We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home (again)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
IslaMar Vacation Villas
des moines, iowa usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home (again)”
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Wow! What a great remodel! Not that there was anything wrong before, but I LOVE the new bathroom! And of course, the new outside, the new tile, the new countertops. There are also new kitchen utensils and new cooking pans. As always, this is the place for us. The people we spent most of our time with were scattered around various areas in Cozumel. Several of them had problems with their accommodations (and two of the couples actually had to move because of the poor accommodations!) To me, that is not a vacation! This is our 17th year in Cozumel (the last six or seven at IslaMar). There is not another place we want to stay. We have both decided we will be spending our Winters here when we retire (and hopefully staying at IslaMar!)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbrownie711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
34
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

This was a geat place to stay - everything was there to make our visit as pleasant as possible. Downtown was an easy and safe 20 minute stroll with neighborhood restaurants within a few blocks.
It was really nice to be away from the hussle and bussle. We had a rental car for the week and there was parking on the street right outside. The apartment was spacious and cleaned every day, the bed big and comfortable with a lovely pool to cool off in right outside the door. I would highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sakillik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Just returned from a quick Cozumel dive getaway that was absolutely fabulous at Sherri’s newly remodeled IslaMar Villas. We received an email from Sherri in July advising she had just finished the extensive remodeling project at IslaMar and would love for us to come down and give her some feedback on the results. We could hardly turn down her offer of a 50% discount for being long time, valued customers. When is the last time a business contacted YOU and showed their appreciation with that kind of discount?! Well, we travel a lot and it’s never happened to us, so after finding some good airfare direct to Cozumel, off we went to check out Sherri’s “new” IslaMar Villas.

Oh my goodness ~ were we ever surprised!! IslaMar has been our perfect little hideaway now for a long time so we had no idea how Sherri might improve things but she most certainly did! We had no idea just how extensive the changes would be with the economy so slow and such but this was no “paint and paper” remodel that’s for sure! Sherri simply remade the villas all anew again ~ completely refurbishing the pool, common area walkways and porches as well as remodeling a 2br/2bath villa into 2 separate 1br/1bath villas. An exterior stairway to the upstairs villas was completely relocated in order to expand the garden area and a new large private porch was added for the studio villa. Inside the villas, Sherri installed all new flooring, put granite in the kitchenettes and completely redid all of the bathrooms! The bathrooms now have Price Pfister fixtures and beautiful hand carved stone basin sinks. It’s just incredible how beautiful each villa is with Sherri’s calming decorative touches added. We just had no idea that our gem of a hideaway could be made even better but it most definitely has!

We always enjoy our stay at IslaMar with Sherri and this was no exception. The IslaMar staff is always friendly, smiling and ready to help with whatever guests need and we love staying in a neighborhood with regular people all around. Our villa is always spotless and the beds are very comfortable. The kitchens are ALL ELECTRIC…no funky gas stoves to play with…and nice dishes/pots/pans are all provided. There are hammocks and chairs on the porches as well as BBQ grills outside so we enjoy just being IslaMar as much as anything we “do” on the island! Cozumel is such a small place and easy to get around that there’s just no reason to stay up in the high priced tourist zone hotels where no one knows your name! Sherri and her staff make us feel like family every time we’re there and the other guests we have met over the years have all been wonderful adventurers like us!

Congratulations to Sherri on somehow managing to make IslaMar Villas even better! We love knowing that we’ll never have to stay in a “different” place again in Cozumel! IslaMar Villas will always be home to us!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seansand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Yet another wonderful trip using Cozumelinsider's package--good diving and a very comfortable stay at Islamar. This place remains one of the best deals around for anyone going to Cozumel who would like to go outside the tourist hotel scene--quiet, comfortable apartments in a nice, secure compound with an excellent staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodpusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We recently returned from our 11th trip to Cozumel and our 8th stay at IslaMar Villas and I'm pleased to report that, once again, we enjoyed the island and our accommodations. And, this year, we were treated to a newly remodeled IslaMar. The buildings now have beautiful archways. The staircase has been reconfigured to increase the space in the courtyard. The pool is retiled and expanded. The rooms are newly tiled, with granite countertops in the kitchen and a completely remodeled and modernized bathroom. Beautiful!

IslaMar Villas continues to be our number one choice in accommodations when we go to Cozumel. We love the "homeyness" of the suites. And we greatly appreciate the cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MtnGirl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
des moines, iowa usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We have stayed at IslaMar for the past seven years. Prior to that, we had stayed various places around the island, but none compared to IslaMar Villas. The pool is heavenly, and the other guests always become our friends. The locals in the area really make it a fun place to stay. Being off the beaten path is what we like...rent a couple of bikes (which are easily stored in the bike racks directly inside the gate), and we're ready to roll! We also love all the space we have to spread out our dive gear. On our last trip, we cooked and ate at home in the convenient kitchen most of the time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbrownie711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

I traveled here one winter to scuba dive with a group of friends, all of whom stayed at Sherri's wonderful villas! These are located in a quiet part of Cozumel, just a little bit off of the beaten path, but very close to great restaurants, shopping, and the beach. The villas are very spacious, wonderfully decorated, and offer all of the amenities one would expect. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit with a kitchen, dining room, living room, and locking patio which is where we stored our scuba gear each day, and that was perfect! There are scuba gear cleaning stations and lockers, and a wonderful pool that the guests can share. The staff is wonderful; they keep the place very clean every day, and brought in large jugs of sterlized water for us. I would definitely stay here next time I return to Cozumel!

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjriley95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
10.4 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IslaMar Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IslaMar Vacation Villas

Property: IslaMar Vacation Villas
Address: Avenida 55 Avenida sur # 316-332 | Between Calle 3 Sur & Morelos, Cozumel 77640, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1998, owner Sherri Davis & staff personally take care of all guests on a daily basis. Six spacious, comfortable villas are situated around a relaxing tropical garden, pool, waterfall & jacuzzi area with hammocks. Villas are nonsmoking and have king beds, A/C, TV/Cable/DVD, free Wi-Fi, kitchens with dishes and porches. Located in a regular neighborhood behind the downtown tourist zone, many “locals” eateries, a park & neighborhood grocery are just around the corner. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing