint pottery that is fired and returned the next day - great activity for the kids and adults!

If you have kids, don't forget to bring floaties for the pool. They do have them in the gift shop, but they are really expensive. There is also a poolside chess game and pingpong table that the kids loved!

You have bottled water in your refrigerator (along with soda and beer), and you can ask for more from your room attendant. If you are a coffee lover and want to sit by the pool or beach in the morning, bring a travel mug as they only serve coffee at the buffet which is at the front of the resort.

Food at the Mediterranean restaurant was great (try the steak) and the steak house was good. We didn't go to the pizza place, but heard that you needed reservations and the pizza was not cooked fully. Buffet food was good but got a bit old after 9 days. Staff was very friendly and kept the grounds immaculate. Try Alberto's which is a short walk down the beach - seafood is great and DJ plays great music in the evenings.

Don't forget to snorkel in the swimming area in front of the resort to see Billie the Baracuda. Look for the silver fish and you can't miss him. We also snorkeled with Iberostar group on the Palancar Reef - it was incredible. We will definitely go back to this resort!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GATTSMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Just returned from a stay at Cozumel Occidental Grand - what a mistake. First of all, we traveled with another family and reserved three rooms in a group; one of each of the adult couples and one for the teen-age children. Well, they split up our group. When we brought this to the attention of the reservation desk they were of no assistance claiming there was nothing they could do since the hotel was booked (although out agent said it was 75% booked and there was another name on the register that was crossed out and our name written in). After seeing our room, it appeared to us that someone earlier did not like their room and they were given our room instead. Our room was dingy, strong mold/sewage smelling and lots of bugs and moths. We complained to the front desk several times but they were not interested in making any changes. I finally contacted our travel agent in the US who was able to get us switch to a new room, eventually (for the last 2 nights - interesting how they were able to find a room then). Front desk staff was very rude and not interested in helping you. The buffet restaurant is poorly managed; often running out of dinnerware, glasses, etc. Quality of lunch and dinner buffets was very poor and, again, they often ran out of food. Also, the buffet restaurant was not air conditioned or any fans - very warm and stuffy. They do have 3 ala carte restaurants, but they require advance registration - reservations can only be made at certain timeframe and you are limited to the number of reservations you can have (which is also interesting since the ala carte restaurants were never full when we were there). Quality of food at the ala carte restaurants was mediocre at best. Fitness center also has no air cirrculation or cooling, probably close to 90 degrees in the enclosed room. Needed to make a call back to the states to a toll-free number. The hotel operator told me the connection charge would be $4, when it came time to check out, the charge was almost $60. Took the front desk more than half an hour to get the detail on the call - by then I had to pay simply to get out of there before I would miss my flight. Internet is available - for a charge of $4 for 15 minutes. We’ve been to various all-inclusive resorts in Mexico over the past 10 years and the Occidental Grand is by far the worst one we’ve ever encountered.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank essay27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We stayed during 22 Mar-28Mar. The location is gorgeous, service is great. The food however was not so good. I went expecting to get a variety of seafood and I was lucky if there was 1 choice and that they had not run out. How can you go to Mexico and the salsa not be good. Also, any trips/excursions you take be ready to tip. They will pass a hat around and ask. I don't mind tipping but give me a break!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

Went for the March Break, first time to Mexico after numerous trips to Cuba, Dominican Republic, Jamaica and Costa Rica.

Check in: Very smooth nice desks as opposed to a large counter. Very friendly and efficient. Quickly the bell boys took us to our room and gave us a quick orientation.

Room: Two small double beds, small table that sat only two and a very small balcony. the bathroom was huge with a full tub and separate shower room that was large. Water was always plentiful and hot. Towels were not always there at 5 when we wanted most showers, but they came quickly.

Grounds: Beautiful. Most of the vegetation was left when the resort was built. Numerous birds and iguanas running around. Many fountains to add to the abience. Both pools were beautiul and clean. There is a square near the front where the nightly shows were held, very intimate.

Beach: Gorgeous! Chairs were packed a little too closely together for my liking, and hard to get if you did not reserve early in the morning. The water gets deep quickly so I would have been a little worried for very young children. Snorkeling was great. Saw lobster, rays and a barracuda snorkelling from shore. Sand was soft and not the best for walking on.

Food: Buffet was good, I like the fact that you were given a table by a server as opposed to a free for all. Food was good with lots of variety and hot. Lunch was served at the beach and got a little monotonous as the week went on, but good nonetheless. We ate at both the steakhouse and mediterranean and that was excellent.

All in all this was not the best resort we have ever been to, but it was very close to the top. I would highly recommend this resort as well as Cozumel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
0.4 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#24 of 52 in Cozumel
4,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4,856 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
2.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cozumel

Property: Occidental Cozumel
Address: Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Cozumel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the Caribbean’s most famous reef system could match the beauty and splendor of the Occidental Grand Cozumel, which is exactly why the two exist side-by-side. Located on Cozumel’s gorgeous San Francisco beach, just above the bottomless blue paradise of the Palancar Reef system, you’ll find an authentic-style state that delivers all the luxuries of a private oceanside hacienda. Gourmet dining, bright and airy rooms, nightly music and entertainment, daily sports and beach activities and an on-site spa and salon make the Occidental grand Cozumel the jewel of any Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Grand Hotel Cozumel
Grand Cozumel
Grand Occidental Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing