We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ATM change rate plus diving” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ATM change rate plus diving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Warning. Don't get money from the ATM in the hotel (gives you USD). The change rate is 14.8 MXN for 1USD at the ATM, while the real change rate is 12.9. Over a transaction of 400$USD, the ATM take from you an extra 60$. Go outside near the security booth, there is an ATM that gives you pesos and seems legit.

Food is not really good, sometimes bad. But you wont get sick. Hotel is very clean and staff is dedicated. Drinks are good. Rent a scooter, pretty safe in town and around. Locals are courteous and local food is pretty good. Taxi from Melia to town is 7$ one way (about 5 min ride). Scooter, we paid around 20-22$ per 24 hrs (we didn't look that much for prices). You can rent sooters, cars, jeep, bicycle from the hotel but expect to pay a lot for what you can get in town.

### Divers! The is no diving boat leaving from Melia, you have to get a taxi to hotel allegro, about 20 min away###

Diving is okay. If you did your certification in a quarry or in the freezing cold murky waters in Quebec, Cozumel will be the dive of your life. But if you travelled from Indonesia or Thailand for diving in Mexico, the trip don't worth the money.

Very relaxing place, no big partys in the hotel. The rooms in ocean view gives over the Adult pool, so expect drunk folks enjoying themselves.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simthediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Good afternoon,Thank you for your comments with other users from Trip Advisor, and the tips you have about the ATM. It is really nice to rent a bicycle and go to a ride in the down town. We hope you come back in a near future.

Best Regards


Vanessa Villalobos
Control de Calidad
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    1,032
    452
    193
    143
See reviews for
814
1,057
41
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

Its a little old, and the food and drinks were ok . The pool is nice and the view from our room was amazing...it was clean and the staff was ok as well....everything was ok

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatiambrosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Good afternoon, thank you for take a minutes from your time and write your comments on Trip Advisor, we hope the next time you come back you can have a great vacation also. If you have any comments I am at your service.

Sincerely


Vanessa Villalobos
Control de Calidad
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here recently (3 adults) for March break. We quite enjoyed the resort, it really is paradise. We especially like the closeness to the beach, the beautiful sunsets, the wildlife, and the staff. For overall value the best resort I have stayed at in the Caribbean. The rooms and buildings are somewhat dated, but generally well maintained. During our stay we saw a lot of activity to keep it up (painting, fixing walkways).

We did go to the al a carte one night, which was not bad (though my steak was over cooked). In general we recommend going into town for dinner and getting out. This is a great resort if you want to spend some quality time on the beach and get out and see the wonderful and safe island. If you are looking to barricade yourself in a resort for the whole trip you are missing the point. Cozumel is a magical island and this is a great hotel to stay at while you do that. If you stay on the resort at night, you will likely find it pretty low key. We watched the entertainment one night, which was painful and awkward.

I also recommend getting an ocean view room. Our unencumbered view of the ocean really put it over the top in loving this resort.

Room Tip: Ocean view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you for share all your comments with other users from Trip Advisor, I am agree with you , have an ocean view room and see the sunset each day is a great experience. As you say we work everyday to improve our service and our facilities, this is why you watched some painting things and our maintenance team working everyday. I hope you come back in a near future, and if is this way please feel free to contact me.

Best Regards


Vanessa Villalobos
Control de Calidad
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the Melia last week and enjoyed the tranquil stay here the week after Easter which is the start of their low season. Never a problem finding beach chairs, towels, and there's a great snorkel spot a few hundred yards down the beach. Food was pretty good and drinks were plentiful though my boyfriend would have prefered US bottled beer over the local canned and draft beers. Oceanview room was OK though beds were a bit firm. Staff was friendly and the resort is kept very clean. Ladies at the front desk were very nice and the bartenders were sweet too. Enjoyed the nearby golf and free 1hr use of snorkel gear each day. (If you golf be sure to take TONS of extra balls as they will cost you $10 for 3). We rented a car for the week (careful if you use United Vacations - we had trouble getting the 'free' hotel transfer since we booked a car separately - and no taxi's are allowed to take people out of the airport, only shuttle buses, something having to do with their laws, so after first sent to a "host" who turned out to be a high sales hotel pusher, we finally ended up getting on the shuttle to the hotel and then had to take a cab to Alamo downtown. Also the car they gave us had no air so had to pay another $44/week for a compact with air on top of the $270 originally paid through United. Despite the trouble, I'd still recommend getting a car for at least 1 day as it's the best way to tour the island, especially the east side which is windy with gorgeous surf. We had 2 days of rain during our week stay - unfortunately there's not much to do at the hotel if it's raining. Will think about doing a vacation next year at a resort which provides 'compensation' if it's raining. All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel for it's good value, cleanliness, and - we never got sick! Very laid back atmosphere, nobody worried about primping with makeup or their hair except at the 1 fancy restaurnt which only has 2 menu's all week and was closed 2 of the 7 days we were there. We preferred the buffet every night over the restaurant. Don't get the pre-made runny scrambled eggs - the custom omelets are much better.

Room Tip: I would recommend the 3 story oceanfront rooms over the high story building due to the location bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you for your write your comments on Trip Advisor, I am going to tell personally to the ladies from the reception, Genny and America and also the bartenders, that they made for you a great vacation, we are really glad you enjoy your days on the beach and have a relaxing days, And thanks for share the tip about the omelets, it is a good tip. We hope you come back soon.

Best Regards


Vanessa Villalobos
Control de Calidad
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The resort was exactly what we paid for (which wasn't much). First, let me say the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The resort is a little dated but everything was clean and pretty well maintained. The beach is one of the best on the islands. There is a little seaweed at times when the waves are rough, but every morning it is raked up and removed so it really isn't a problem. There are ample chairs and umbrellas so you can spread out.

The food was...well not good. Like the title of the review, you get what you pay for. It was your typical low-end all-inclusive food. The "snack bar" was not worth eating at. I'm not sure how it is possible to screw up fried food, but they did. The breakfast and lunch at the buffet was moderate. There was an omelet station at breakfast and a grill station at lunch that made them tolerable. The a la carte restaurant required a reservation and had great service. Unfortunately, the food, although presented nicely didn't taste much better.

All in all, we probably wouldn't go back to this resort, but it is a good option for those on a budget.

Room Tip: All the rooms have balconies, but most of the buildings overlook the pool area and are not very priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CourtneyL414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Good afternoon, first of all I would like to thank you for you comments about our friendly staff and the cleanness that you can find the Hotel.
I am really sorry to know that you did not enjoy the meals in the hotel,so if you can please send me an e-mail with more details of the food, I will have more information to know if there is some problem to give solution. I am at your service.

Sincerely

Vanessa Villalobos
Control de Calidad
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We've stayed at the Melia many times over the years, and while the food is not the greatest, it's good and there is alot of it.The staff at any of the restaurants and throughout the complex couldn't be any better. The rooms are always clean the pool is cleaned every morning and the grounds are very well kept.I love this place and will probably be going there next year.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower all have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bentley2899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCozumel, Quality Control at Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you so much for nice comments, we will love to have you here in the Hotel the next year or before :), Please when you come back send me a e-mail , that you can find down in my signature, it will be nice to met you, Thank you for choose Melia Cozumel.

Best Regards


Vanessa Villalobos
Control de Calidad
calidad@melia-cozumel.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I view many opinions on this board and conclude that many travellers set their expectations without reference to comparitable alternatives close by. I've stayed at this and other properties of this Spanish Hotel group: Sol Melia. The takeaway, for me, was the location, direct beachfront, grounds, staffing, attention to cleanliness, the Tower Rooms, and the Paraiso Restaurant ( reservations req.), all hit the mark. As my travel was just off season, the Hotel was at about 65% occupancy. Staffing was still at the attention required. Other Sol Melia properties may have eight restaurants, this has three, yet, I found the presentation of foods able to accomidate most all tastes and needs. The beverage service was also perfect. The Captain: Sr. Ignacio Peralta of the Cafe Paraiso, was professional and attentive to all aspects of his clientel's service. I have stayed at other properties on Cozumel as well as Melia Cozumel. With a Tower Room on a high floor, an open mind on the dining experience and the right attitute, this hotel finds its place perfectly in the Sol Melia Group. That all said: the breakfast is perfect for the variety and service. The lunch has two areas to serve: Iguana Grill and the Main Dining Room, ( with verandah seating). Note: There is something for all tastes. I chose to pass on the theme night dining room buffets. I'm sure some guests enjoyed the flavors. The attmosphere in the evening for that dining was not my style. The Piano and Lobby Bar at 7pm for a welcoming cocktail sets a good tone. I know many look for the nightly entertainment. This is not for me but it's available in the Theatre at 9pm to 10pm. Disco after is at Shades. Activities are avaliable by the staff daily, but this is not the rah-rah, loud pounding activties attmosphere that I have viewed elsewhere. That is good.
Enjoy the snorkeling (bring your stuff), theirs (a contractor) limits use to one hour daily. Rent a Bike: $5 per 8am to 6pm and bike on the best biketrail ( wide sidewalk/ bike path) to town to shop and stroll. Enjoy all.

Room Tip: The M Experience in the Tower, floor 10 and 11 are worth your consideration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SunkistTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
7.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
14.2 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
5.9 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive

Property: Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Address: Carretera Costera Norte km 5.8, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Meliá Vacation Club Cozumel All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#10 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most charming all-inclusive hideaways in the Mexican Caribbean, featuring a long, shallow sugar sand beach perfect for wading or swimming, four restaurants, five bars, and unlimited amounts of fun. This beautiful beachfront resort is directly across the street from the island's premium golf course, Cozumel Country Club, featuring an 18-hole, par 72 championship course designed by the Nicklaus Design Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Melia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf & Beach Hotel Cozumel
Melia Cozumel All Inclusive Golf And Beach Resort
Sol Melia Cozumel
Cozumel Sol Melia
Resort Melia Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing